1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E MK1 or MK2??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by M88UES, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. M88UES

    M88UES Theres Never Enough Power

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there

    interested in buying one of these as my next mod. but what are the actual diffrences between the mk1 and mk2 apart from a bit of chrome and the SD memory capacity?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    290
    mk2 is mega quick and much better screen resolution too. After having mk1 in my previous car I can say I wouldnt bother with it anymore and go with mk2 all day long.
     
  4. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    +1. MK2 is a lot better and the prices of the latest ones are coming down all the time. :wub: xx
     
  5. M88UES

    M88UES Theres Never Enough Power

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers for that lads
     
  6. gary3306

    gary3306 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    29
    Mk2 all the way
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,121
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Integrated with other systems, either makes a large difference to the interior, give me a shout if looking for supply/fit solution.
     
  8. wez3570

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    The only difference I noticed is, chrome knobs, brighter screen, slightly quicker when using nav but much slower when selecting music tracks on SD cards.

    Mk1 can be hacked easier too.
     
  9. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears
    Bronze Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    64
    The LED RNS-E is mk2? Does it work on my 2006 A3?
     
  10. wez3570

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes and yes
     
  11. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    If i had the option i would go with anything as long as it has DAB...Planet rock rules :)
     
  12. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    There's no doubt the MK2 is really cool, but there are so many for sale on Ebay at crazily low prices, that there must be something dodgy about them. If I didn't already have sat nav and was in the market to buy an RNS-E, but wasn't bothered about the slightly higher resoluton of the MK2 or the larger SD card capacity, I'd buy Wez's from him as you know exactly what you're getting, which is a good deal from a decent spud like Wez and being able to sleep easy at nights in the knowledge your nice new RNS-E sat nav wasn't an Ebay special that was half inched from some poor guy's car! :wub: xx
     
    #11 Paullie, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012

Share This Page