1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Questions

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Bigsur, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Bigsur
    Offline

    Bigsur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    I took delivery of a MY10 A3 2.0 TDI Sline last week and am loving the car. I previously had a Golf GT (mark 5) and a Seat FR but the A3, in my opinion, is far superior.

    I am interested in getting an RNS-E, however I have a few questions.
    1. Do I need to get some coding done when swapping from a Concert (double din) to RNS-E.
    2. I live in an area with poor radio reception; will an RNS-E have issues with derogated reception?
    3. I have factory fitted Bluetooth installed, does this matter with regards to installing an RNS-E?

    Thanks
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    1) Yes :)
    2)Sadly yes
    3)Yes but nothing to worry about!
    #2
  4. Bigsur
    Offline

    Bigsur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    [FONT=&quot]Can anything be done to improve the radio reception of a retrofitted RNS-E?[/FONT]
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,468
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    Yes, fit the proper antenna amps for the rns & if you need a fitter for these things, let me know.
    #4
  6. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    Correct antenna amps will do the job but not 100%.

    I had a concert before retrofitting the RNS-e and even after changing to the correct setup i still haven`t got a perfect signal
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,468
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    I suggest you revisit your setup then as it should work fine, possible faulty wire, coax, amp, even rns, suggest you try & test these things in a factory fitted rns car if available, difficult I know but anyone I've heard of whose fixed this with correct setup hasnt complained of issues since.
    #6
  8. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 7, 2010]
    I had a play with the cables but nothing serious. FM reception is acceptable, nothing to worry about. No faults on VCDS either so i`m good :)

    Its that i just keep getting some grey radio stations, thats all!
    #7

Share This Page