1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E SD card confusion

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Pricy, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Pricy
    Offline

    Pricy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've just bought an RNS-E (Part no - 8p0 035 193 G)

    Am I right in thinking this is the latest MK2 model that can take 32gb SDHC cards?

    Regards,

    Tom
    #1
  2. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    That's right Buddy, it can take 2 x 32GB SD's. You never run out of tunes on these things, lol. :wu: x
    #2
  3. Pricy
    Offline

    Pricy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Excellent!!! Anyone got any links to some cheap 32gb cards that will work then? :undwech:
    #3
  4. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    #4
  5. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
    #5
  6. Kelza
    Offline

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    367
    Hi what about good cards for the mk 1 unit 4gb sd
    #6
  7. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    I've got 3 low usage 4Gb SD cards (non HD) that I'm about to get shot of for the Mk1 RNSE. Think 2 of them are Transcend, the other I can't remember.

    (Update: NOW ALL SOLD TO S3KEL)
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
    #7
  8. Adam.
    Offline

    Adam. Meow.

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    34
    Stay away from ebay.

    If it's too good to be true.......
    #8
  9. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    I remember spending £70 last year on mine! Need to get new ones as they don't connect via the PC properly.
    #9
  10. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    Guys, please take care when buying cheap large capacity SD cards from abroad off Ebay. A couple of weeks ago I won a 32GB SD card (think it was from China) for £14.70, which seemed a steal for what it was, or so I thought, lol. All the seller's feedback was good and when it arrived it looked the real deal. Even using it initially it was fine, ..but then yesterday I went to add some music to it and although it showed my files, when I clicked on them they were all EMPTY!!! Doing a bit off digging on the net I found that the market is flooded with fake SD cards, especially 32 and 64GB ones. They actually only have perhaps a couple of GB storage on them and when you add more than that, the files get corrupted!! The seller had sold heaps of them and people left positive feedback, but recently other buyers have added that the SD cards are fakes and the seller's now done a runner from Ebay, funnily enough. I've had to open a dispute with Paypal, so fingers crossed I get my money back.

    They are even programmed to show a fake capacity on your PC. When you look in 'properties' or 'my computer' it shows 32GB free space!

    Sorry guys, don't want to scare you into not buying these cards, but just want you to be aware of what can happen - and what did happen to me - so you don't get had over by some unscrupulous scammer on Ebay. :( x
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
    #10
  11. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    sorry to hear this Paulie...

    to be honest if i had got an RNS-e I would have just used a Hard drive or ipod for music and not these silly SD cards.

    I'm sure S3 MRU has a hard drive running on his RNS-e
    #11
  12. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yeah, you're right Ash, thanks :wub: x

    Here is the exact same 32GB card as I have on EBay at the moment, probably being listed by the same seller under a new account as they only have a few feedback. **THIS IS A FAKE GUYS, SO PLEASE STEER CLEAR!!**

    32GB SD SDHC SDXC Flash Memory SD Card Made In Japan Class 10 | eBay
    #12
  13. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    PM Nigel (NHN), he can supply these for you.
    #13
  14. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    What SD cards can I use in a 2007 RNS-E? Class and Size?
    #14
  15. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    Upto 4Gb, but they must be SD, NOT SDHC.

    I'm not sure Class standards were invented when these were about, it's a recent standard, but don't get too hung up about it as most of the class data appears to be pretty spurious. If you check some Class 10's, they have slower speeds than some class 6's as there appears to be no certified standard which the industry conforms to, just on a manufaturer by manufacturer basis.

    I wouldn't worry about class for this head unit, it's not the quickest, mine can sometimes be quite laggy reading music from the cards.
    #15
  16. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    #16

Share This Page