1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E mk1 vs mk2 ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by its_neil, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes does eventually turn of, but why would you wnat to leave it running, just get it coded properly, end of :)

    No, fitting/coding an rns has never in my knowledge voided a warranty.
    #41
  2. Tuomas
    Offline

    Tuomas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except radio reception is really poor. Wanted: new antenna amps :(
    #42
  3. plezz
    Offline

    plezz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    out of interest, what are the cases when it doesnt need coding? is it dependent on model type, the previous unit you had in there, age of car etc, or other oem components being present or not present ( eg bluetooth phone prep)?
    #43
  4. Jonny-Smith
    Offline

    Jonny-Smith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can you identify whether you have the Mk1 or Mk 2 unit?

    Its a 58plate if that helps.
    #44
  5. cloughy
    Offline

    cloughy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mk1 has a cd/tv button
    Mk2 has a media button
    #45
  6. stokeballoon
    Offline

    stokeballoon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have AMI. My Ipod went up the spout, so I bought an OEM AMI Lead with a Mini USB connector (£20 ish).

    Now running a 40GB ext hard drive i had knocking about, plugged into the AMI, works perfectly, and shows track info on RNS and DIS. So much easier to load than the F'ing about act you have to do with itunes.
    #46
  7. SR-71
    Offline

    SR-71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know what year they changed the MK1 to a MK2 ? Been looking online at A3's and S3's from March 2010 ->> which have Sat Nav but not sure if these have the newer or older models. Thanks.
    #47
  8. wez3570
    Offline

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    1
    MK2
    #48
  9. DJ-S3
    Offline

    DJ-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd also like to know this because i'm thinking about upgrading to a mk2 unit, but i don't have a mk1 at the moment so could do with the above question answering.

    Oh and if it needs coding is there anyone in the West Yorkshire area that has any idea and leads to do so?
    #49
  10. moag
    Offline

    moag she's no d-turbo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have an RNS unit is the for sale section at the minute if anyone is interested
    #50
  11. DJ-S3
    Offline

    DJ-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
  12. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't think it is classed as a mk3, he has probably advertised it as such because of the gloss black screen surround, which is the newest addition to the unit. Other than that its a living breathing mk2. Maybe he thinks it will attract more bidders :sm4:
    #52

Share This Page