1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-e Directions on DIS

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by JohnboyC, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. JohnboyC
    Offline

    JohnboyC Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi...
    I have an RNS-e installed in my B6, as well as the full red DIS. (i.e. I can select current MPG, miles to go on current fuel in the tank, time I have been driving, etc, etc, via the right hand stalk on steering column). When I get a fault though the fault indication is shown on top third of the DIS in colour.

    So, can my car be VAGCOM'd to show the driving directions on the DIS or not ?
    #1
  2. jwhat
    Offline

    jwhat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you can get it on the dis but there is a glitch that after you plug in the destination you have to turn the rnse off and back on or something.
    #2
  3. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    John

    I have RNS-E and as jwhat says to get the directions on the the dis you have to load in your destination into the unit then turn it off then back on again and the directions then are shown on the DIS.

    Ian
    #3
  4. JohnboyC
    Offline

    JohnboyC Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Ian... just tried that but it does not work....will ask Gareth on monday...
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Maybe coding isnt correct, you got vagcom to check.
    #5
  6. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... .

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    Sounds like the "Instruments" are not coded correctly.

    For module 17-Instruments
    Channel Adaption 62 - Should have +1 (Radio info) and +4 (Nav Info)
    So set at least a minimum value of 5.
    (Other options are +2 for Telephone , +8 for Telematics - adjust accordingly)
    As you have OEM Bluetooth also add another +2, so final value will be 6.

    With regard to the "RED-DIS Bug".......
    With the RNS-E already on at ignition time then no NAV or Compass information is shown on the DIS. Simply Turn the RNS-E off (Screen goes blank) and back on again and the NAV or Compass information will be displayed on the DIS, other DIS information can be cycled through with the respective DIS stalk select button.
    #6
  7. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    As Niknak says, once its coded correctly its a case of turning the unit off for a second then back on again and hey presto all info will be displayed in the DIS.... for info though you don't need to have a destination entered into the nav, in this mode it will show your direction and the name of the road you are on...pretty cool eh!!
    #7
  8. JohnboyC
    Offline

    JohnboyC Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    3
    Manyt thanks to those who have provided feedback on this....I will get this "sorted" next monday when I have my MFSW fitted.
    #8
  9. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    so whats next on the shopping list mate?
    #9
  10. JohnboyC
    Offline

    JohnboyC Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hmmm, the "last" thing I am tempted with is getting the 1.8T rear exausts on my 2.5TDi which has the pointy down diesel exhausts..and maybe that Phatnoise system if I can get a good deal on it...

    Main priority for me is keeping the car in A1 condition...so I may get the entire front bumper/valance resprayed probably next spring
    #10
  11. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here, my 'new' valance spraying also the rest of the car lol
    #11
  12. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    if Gareth (HazzyDayz) or his brother fitted it, I'm sure they would have vagcom'd it... once that's done, the bug on the red DIS is that you have to power the RNS-E off (hold volume in until the screen goes black) and back on EVERY TIME you turn the ignition off.... once that's been doen you can use the full DIS button (or the service interval button) to change it back to trip info, etc.

    you DON'T have program the route in before you do this - but it will only give you your compass bearing until then....

    [​IMG]
    #12
  13. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    losty,
    you dont have to go that far buddy, just end route destination and then re-press start destination, pops straight back on again, alot quicker than restarting the rns-e maybe.
    #13
  14. BILKO1
    Offline

    BILKO1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any excuse to show off that lovely steering wheel losty:)
    #14
  15. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    So then, just for fun, what track is playing on Lostboks RNS-E ???

    I FEEL F

    My guess is Chaka Khan - I Feel For You (written by Prince by the way!)

    :)
    #15
  16. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    i feel free - cream
    #16
  17. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    ermmm... not sure... I can find out if you really want - pretty sure it's off the missus' "80's Fantastic megamix".... if that helps....

    edit: okay, that's creepy, yes.... Chaka Khan "I feel for you"... and even with the missus driving the radio (no license, so she never gets to drive the car) I think that one would have go the "scroll down" treatment, so volume must have been off! (apols to any Chaka Khan fans out there, but not really my style)...


    ...and thanks 1wheel - I'll try that today!
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2009
    #17
  18. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1

    hehehe...always the doris's fault!!!
    #18
  19. JohnboyC
    Offline

    JohnboyC Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks to Hazzydayz meeting with Niknak in Machester - he did the necessary VAGCOM tweak and the RNS-e directions on the DIS now work just great - need to do the frig explained in the earlier posts above....
    #19
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Told yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :whistle2: :moa:
    #20

Share This Page