1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Firmware?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Khufu, Sep 1, 2008.

  1. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    whats the newest/current verson of software on the RNS-E?

    I found two, one called SW600 and SW660_SDS

    my new unit says H73 & SW550 but havent checked to see if thats what its running tho. It has come with a 2005 DVD so I will need to sort that.

    thanks.
    #1
  2. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    0650 is the latest. 0660 is 0650 with the SDS hack applied to it.

    You dont need a new DVD if you only want to update the S/W version.
    #2
  3. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is 650. 660 is a hacked version of 650 with SDS enabled. The person who created it obviously called it 660 so he wouldn't have to use VAGCOM to allow the downgrade of the FW to apply 650 again.

    I have a 2007 DVD if you are interested.
    #3
  4. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is there a new map disc out yet?

    Just noticed some icons on the actual map screen of a car I was looking at were different to my 650 version?
    #4
  5. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    2008 map is the latest one. 2009 should be out towards the end of the year. From what I understand Navteq are due to release their 2009 maps fairly soon so the Audi maps should be available some time after that.

    you can turn the different icons on and off. which particular icons are you referring to?
    #5
  6. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    It seemed like a hospital one, mine is a red cross on a white background and this one was green in a new MY09 2.0 TFSI.
    #6
  7. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    you sure the green isn't a pharmacy?

    mine has both the red and the green.
    #7
  8. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hmmm not sure it could have been as reflecting on it the places they were shown on the map I cant remember any medical places there, saying that I cant remember my map giving the option for a chemist??
    #8
  9. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you go into the settings menu there will be a list of special destinations that you want displayed on the map - petrol station, hotel, restaurant, hospital, sports arena, recreation, etc. One of them will be a pharmacy.
    #9
  10. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    Probs will Mark just cant remember having that option!

    Think some options are not on the maps depending on country, I have a police station option on mine but they dont show on the map!

    I'll have to wait until the new one arrives to check anyway as my nav unit is stored in the cupboard!
    #10
  11. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    mmm, powered up unit and it says software version is 0110 despite saying it 0550 on top.

    Reading up I believe that the 2005 map supplied (8P0 919 884 C) will only work on up to software version 0330 so Im guessing that the have downgraded the software for the DVD to work?

    Just as well I haven't upgraded it yet LOL, Will see what Bittorrent turns up regarding maps.

    One thing I noticed as its not plumbed in yet, the small fan at the back doesn't seem to switch off even with it off and keys out of ignition, is it on a timer?
    #11
  12. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    Its on a timer when it gets too hot to cool down even when your keys are out, nothing to worry about!
    #12
  13. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the fan will continue to run after the key is turned off.

    Inserting the DVD should update the unit with whatever S/W version is on the DVD. However I thought 0110 was a US software version? Where did you get the unit from? What is its part number?

    2007/8 DVD's are everywhere on ebay.
    #13
  14. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    oops, its 0100 - typo. The unit is european, 8P0 035 192 L part number. Im downloading the 2007 map, should be done in about 7 hrs LOL
    #14
  15. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah well if its 0100 then you will be fine. The 2007 version should include 0550 S/W.
    #15
  16. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm still running 0550 but have downloaded 0600. Didn't get round to burning it so will have to find 0650, and some new maps DVDs would be nice too - fed up of driving through the fields near Baldock, as opposed to the new A505 bypass!
    #16
  17. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    think the download is corrupt LOL, came as a zipped file with 6 files .DVD and .001,.002 etc but only when i try to unrar it, it finds 3 gig out of the 7 gig and doesnt expand that properly anyhow. Will try another or buy from ebay failing that.
    #17
  18. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd get an original from Ebay. Burning the copies is often tough as you need dual layer discs - many DVD's burners burn discs that the RNS-E wont always read all the time.
    #18
  19. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks, actually just found out I need to use CDclone to burn those files and have set the DVD writer's book type to DVD-ROM. Will try & probably waste a few DVD+R DL's 1st before I eventually buy of ebay LOL:beerchug:
    #19

Share This Page