1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E nav plus

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by S3eddiet, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    hi,
    i have the above in my S3 and was trying to get the nav CD to come out of the unit but it wont eject :( any eiders on this?

    also,
    i am trying to get some music in the car other than the radio, i have the ipod connection in glove box but i dont use apple and have the galaxy s5, is there anyway to blue tooth my music to the stereo or any connections i could get to make the ipod dock fit the galaxy s5?

    and finally,
    i have some sdhc 2g and 4g cards, will these work in the head unit and i think i heard somewhere that the file has to read mp3 ant the end or start of it but not sure so any info would be great :)

    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    DVD is probably locked in, needs recoding to allow ejection of discs.

    2-4GB SD cards can be used with MP3 file formats, not sdhc cards.

    Only way to stream music is to use either an aftermarket solution or upgrade the head unit & fit the audi ami system, but this wont give you track/artist/album data without using an iphone to stream from as the ami dongle only has full interaction with apple devices atm, whereas Samsung Galaxy handsets don't integrate aswell yet, this is system is fairly expensive, great system but big outlay, could always get an ipod 160GB & use that with ami.
    #2
  4. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    i was thinking on just getting an ipod lol save some hassle haha.... thanks for the info :)
    #3
  5. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    what are you connecting the IPOD with? Ive a MK1 RNS-E with ipod input and I dont see track names etc it just mimics a CD changer.
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    Damn, that reminds me lol.
    #5
    pablo likes this.
  7. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    there is a like dock station in my glove box, looks like the ipod slides in and plugs itself into the connection at the bottom of the dock station.

    which brings me to a question, do any ipods fit as in nano and so on ?
    #6
  8. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    does the unit have a CD/TV or MEDIA button beside the RADIO button?

    might be a later unit with AMI?
    #7
  9. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    yes mine has tv button on it, ill take pic as away out now
    #8
  10. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    do you get track names on the RNS-E from the ipod?
    #9
  11. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    Dont have one to try yet, looks like a trip to tesco
    #10
  12. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    pic of RNS-E 20131029_220214.jpg
    #11
  13. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    i have tried a ipod nano in the connection in the glove box and it plays ok but only shows info on the unit as track 1 track 2 and so on with no names, do i need a newer ipod or a different one for the names to be displayed or is it my head unit does not support this function which is a shame, only thing that has/is letting the car down.
    #12
  14. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    thats the way mine works, dummies a cd changer and pretty useless.
    #13
  15. S3eddiet
    Offline

    S3eddiet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    so what do i need to do for the tracks to be displayed, new ipod or new head unit? is there a connection that can be used?
    #14
  16. pablo
    Offline

    pablo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    there is a kenwood unit with some addon I believe will work or else a new RNS-E (MK2) with AMI support.
    #15

Share This Page