1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Screen goes blank but then comes back on

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Ash B, May 13, 2013.

  1. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,832
    Likes Received:
    78
    Started happening about 3 weeks ago, had the car about two months now. One minute rns-e will be working fine next minute the screen goes blank but music is still playing and can still use the controls etc. The screen will come back on by it self could be within a few seconds, minutes or days lol and its starting to annoy me now. I do have a parrot connected to my car which was faulty when i bought it and decides to work when it wants. I am planning on having that removed, could that be causing an issue with my rns-e?
    Any help would be great, save me having to buy a new rns-e unit.

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. s3reptdi

    s3reptdi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    What Parrot kit is it? I probably is to do with that, as to get the parrot kit to turn on and off with ignition people take a ignition live from the fusebox, it might not be wired in properly to the rnse, people really hack stereo wiring mine was all cut and chopped when I bought mine, and my brothers!
     
    Ash B likes this.
  4. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,832
    Likes Received:
    78

    To be honest mate i'm not sure. Not a fan of them myself so wouldnt know what model it is. Will get a photo tomorrow. Yeah hoping its just that and not a new unit. As saw on another forum a guy with a b7 rs4 was having the same issue and it was the parrot kit causing it.
     
  5. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    TBH it could even be the screen rbbon or screen itself, although remote, but food for thought.

    Try to remove rns & check wiring, disconnect parrot & see if issues persist, then it will discount this at least.

    Ignition live has nothing to do with rns functionality as rns is on/off via kline/can.

    Parrot uses nf -/+ & mute wire, even if they piggybacked the -/+ of the power feeds to rns, it shouldn't affect the unit unless you have a weak battery aswell, but that would only be relevant with no engine running/charging battery tbh.
     
    Ash B likes this.
  6. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,832
    Likes Received:
    78

    Thanks Nigel :thumbsup: Will see if i can find some one local to check it for me or if you fancy it we could arrange something? ;)
     
  7. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,832
    Likes Received:
    78
    Still not got this sorted. Did come one last night and then went off, have noticed when i start the ignition the screen flashes and you can see it for a second before it goes blank again. Just trying to find some one local who knows what they are doing. As gone to two companies and they didnt have a clue.
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    I can only offer a postage service due to location, if you can plug it into another car, even A3 to test, to eliminate the possibility its the car, before possibly sending to me.
     
  9. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    623
    im around barry on saturday if you want to plug it into mine ?
     
  10. corino

    corino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can bet it's the screen ribbon, have seen two of them rns-e with issue and the ribbon was causing it
     

Share This Page