1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E dvd updated discs question?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by mickel5, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. mickel5
    Offline

    mickel5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2007]
    Can anyone advise me I have a 2005 allroad with sat-nav dvd plus,the disc supplied with the car new was 8PO 919 884 C,I have been informed that the updated version comes as a double dvd set 8PO 060 884 M,can I just install the discs activating the TMC for the UK or does the RNS-E system
    need programming by a dealer ? My system already has TMC that works in the rest of Europe .

    Thanks

    Mike .
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 27, 2007]
    Just install the first disk and let it update twice through.
    #2
  4. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 27, 2007]
    Craig's right. Whatever you do though, wait for the update process to complete, even when it looks like the RNS-E is doing nothing. I thought mine had failed, so switched it off and then on again and had lots of problems with the RNS-E thinking it still needed to update.

    After cutting the power and trying again (and being more patient this time), 0550 went on fine and it's been perfect ever since.
    #3
  5. mickel5
    Offline

    mickel5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2007]
    Thanks again for the advice I will order the discs tomorrow and install the first disc twice as surggested,presumilly it will show when the first install has completed .

    Cheers again

    Mike .
    #4
  6. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 27, 2007]
    It will prompt you, but there is one stage where the progress bar sits still for a long time. Just be patient! The RNS-E will reboot twice, and I recall that the second time it does this, it powers off completely and you have to turn it on. Only do this if it doesn't come up within a few seconds.

    Note that there's more information about this on http://www.navplus.us. Do a search for "software upgrade" there.
    #5

Share This Page