1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E BOSE / GALA setting S3 8P

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Whiteatom, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. Whiteatom
    Offline

    Whiteatom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    Can anyone confirm where the setting on the RNS-E for BOSE / GALA setting is stored ie does VAG com alter it on ecu or the unit itself ?

    Does anyone know the code values etc to alter it from BOSE to GALA or anyone in the Sheffield area I could pay beer tokens to alter for me ?

    Lastly will the RNS-E still work correctly if I have a aftermarket system fitted b4 I get it changed ?

    Many thank in advance

    Matt
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    RNS-E will still work correctly as long as you connect the wiring to it correctly yes, no reason why it shouldnt at all.

    What have you got now & what are you trying to acheive?
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    Gala is the non Bose system which can be altered/adjusted.
    The Bose speed sensitive system cannot be altered as far as I'm aware. There were a few threads on here about it and I seem to remember you're stuck with what Bose consider to be the best setup (as with all things Bose) and thus most people turn it off, a bit like the shyte Bose super flat EQ - I'd like the bass & treble controls to actually change the bass & treble please!
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    Adaptation Channel of the RNS-E 0-7 GALA & and then 255 for BOSE.

    Also pin 7 of connector B must be grounded for BOSE.

    Coding of the RNS-E must be 0xx9xxx for BOSE as well.
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    "Also pin 7 of connector B must be grounded for BOSE" - that's the flat EQ selector, say goodbye to the highs & lows!
    #5
  7. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    Well thats' the requirement for a BOSE setup.
    #6
  8. Whiteatom
    Offline

    Whiteatom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 9, 2008]
    Thanks for all your replies.

    I currently have RNS-E , BOSE and ipod adaptor from factory.

    I want to remove BOSE and have aftermarket amps and speakers fitted. I know I need to alter from BOSE set up ie Audio pilot to GALA which is speed sensitive.

    I want to try this before I get a JL audio clean sweep or aftermarket headunit if I do not like the sound.
    #7

Share This Page