1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Retrofit - finishing up

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by jvbates, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. jvbates
    Offline

    jvbates Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 25, 2007]
    I finally got around to retrofitting the RNS-E unit I bought last week from Topsatnav on Ebay (Great service by the way!!), it was all surprisingly easy, just take the old unit out plug everything into the new harness (supplied with the unit) and slot back in! But I have a couple of questions...

    1. The new harness had 2 single wires on it. One marked bose (which I ingnored as I don't have it!) the other blue & white marked speed/gala. You can see the wire in question in this photo...

    [​IMG]
    Stolen from benw123's excellent retrofit photo guide

    ...now i'm assuming this is for the gala speed sensitive volume control. But I couldn't see any obvious place for it to connect to, so have currently left it unattached. Anyone have any idea where is it supposed to go?

    2. Exactly what settings do I need to change/get coded via vag.com? I have a 2003 S4 Avant without Bose

    3. and finally... Is there any one with vag.com in the sussex area?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2007]
    Leatherhead Surrey and good?
    #2
  4. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2007]
    Glad you found my write-up useful! IIRC, the GALA cable is connected up behind the instrument cluster, which means this has to come out. However, I thought this was for the A6 only? You can check on http://www.navplus.us if you haven't already.

    Also, you've probably already realised from my install that the 8P doesn't need a GALA connection - it's already built-in to the adapter.
    #3

Share This Page