1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Map Pointer Lag

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Spook, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. Spook
    Offline

    Spook Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    I have just retrofitted a 2004 RNS-E unit to my new S3.

    When the unit is in map view, and I am doing over 30mph, I have noticed that the pointer lags behind where the car is on the road, e.g. it shows me passing junctions several yards after I have passed them. At about 30mph or below (or in zoom view of junctions or roundabouts, when I am decelerating anyway) the pointer seems accurate.

    Could anyone confirm whether the pointer lag issue I have described is a normal characteristic of all RNS-E's? If not, could the reason be that mine is an older model with a slower processor and therefore slower screen refresh rate? Would a 2007 model RNS-E be faster?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. tractorman
    Offline

    tractorman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    How many satelites are you picking up?
    #2
  4. Spook
    Offline

    Spook Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    varies between 3-8, usually 4-5 at any given time.
    #3
  5. galewis
    Offline

    galewis Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    Have you made any coding changes using VAG.COM? There's definitely a setting in there to specify wheel rim dimensions which you need to get right. CAn't remember what function number it is. It'll be listed at navplus.us for sure. The RNS-E uses a combination of satellites and information from the ABS system to lock on to your locaiton. If you're in a tunnel, it'll take a speed reading from the ABS for example.

    HTH

    Gary
    #4
  6. Spook
    Offline

    Spook Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    Yes, I did make some coding changes, but they're clearly not yet all quite right as I'm getting error codes including "Control Module Incorrectly Coded". However, the wheel rim dimension is one of the things that I'm pretty sure that I have got right.

    Nobody has said whether my apparent problem is out of the ordinary yet!
    #5
  7. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    Mine definitely does not do this. The position is always accurate. Well I say always, unless there are dirty great clouds overhead and I'm only getting 3 satellite fixes, then it can be a little behind.

    I'm certain the problems you have are down to coding.

    Can you post the coding you have for the following modules

    17 - Steering Wheel
    56 - Navigation system

    STG 56 Channel 1 is the place to put the tire dimension. If you set it to 0 it will self calibrate over time.
    #6
  8. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 23, 2007]
    Mine sometimes lags, usually in built-up areas, and it's also never been coded so perhaps there's a bit of a theme here!
    #7
  9. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    Its normal mate my RNS-D and current RNS-E is like this, dont worry!

    They are not bomb proof and prone to bugs etc, the delaer actually told me that and you think they should be considering what Audi charge for them!
    #8
  10. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    I'd beg to differ. Mine is always on the nose with regard to position. I would suggest that your unit is perhaps incorrectly coded. The whole point of the DIS display is that it counts you down to the turning you need to make. If it were that far out it would be useless. Obviously the number of satellite fixes is critical to accurate positioning so check that first and if necessary relocate you GPS antenna. if that doesn't help that get your coding checked and corrected if necessary.
    #9

Share This Page