1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Rubbish Radio Reception

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by GavConner, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,906
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Pat you're missing a connection cause the symphony comes with the standard antenna connector IIRC & the diveristy fakra biege coloured connector, hazard a guess you havnt connected both & you should of used almost the identical adapter as per Johns post 10, beige connector goes into one of the sockets on double plug

    Is this what your symphony looked like front & rear, specifically the connections:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUDI-SYMPHONY...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_3?hash=item1c0d7ee899
    #41
  2. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    This is mine...

    [​IMG]
    Looks the same but the top part is different. I did use a connector as per post 10 but i dont remember that short lead coming out of the twin plug ?

    Think i need to pull it out and have a look...Cheers mate :)
    #42
  3. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 5, 2009]
    Paddy, is this the back of your rns-e? if so, mine looks a tad different, especially where the aerial(s) go..
    #43
  4. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    No mate, this is the back of the symphony 2 i took out to fit the RNS-E.
    #44
  5. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    I am sure my problem is radio signal generally. It fades in the same place within a few yards each day going to work and i am losing the TV reception at home as well now and thats from the same transmitter.
    I can see the transmitter from my kitchen window on top of reigate hill about 7 miles away but by 8.30 most eves i lose most TV channels. The government has sold off so many digital frequency's that the pore old transmitters rant nearly powerful enough to send the signals anymore......this is why you will not get HD from an air bound signal...Rant rant.......
    Luckily they have lowered the standards of broadcasting to suit so by 8.30 there is nothing on worth watching anyway ......:)
    #45
  6. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    What do you take me for Paddy??!! I knew that!!! LOL :detective2:

    Way past the watershed for you mate.. You should be in bed by then ...

    Just kidding, time to go Digital mate.

    TBH, where we are, the TV Analogue reception is dreadful too so we went Sky... I wired up a second box to another room myself. I know slightly off topic but if ever you wanted to go down this route for your viewing pleasures at home (way before 8.30 if you know what i mean!!) let me know as its a peace of p*ss

    KKP
    #46
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,906
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Pat did you connect the standard antenna connector & the biege fakra connector that are shown next to eachother in that image, of course you use the adpater to make them fit, but you should have both connected, if not then this is your problem mate.
    #47
  8. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Nov 7, 2009]
    Unfortunately its digital i cant get so when it goes to pot at 8.30 i have to switch back to analog....
    Still...here in darkest surrey I am over 20 miles from the BBC studio's so mustn't grumble eh ?
    #48
  9. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Nov 7, 2009]
    Hi Nige

    I have been to Ipswich and then on to Norwich today, Up to Cromer and then back to Dorking. Just got in at 1.15 and no problems at all with radio until i get under the north downs ( Reigate to Dorking) then i lose it again...sure its just an area thing.

    RNSE tried to send me all over the shop coming home...lol. its not got a clue about the M11....tries to take you off the slip road at every junction, round the roundabout and back down on to the M11 again . then on the M25 it tried to send me down the M23 instead of on to Leatherhead to get to Dorking. Also it tends to turn the volume down as if its going to give you directions and nothing happens...so you have to hit the mute button to get the volume back.
    Cant say I'm impressed but then its German so cant expect too much :):)
    #49

Share This Page