1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Radio Reception

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Shadowman, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    The radio reception on my RNS-E is dreadfull. Seems to be better when stationary, but not much. Honestly, my mobile phone gets better radio recption than the car. Should be getting millions of radio stations in London, and quite a few outside, but most are greyed out, and in London, it is often giving me the choice of 1 station, or if I am really lucky 2 !!!!!

    Is it something to do with the settings on the system, or could it be that the aerial is not connected to the rear of the unit for some reason ? I have set it up the way it says in the manual, but it never really seems to lock on to a good signal, even on major stations like radio 1/2/4 etc.

    Any help would be appreciated as I am convinced it is not supposed to be this bad !!!
    #1
  2. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is your RNS-E a retrofit? If so it could be that the aerial has indeed fallen out, or the adapter has come loose too. I recall when doing mine that these connections weren't the strongest.
    #2
  3. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    No, it is factory fit.......It is going to the stealers tomorrow, so we will see what they find.
    #3
  4. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's got to be a cable off or something like that as the RNS-e does not intrinsically have poor radio reception. i actually find it pretty good and picks up all my local stations without any problem.
    #4
  5. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    Stealer plugged in the diagnostics and it is showing a fault, so it is going in.
    #5
  6. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    May be obvious but the radio aerial is plugged in and not in the diversity?
    #6
  7. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unlikely to be incorrectly wired as he said it is factory fitted. Unless of course someone has had the RNS-e out for some reason and not correctly connected everything back again.

    If it was a retrot-fit then I would suggest your answer is possibly the most likely.
    #7
  8. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doh missed that.

    I seemed to remeber reading about a atenna box in the headlining that if it is cracked it is faulty.
    #8

Share This Page