1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E S/W Upgrade question - New to the Forum

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by dmistry21, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. dmistry21
    Offline

    dmistry21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an Audi 3.0 Quattro (54 reg) with an RNS-E headunit and need to know what I need to buy.

    I've sort of got an idea from some of the posts on here. The S/W Version is 0550, HW is H99 and Map is M1N061018_EN0603 (Understand that the maps have nothing to do with the s/w upgrade). What I need to know is:

    1. What S/W version can I upgrade to (i.e Can I go straight to the latest S/W version or is there an upgrade path ?)
    2. I also want to enable the aux port so I can use a 3.5mm Jack on an iphone and is there any coding required (Not sure if 0550 lets you do this ?)
    3. Is updating the software simple as putting the DVD Rom in the drive and letting it run ?

    Many Thanks
    #1
  2. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    SW 650 is the highest and will never be superceded on the MK1 RNS-E.

    Enabling the AUX port can be done with VCDS, so yes coding is required

    Yes, simply insert the latest DVD and let it run through updating twice.
    #2
  3. dmistry21
    Offline

    dmistry21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,225
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Not entirely true as the fw is stored on the map dvd, unless you've downloaded the fw from another source.
    #4
  5. dmistry21
    Offline

    dmistry21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't know that. So i'm guessing I can upgrade the S/W via a CD-R or a new Map DVD ?
    #5
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    #6
  7. dmistry21
    Offline

    dmistry21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Excellent, So just to confirm I will need the 0650 software to enable the aux port as 0550 doesn't have support ?
    #7
  8. dmistry21
    Offline

    dmistry21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just ordered it [​IMG] Next step figure out how to fit it but cross that bridge when I get there...

    I'll attempt the VCDS programming with the 0550 S/W first and see how I get on.

    Thanks for the advice.
    #8
  9. az786
    Offline

    az786 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi dont wanna hijack the thread but will a rnse disc from a 2011 model car work on our rnse satnavs 2005 model cars?
    #9
  10. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes it will
    #10

Share This Page