1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E differences

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by EddyH, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    I've done a search but can't seem to find an answer on this. I've seen both 2002+ and 2007 model RNS-E's on ebay some even from the same seller. Would there be any difference in useability if they were both running the latest discs?
    #1
  2. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #2
  3. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    I don't think that the newer version function any different from the older ones. With the latest DVD they will both be running the same firmware.
    There is allegedly a gain in the speed that SD cards are read on the newer units.

    It seems that the newer units command about a £100 premium over the older RNS-e so I'd go for the latest you can get your hands on. After all, a newer unit is exactly that, newer. The DVD drive may be the weak link on the old units if they have been heavily used.

    There seems to be a never ending supply on eBay so keep your eye out and look out for a bargain.
    #3
  4. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    Any particular suppliers to go with or avoid?
    #4
  5. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    How does the RSN-E fit Into a sympthony III Slot, The facia is more rounded etc.....

    Do you get me...
    #5
  6. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #6
  7. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    Thanks. What about the adaptor cable is ebay best for that or kufatec?
    #7
  8. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #8
  9. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    It's double DIN but is a symphony II not II+, the car is a 2003 model so I'm pretty sure it needs the adaptor loom.
    #9
  10. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 16, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #10
  11. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    I got mine from Kufatec. Excellent service and you can use their website to specify exactly what equipment you have in your car and they build a adaptor to suit. If you are unsure about anything then email them and they reply in double quick time and seem to have a better grasp of the English language than a lot of locals. (Particularly in Lincolnshire :))

    As far a suppliers of RNS-e. I'll second Nikin777. Several members on here have bought from this seller and had no problems. Mine came incredibly well packaged and was in perfect, as new, condition.

    I also contacted Ultimate Velocity in Leicester and was put off by the fact that they had no idea what they were selling. I asked which version they were selling and the guy didn't even know. Said it didn't matter anyway as the firmware made them all the same. When I said that a version A could be 2004 and therefore had 3 years of use he basically said 'you get what you get'. I now see they are offering the later units but for £150 extra.
    Why bother with that when you can get the latest versions from Nikin777 for quite a bit less money.
    #11
  12. DiscoPanda
    Offline

    DiscoPanda Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    I had a look at his ebay ads - Where the feck does he get all those units from?? Are they boxed? Or used units? Just shows too that the dealer markup is daylight robbery.

    If the dealer *does* indeed make so much profit on these units would it be possible to get an enourmous discount? Along the lines of "well sell me the unit factory fitted for xxx price or I'll just get it on eBay and you'll make nothing".
    #12
  13. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    If i bought one of these RSN-e units off ebay, are they easy to change the sympthony III for the sat nav.

    Who on here with VAG com would be able to do this.

    DM
    #13
  14. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    mitch, i'll drive upto yours so you can help me hehehehe
    #14
  15. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #15
  16. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    Cool, i'll keep it mind if the bank balance ever recovers hehehe.

    How come you didn't go for Bose? I'm thrilled with mine but the GALA nearly defeaned me the other day.
    #16
  17. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #17
  18. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 17, 2007]
    Ye I suppose.

    Off topic. I'm liking the black rings on your grill.

    DM
    #18
  19. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 18, 2007]
    I'll 3rd nikin777 too, no probs with mine!

    Very easy to change and I have gone for the bluetooth prep too, would def reccomend this if you have the RNS-E. Just get into the car with your phone in your pocket and all the info appears on the sat nav screen and you can control your phone via the sat nav.
    #19
  20. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 18, 2007]
    I am planning to do the bluetooth soon as well as the Nokia kit that's in the car at the moment isn't very good. How much is the bluetooth kit and where from?
    #20
  21. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 18, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #21
  22. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 20, 2007]
    Sat nav arrived at my work today closely followed by the wiring loom, just need the GPS aerial now which I'm hoping will be at home.
    #22
  23. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 20, 2007]
    The kit is £399 fitted by Craig on this forum or £345 (I think) without fitting, a bit expensive but its totally factory and I can compensate the cost by me thinking on the possible £60 tickets and 3 points I may get by answering the phone without the kit. It will pay for itself after a while!!
    #23
  24. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 20, 2007]

    Craig fitted mine but it seemed fairly easy to do after me seeing it done.

    Bluetooth box fits in allocated position underneath the passenger seat and carpet, wire runs up to sat nav and from there a wire branches off up the a pillar into the light on the roof where the microphone is located also in a allocated position.

    Totally factory fit and the phone also rings through the car speakers and mutes any music you have playing and returns to it when the call is ended.

    Really much better not having to take your phone out of your pocket and put in a cradle!
    #24
  25. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,166
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    what is rns-e??? :rolleyes:
    #25
  26. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    The sat nav unit has a faulty DVD drive. :crying:
    #26
  27. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 24, 2007]

    Its the sat nav system that is fitted to the 8P A3 and S3, just their model number for it the older units being RNS-D in the older 8L A3 and S3
    #27
  28. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    Where are who did you get it from in the end?

    How does it have a faulty drive?
    #28
  29. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    A guy on ebay with decent feedback.

    There's a disc in the drive but it shows as empty and won't eject. I'm trying to get a refund but if things don't work out I've found a guy on navplus who can replace the laser for me as he thinks that's the problem.
    #29
  30. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    No probs mate. have you spoken to s8craig on here, what he does not know about the RNS-E is not worth knowing and he may know exactly what is wrong or may have the parts at his place to fix it.

    He is based in Manchester which is not far from you, if you look him up on here and look at some of his posts his mobile number will be on the bottom of the post, give him a bell.
    #30
  31. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    Thanks for the tip.
    #31
  32. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    No probs!

    You may have spoken to him already on navplus, he signs in as craigyb?
    #32
  33. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #33
  34. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    Yes there is.

    STG 56
    Channel 67 (Eject CD/DVD)

    000 - default
    001 - eject CD/DVD
    255 - eject button locked, no eject possible

    Mine came set at 255 so I couldn't eject the DVD. Changed to 000 and works normally now. Although sounds like you may still have a problem witht he drive if it doesn't read the disk already in the drive.
    #34
  35. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 24, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #35
  36. a3guy
    Offline

    a3guy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 26, 2007]
    open up the top lid and push the disc out with a pen mine did this when i first got it. been fine since
    #36
  37. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 27, 2007]
    It was a bit worse than just the disc being stuck, there's brown muck all behind the screen. I've opened the unit up and it's all over the inside too. I think it's come from a car that's been in one of the recent floods!

    Anyway as I was getting no response from the seller I decided to completely strip the unit and clean it and the disc. After putting it back together the drive would accept a disc, however it would only recognise audio CD's and not the not the nav disc. The nav disc was as clean as I could get but still has some major scratches etc.. I decided to clean the lens and then try the nav disc again. I got it working but I've been testing it for the last couple of days and I'm still getting occasions where it doesn't recognise the disc, this could be due to the disc though not the nav unit. Does anyone have a backup they could send me? Interestingly one of the recent destinations in the memory was Tewksbury. :ermm:
    #37
  38. rich1068
    Offline

    rich1068 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 27, 2007]
    Funnily enough I noticed in the local rag the other day that abandoned Audi's had been targeted by thieves.
    #38
  39. EddyH
    Offline

    EddyH Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 28, 2007]
    It came with the original manual and code card which showed no signs of water damage so I'm sure it's legal.
    #39

Share This Page