1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E & Bluetooth

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Anito, Nov 28, 2006.

  1. Anito

    Anito Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've today picked up my new car :) it's a A4 2.5TDI Quattro Sport.

    It's got RNS-E with bluetooth. IT pairs with my phone but doesn't work very well. I know the system can work with the phone becuase it worked on the S4.

    Do I need later versions of H/W or S/W?

    [​IMG]

    Someone out there must know
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. steve1975l

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    You need 330 or higher.
     
  4. 1210tech

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long you have the 2006 or 2006_1 Nav DVD I can send you SW 0500 which is the latest software not available in the UK yet!

    If you want a copy of SW 0500 PM me with your email address that you me to send it to.

    :o.k:
     
  5. steve1975l

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anything different in SW 500?
     
  6. 1210tech

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before I installed SW 0500 I was only running at SW 0080 so compared to the original software I have noticed quite a few extras such as the time displayed on the RNS-E screen and if you press the volume button once, it mutes the sound and to turn the unit off you press and hold the volume knob...

    It depends what software you have at the moment and if any of the above extras are already apparent.

    If you want SW 0500 pm me, I will email it to you (free of charge:icon_thumright:), all you do then is burn it onto a cd and put the cd into the unit.
     
  7. steve1975l

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the offer but I have an old map.

    I am waiting for the new map to come out, this month hopefully so I can upgrade to bluetooth. I was wondering if anything has changed in the software. I have SW 100.
     
  8. JonnoS6

    JonnoS6 1st Gear
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Steve & 1210tech. I'm Looking to do 3 way temp swap. I have RNS-E with older SW but shortly should recieve a 2006 DVD following eBay purchase ? tomorrow or monday. Steve would you like to borrow the DVD & 1210tech I'd really appreciate an e-mail copy of the new SW. 1210tech, will the new SW just require temporary use of the 2006 DVD or will it need to be used permanently? Either way PM me with your e-mails & I'll help where I can.

    Thanks
     
  9. 1210tech

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you install SW 0500 you can't then use a DVD older than 2006 or 2006_1 when using the navigation option, also if you use the RNS-E without the DVD installed you will always get a 'INSERT NAVIGATION DVD' message when you turn the unit on.

    As far as I know only the 2006 or 2006_1 disc will work because they are the only ones I have tried with SW 0500.

    Plus if you install SW 0500 you can't then down-grade the software by installing an earlier/older DVD, you will need VAG-COM, there are instructions at www.navplus.us, of how to down-grade RNS-E software.

    So in summary, I wouldn't suggest upgrading to SW 0500 unless you have a 2006 or 2006_1 DVD in my experience....BUT I am not sure if earlier nav DVD's work with SW 0500. (apart from the 2005 DVD p/n: 8P0 919 884 C, I have tried this DVD and it doesn't work!)

    man, its a bit confusing isn't it!!! i had to read this back about 5-6 times to make sure it was right!!!:thumbsup:
     
  10. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    51
    Not quite true, all disks above SW0330 will work with the 0500 update

    2005_1 sw0330
    2005_2 sw0360
    2006 sw0450
    2006_1 sw0460

    But I would be very careful of going straight from a low level of software like a 0100 to an 0500, I did one in an A4 the other day and it was screwed up because the 0500 is a one stage upgrade (SW only) and the NAV unit comes back with a screwed up radio display unless you use a proper disk and do a 2 stage upgrade (SW and Nav) such as a 2006_1 SW0460 disk.

    So, the safest way is this....

    Install the latest DVD disk you have and let that complete the 2 stages of upgrade, then install the 0500 SW update CD. When that has completed, go back to your latest DVD.

    Craig
     
  11. 1210tech

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    ooops, didn't know that upgrading software could do that, but my display is all ok so looks like I got away with it...:happy:
     

Share This Page