1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E query

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Lyons, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Folks, just left my local dealer after talking figures over an 06 2.0T. However, it has the single din stereo and I'd want to fit RNS-E.

    Can anyone tell me what costs would be involved (excluding the RNS-E itself)? Is there more to it than just a new lower climate control unit?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    63
    I did it once and although it's not straight forward it's worth doing.
    You need apart from RNS-E and associated wiring adaptors
    Double din cage (ebay £40-£50ish)
    New bank of switches and the trim cover (main dealer £70ish)
    You can trim the climate unit if confident, as I did, and that will fit and look just the same.
    Then it involves stripping the whole centre console out, glovebox and under the dash on the drivers side. That enables you to be able to swap the cage which is the main job.It probably takes about 3 hrs
    There is a guide somewhere on the internet if you are not put off!
    #2
  3. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good man. So its possible and won't cost thousands then!?

    Does it require trimming much? I'm surprised that the existing climate unit fits?

    Should have mentioned the car has heated seats, would that affect things?
    #3
  4. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    What wiring adapter is needed? Is the RNS-E not plug and play?
    #4
  5. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do a search mate, there's loads on here about this.
    You do need a wiring adapter, type will depend on your options you have.
    You will also need to re-programme your car using vag-com
    #5
  6. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2009
    #6
  7. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah, the existing unit fits perfect with a careful trim and costs nothing. Because it fits lower down the sides need chamfering from around halfway. The heated seats will make no difference.

    As said you will need some coding but should work out of the box with the dis, lots of people on here will be able to do the coding if you can't.
    I'll try and find the How-to for you.
    #7
  8. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    63
    Download the pdf from HERE
    It's the best guide you will find anywhere!
    #8

Share This Page