1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Rubbish Radio Reception

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by GavConner, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. GavConner
    Offline

    GavConner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Hi guys, please help me before I pull the rest of my hair out.

    I've had an RNS-E fitted to my car for a while now and it performs fine with the nav and the Cd's etc. When it comes to radio its pants !

    Its so bad that I hate to listen to the radio as it cuts out every 10 mins. When I say cuts out it jsut goes silent and then comes back.

    I bought a £30 radio for my beetle the other day and the reception on that is 10 times better.

    When I bought the RNS-E it was in a car that had a sharkfin Ariel. Mine is not. infactI'm not even sure where my Ariel lives ???
    Do I need to change some sort of setting or has the Ariel become faulty ? Is it easy to replace or can I buy a booster ??

    Sorry for all the questions but the thing is really buggin me and I can't even listen to to radio 1 for more than 5 mins before it cuts out.

    Plllllleeeeeeaaaaaaasssssssssse help me :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    I'm almost 100% sure I know the issue & solution.

    The antenna system is probably wrong & you need to either change this over for about £200 or get someone else to do it.

    Dependent on radio before install & year of car, there are 2 antenna systems for the 8P, please advise which radio you had before the fitment & also the year of car.
    #2
  4. FUNKYCLIFF
    Offline

    FUNKYCLIFF Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    £200 to listen to Radio 1 LOL
    #3
  5. GavConner
    Offline

    GavConner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    OUCH !

    My A3 is a 2003 TDI, it did have a single din concert thingy in it and I swapped it to a double DIN RNS-E

    Whats the differance between the two antenna systems please ???
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    I would suspect then you have not had the antenna system connected properly as in the diversity system, you really need to remove the radio & take a pic of the rear & wiring & post on here so we can advise properly what the issue is, cause you seem to have the same setup as I had before I installed mine & sometimes people dont connect it up fully, this is my suspicion.

    Pic would help alot.
    #5
  7. GavConner
    Offline

    GavConner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Cool, thanks mate, I'll take some photos when the wife gets home and post them up for you to have a look at. If I've wired it up wrong then thats sweet. £200 made me feel a bit ill

    I bought the plug and play kit from ebay but have never thought it was workign 100%.

    Out of intrest where is my ariel in my car and what antenna system have I got ???
    #6
  8. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    I am pretty sure that PaulAr off of here is having the exact same issue with a retro fit. You have 'the man that can' :hi:on the case so I will direct Paul over here as he was looking for a solution too.
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
    #7
  9. GavConner
    Offline

    GavConner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Ok, sweet :)
    #8
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    The antenna (two of them) are in the rear screen. Your car should have the ZF/HF system fitted to it. As NHN says, please post some pics and we can work out where the issue is. Can you remember if you plugged in 2 antenna cables?
    #9
  11. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    You should have an adapter similar to this. Both cables need to be connected.

    [​IMG]
    #10
  12. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Pauls car will have the HF/HF system which requires changing the amps in the tailgate to fix the issue. See my thread with details of the change.
    #11
  13. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Thanks John (and OP for starting the thread) I have PM'd Paul to this thread so hopefully he will be along soon.
    #12
  14. GavConner
    Offline

    GavConner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    I think I only plugged in one ....

    Similar to this http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Audi-A3-A4-A6...S_Accessories_Software_ET?hash=item33563960b6

    I'll confirm later tonight when my wife gets home wiht the car.

    Thanks very much for your help so far
    #13
  15. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Thats the full plug and play kit. We're only looking at the antenna connectors at the moment. The RNSe has two antenna wires coming from the amps in the tailgate. The connector closest to the edge of the unit is the HF feed (the signal from the antenna), the inner connector is the ZF return (back to the amps). The RNSe sends signal strength info back to the antenna amp, if one antenna has better reception then the amp changes the selected antenna. All in the blink of an eye! So if you only have one wire connected you can see why it doesn't work very well.

    Pauls case is a little different though. The newer 07 and later Concert/Symphony headunits both require two HF feeds from the antenna amps. The headunit then chooses which antenna has the best reception.

    HTH
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 19, 2009]
    Yeap John's on the same path as me, I was thinking he didnt amend the old beige connector & fit into the double connector for rear of rns, it should be simple as this for your car & Paul's unfortunately isnt as simple, but not exactly hard either, John's very well versed in this fix though, if he cant guide Paul through this fix then nobody can, lol
    #15
  17. GavConner
    Offline

    GavConner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    Hi guys,

    Unfortunately my wife is working late most of the week so its quite dark when she gets home.

