1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E Coding

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Jay.Ing, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hi all, well I picked up my white Sportback BE today, and I've been installing my RNS-E this afternoon. :rockwoot:

    All went well apart from a bit of coding, I have Bluetooth installed from build, for the coding on 56 (nav system) what value do I need to have in 0xxx?xx: telephone/telematics? At the moment it is 7 baseplate diagnostic capable with diagnostic. I can not access any of my contacts, dialled list etc they are all greyed out.

    Any help would be much appreciated

    Cheers
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    47
  4. rich1

    rich1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can you upload some pics of your car? I'm picking mine up on the 1st september and cant wait but have loads to fit on it before i 'pick it up'.
     
  5. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    Im trying 7 but its not accepting it, keeps giving me an error! :sorry:
     
  6. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    47
    Don't know then mate, I haven't got Bluetooth so wasn't an issue I had to sort...
     
  7. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Not sure if you got my PM, anyhow you won't get contacts, dialled numbers etc etc until you code you telephone module 77.
    You need to code for comfort control via RNS-e, also the installation list needs to be coded. Should be something like this

    Module 77> 7 coding

    0x?xxxx
    1=Comfort (for RNS-E high/Low)

    0xxx?xx
    3=Head Unit (e.g RNS-E) & Diagnostics via CAN (if you DO NOT have a MFSW)
    or
    4=Multi Function Steering Wheel & Head unit (e.g. RNS-E) & Diagnostics vai CAN

    When done, you need to reboot the RNS-E, i think, can't quite remeber, but you hold the power and the top left button.
    You should then find the RNS-E connects to your phone via bluetooth and gives all contacts, dialled numbers etc etc.
     
    #6 Dannykn9, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  8. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    Just got your PM now cheers for the offer! Ill try it again tomorrow and let u know! Will i get a little bluetooth symbol in the RNSe?
    [​IMG]
     
    #7 Jay.Ing, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  9. jasonc

    jasonc Active Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    63
    I did the following coding to get mine working (RNS-E Mk2 + Bluetooth in an S3):

    CAN Gateway – tick the Telephone module
    Radio/Navigation – 0209755
    Telephone – 0011422

    As already mentioned you must turn on the "comfort" mode to make the phonebook work.

    When it's all working you should get a bluetooth icon and see the phone signal strength displayed at the bottom of the Sat Nav screen.
     
  10. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    Did you tick the navigation module in the CAN gateway?
     
  11. jasonc

    jasonc Active Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yes, you definitely need that ticked.
    The coding I posted earlier was from when I added the Bluetooth (already had the RNS-E installed) which is why it wasn't mentioned.
     
  12. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    Right the telephone module is coded 0011422, the rnse is coded 0209755 and radio, navigation and telephone are coded to the CAN gateway, how ever i am still not able to access my phonebook from rnse and i dont have a little bluetooth symbol at the bottom of the screen!????

    [​IMG]

    Any more ideas???
     
  13. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    You need to reboot your RNS-e
     
  14. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    rebooted, disconnected battery, pulled fuses still no contacts :(
     
  15. jasonc

    jasonc Active Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    63
    Have you actually paired the phone to the car's Bluetooth? You have to search for Bluetooth accessories on the phone and it should find an Audi one then just enter the passcode to pair them (think it's 1234).

    Sorry if I'm stating the obvious and you've done this!
     
  16. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yep phone is paired, you wouldn't even get into that menu if it wasn't paired.
     

Share This Page