1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E and SD cards

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by murray, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. murray

    murray murray

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have purchased a Sandisk 4gb SD card for use with the RNS-E data card slots. I have dragged and dropped a number (about 100) of mp3 music files onto the card. When I insert this into the RNS-E I get the message "Loading card....do not remove". After 10/15mins I am still getting this message.

    Is this right and I am just being impatient or am I doing something wrong? I have checked and the card is formatted as FAT 32

    Any advice would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Niknak

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like something is wring there, the SD cards should load within seconds, can you play the files on your PC??
    Ian
     
  4. Bash_A3

    Bash_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you buy a SD card or SD-HC? The high capacity format SD cards are not always compatible with older machines.
     
  5. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    2
    The larger cards do take longer to load in the RNS-E, but only a matter of seconds. Things I would suggest:

    - Put the card in the second slot, just in case there is a problem with the first.

    - Reformat the card again using Windows. If you've not formatted it yourself, it may appear as FAT32 when the card was delivered but may be something else, or corrupt.

    - Try a smaller SD card. To test mine I used a lowly 64MB first (actually, it's still in the second slot with an album on it).

    Give that a shot and let us know how you get on.
     
  6. murray

    murray murray

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem was simple in the end! As BashA3 suggested the card is a SDHC, I bought it without realising there is a difference. Normal SD cards work fine.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  7. Bash_A3

    Bash_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem mate, I made the same mistake which is how I came to know about it :)
     
  8. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good call Bash - will make sure that navplus.us has this info too.
     

Share This Page