    I didn't get any pics last night but I'll do it as soon as poss and post them up.

    Thanks so much for your help so far, Photos will be here asap

    Cheers

    Gav
    #16
  18. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    ive got the same problem as this! never really looked into it! just thought i had a sh*t radio!

    my rnse was retrofitted by Audi.. i get terrible reception and cant even pick up most of my favourite station..

    do you think audi will sort this out?
    #17
  19. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    If you paid them to retrofit it then you can ask them to fix the **** reception by swoping the antenna amps. Seems fair to me.

    If you have a vagcom scan of the car it should have a "ZF short to earth" fault code showing on the radio and navigation sections.
    #18
  20. GConn
    Offline

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    I have a sportback 2009 S3 with RNS-E fitted from factory as far as I know. The reception is average, but in memory mode most saved frequencies are greyed out. Can't select them. If I manually tune in, the reception seems average, not good but not pathetic either.
    #19
  21. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    exact same thing as me!!!

    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    Couldnt agree more John, if they retrofitted then they should have also swapped antenna systems over, go back & demand they sort it FOC as they didnt advise any loss in reception & they never advised of any additional cost to get it working fully.
    #21
  23. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    and show them how to do it....
    #22
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    lmfao, thats a good one, lol
    #23
  25. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 20, 2009]
    Ive got similar issue's after fitting a concert 2 to my 2003 A3, everything else works apart from the radio which gets almost no reception at all.
    #24
  26. emzino
    Offline

    emzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 21, 2009]
    A3's really need DAB. It's 2009!
    #25
  27. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 21, 2009]
    Mick, If you have the new double din concert2 then you need to exchange your rear antenna amps with anyone on here with an 07 or later car with a retrofit RNSe. They have the amps you need and vicaverca. You and whoever you swop with will only need to buy a few cables and you're good to go!
    #26
  28. Mick a3
    Offline

    Mick a3 Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 22, 2009]
    Jeez i thought all the hassle was done! I'l do without just now, Im gonna use the aux output and plug my phone in. Think its possible to play the radio through your phone through the aux?

    Out of intrest, How much do they amps come in at?
    #27
  29. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    179
    [Oct 22, 2009]
    John you have PM mate.

    cheers
    Paul
    #28
  30. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
  31. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    I also have cr@p reception although my solution and intention is to go DAB\DVB - someone of the likes of Hazzy's to do the work but I'm going to wait until I've got a 2010 rns-e unit... just can't seem to get hold of one!

    Anyone gone Digitial with their RNS-E?


    KKP
    #30
  32. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Would be cheaper to just sort your reception out if its the antenna problem.

    But you already have an rns as you say you want a 2010 unit, curious cause if you dont have rns already then whats the antenna problem atm.
    #31
  33. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Well, currently I don't have a TV-tuner with my 2009 (Chrome knob) rns-e.

    I am suffering the horrid reception also.

    Since 'Digital' is the way forward I may as well have DAB and DVB in the car so was wondering whether anyone had this mod.

    I'd like a 2010 rns-e to take benefit of optical park assist.... I know i know.. I'm probably wasting my time but its as 'useful' to me as not having a rear wiper ;)
    #32
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Possibly need an upgraded parking module aswell, tbc but there are a number of modules & the PR code denotes the function, PR-7X5 says parking assist, have to ask someone who has this feature.
    #33
  35. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 2, 2009]

    hi Nige

    I has a symphony in the old girl before the RNSE and the reception was 10x better than it is now. Its a bit like listening to radio 1 on medium wave years ago ! keeps fading away and coming back.... definitely the signal because it does it in the same places every day...
    #34
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Remove radio & see if the antenna has 2 cables feeding it or just one, bottom left corner looking from rear of radio.

    Maybe take a pic of the wiring.
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
    #35
  37. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    mine definately has two. I pulled it out once to double check neither were loose. . .
    #36
  38. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Cant recall if you said but was yours in from factory or another radio, what year?
    #37
  39. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    no. Bought mine afterwards mate. Car's 09/09. RNS-E is 05/08.
    #38
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Antenna problem aswell then mate, assuming you had a concert 2+/3 in the 1st place, so would need swapping over to match the required antenna system needed for the rns-e, talk to John about it, you can do yourself if need be.
    #39
  41. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Mine only has one, had to plug it into an adaptor for the rnse if i remember correctly
    #40

Share This Page