1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-e retrofit issues.

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by JeffY, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. JeffY
    Offline

    JeffY Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have just had RNS-e retrofitted and I'm having a few issues, firstly the DIS controls no longer work, I can't see the trip info anymore just the NAV DIS display. Another issue I'm having is that the audio on my Bose setup is very bass heavy, I'm having to make big bass, treble corrections and it still doesn't sound right. Should the screen say Bose when I switch it on?

    Also I'm I right in saying that it should come with 2 SAT NAV DVD's?, because I only have the one.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    #1
  2. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    What car is it? A3/A4/TT?

    What year is it?

    Have you wired/rewired for BOSE?

    Have you coded the unit for BOSE?

    No it doesn't say BOSE when powering up.

    Most Ebay units only come with the 1 DVD for western europe, not a problem unless your a regular driver to Latvia.
    #2
  3. JeffY
    Offline

    JeffY Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    It's a 2006 A3, I've called the company who put it in, hopefully they will be able to solve the problems.
    #3
  4. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    The DIS is likely to be working but to see it, you have to press the little button twice on the underside of the wiper stalk (I think it says MENU). You then switch to the normal DIS fuel economy display. Press it once again and DIS shows the navigation info.

    Bose I think has to be coded to work with the RNS-E but the whole unit should still basically operate without coding and that includes DIS (this doesn't apply to the A4 and A6). I don't have Bose but have found the RNS-E to be bass-rich anyway! The sound quality is better than the Symphony II in my view.

    As for discs, you should have two for 2005 and later versions but to be honest unless you drive to Eastern Europe, disc 1 will suffice. This week I bought a genuine 2008 DVD 1 from eBay and that's all I need.
    #4
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    2005 1 disk
    2006 1 disk
    2007 onwards 2 disks

    As for discs, you should have two for 2005 and later versions but to be honest unless you drive to Eastern Europe, disc 1 will suffice. This week I bought a genuine 2008 DVD 1 from eBay and that's all I need
    #5

Share This Page