1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E, Iphone contacts??

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by 029kid, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. 029kid
    Offline

    029kid New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    [FONT=&quot]I successfully connect my Iphone 3G 8GB to the RNS but I only see my contacts in the FIS and not on the “telephone” menu on the RNS.[/FONT] [FONT=&quot]Should I be seeing them there as well ?[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]Does anyone know why I do not see them? Do I need to vagcom something ?[/FONT]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    I assume your using the Audi BT kit and not something like fiscon ?
    #2
  4. 029kid
    Offline

    029kid New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    Fiscon ?
    I have the original audi bt system, I only see contacts in fis and can call threw fis with my steering wheel
    #3
  5. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    Fiscon is an aftermarket kit than emulates the Audi BT kit (quite well in my experience). I went with the fiscon kit in mine as I've heard that iphone support with the Audi kits is patchy at best. Do you know what revision your BT kit is ?
    #4
  6. 029kid
    Offline

    029kid New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    no i dont know that, is there any way I can find out ?
    #5
  7. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    If you have access to vagcom you can scan the controller and it will give you the information. Otherwise it's a case of stripping out the car to get to the where the bluetooth module is installed and look at the part number on the metal box. If it's a factory fit module it's under the drivers seat (under the carpet)

    As far as I'm aware you can't flash upgrade the software on the BT module. So the only way to get "better" phone support is by replacing the module it's self. However it may just be a setting you have to configure on the phone or the rns-e to pull over the phonebook. I'll have a look at my rns-e manual tonight.
    #6
  8. comc
    Offline

    comc VW-7 Audi-1

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    I recently retro fitted the RNS-E to my A4 which had the audi bluetooth phone prep from new (2006 MY). I use a 3G Iphone running 3.1.2 firmware.
    After the install, and before sorting the VAGcom coding, the RNS-E would not sync any of my contacts on the TEL function. My phone was correctly syncing with the audi bluetooth and showing my contacts on the DIS. Another thing that was missing from the RNS-E was the little bluetooth icon on the display to tell me that my phone was connected. I was however still able to answer and end calls through the RNS-E controls.
    After Vagcom coding the RNS-E to tell it that the Audi Phone Prep was present in the car, the RNS-E now syncs all contacts and call history with my Iphone and everything is now correctly displayed on the TEL screen and the Bluetooth icon is now present.
    I would recommend correcting your coding through Vagcom and then see if it works.
    #7
  9. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    ^

    Yup agree. Should have thought of that before. I just assumed it had been coded.
    #8
  10. 029kid
    Offline

    029kid New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 18, 2010]
    Great thanks!! :)
    Do you remember where you found the code or where in vagcom ?
    #9
  11. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 18, 2010]
    open vagcom and go to telephone ( 77 ) i think once opened the code will be there adjust accordingly with the drop down hints
    #10
  12. comc
    Offline

    comc VW-7 Audi-1

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 18, 2010]
    #11
  13. C39KER
    Offline

    C39KER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    How do I change the BT module to display the 1st name & then the last....at the moment it's showing the last name first...and before you say change on the phone thats done already...anyone know something
    #12

Share This Page