1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rns-e almost there!

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by gas-man, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    hi again everyone

    so the rns-e sarga continues

    right got myself a vag com lead

    i think i must have read every post i could on coding with vagcom

    so got it all coded how it should be i think!

    so got the sat nav working including the dis

    IMG_0397.jpg

    cd/sd working
    radio working
    mfsw working
    telephone working but cant get the information on the screen
    this is what i have
    IMG_0396.jpg
    but i get incoming calls information on the screen
    if anyone could tell me where i,m going wrong or suggest what i try next before my head explodes :banghead:

    please
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    533
    Looks like the RNS-E not coded correctly try 0xxx7xx. x = what ever your current coding is just change the third to end digit to 7

    One final thing came to mind what version of bluetooth module to you have, if it's any of the following you will also get that screen regardless of the coding on the RNS-E or bluetooth, only slution to this would be to buy a newer version of the BT module.

    Below are the versions that don't fully work with the RNS-E
    8P0 862 335 A
    8P0 862 335 D
    8P0 862 335 E
     
    #2 B5NUT, Jan 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  4. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    +1
     
  5. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    i have the oem nokia phone cradle in the armrest will check the numbers in the morning
    not sure where to look is this on the module or do i look elsewhere?
    i,m pretty sure i coded the rns-e as you have said with the 7xxx but will check this aswell
    thanks guy,s
    any other suggestion i can check in the morning?
     
  6. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    533
    To get the part number just use VCDS, as shown in the picture below. As you have a B7 you should have the correct module, but could have been replaced at some point by someone and an older module fitted, but I think it's more likely a coding issue. Also post the soft coding of your BT module.
    bluetooth.jpg
     
  7. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    knowing the way my luck has gone with this mod it will be the bad module :keule:
    but thanks for your help b5nut will post the soft coding of the module
    after work tomorrow
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,116
    Likes Received:
    1,643
  9. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    hi b5nut
    i think you might be on to something this is a pic of the module numbers
    IMG_0401.jpg


    nigel the codings i have entered are 0001822 if i use a 7 where the 8 is i dont get any mfsw

    sorry for the delay in responding guys popped in the pub yesterday after work to watch the match
    and it turned into a vodka day out :beerchug:
     
  10. phil_w

    phil_w Active Member
    VCDS Map User Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group S-line owners group Team Brill Red

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yep module number not good - might be time to upgrade....

    List from another forum:

    8P0 862 335 E MY 2005 A4 8E-5-533 001>>8E-5-600 000 - Basic functionality only
     
  11. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    I think you're getting mixed up between the coding for the RNS-E and the phone module.

    The phone module needs to be coded 011822, see Audi A3 (8P) Telephone Preparation - Ross-Tech Wiki

    And the RNS-E needs to be coded 030x7xx, see Audi Radio/Navigation System (RNS-E) - Ross-Tech Wiki

    Check/correct both of those, reset the RNS-E (by pressing and holding RADIO and SETUP until it resets), then clear any fault codes in both the RNS-E and the phone module.

    Remember also that you can only pair a new phone for a few minutes after the ignition has been turned on.
     
  12. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    533
  13. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    ok guys
    will try the codes and then start searching for a module

    was hopeing not to have to spend anymore for this mod thing is it all works but the phone book i can still speech dial,handsfree,answer call all seems to work!
    so very frustrating (can feel another vodka day coming :sadlike:)

    anyway thanks for the advice & help petrol Dave, b5nut and anyone else

    will update when i get it sorted cheers
     
  14. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
     
  15. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    Code the BT module, code the RNS-E, clear the fault codes on both, and restart the RNS-E.

    Then turn the ignition off and back on, and pair your phone with the BT.
     
  16. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,116
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Dont want to piss on your firework fella, but K modules are known to have issues, so be warned.
     
  17. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    no no :keule:not again this really is turning into a nightmare

    nigel i got the module for £43.00 would you take a chance on it or would you opt out and go for a different module

    are they all faulty? or is it a batch? is there a way of knowing ie a serial number or a batch number?

    really beginning to wish i left the single din concert radio in just aint worth the aggro

    thanks for the advice anyway nigel
     
  18. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,116
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Hey for £43 as a kit its worthwhile, you can always goto audi & get them to upgrade firmware, but thats going to cost probably an hour, I would of bought the latest version in the beginning, then you wouldnt potentially have further issues.

    Just test it mate as you may find its ok, but K is known to have firmware issues.
     
  19. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    533
    For £40 it's worth a punt, just stick it in and use it. If you want a new module it's going to set you back at least £200 so if your K works and you pay for a firmware update as nigal say's your still not doing bad. Another option is to put it back on the ebay and buy another module, but I would just use one you have.
     
  20. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    ok chaps

    installed the bluetooth module today

    got the bluetooth paired, no sim message now gone and strength signels on the screen

    but unable to sync contacts from my iphone 3gs and cant store anything

    nothing on this screen works

    IMG_0405.jpg

    seem to be getting closer but i just cant seem to crack it

    can you guys suggest what i do next?
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,116
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Its comfort coded as those menu's are there, have you reset the rns-e & also what coding is in rns-e & the bt module now.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    Could be one of two things:
    - It takes a LONG time to sync contacts initially, try checking again after a long drive (over half an hour).
    - The K version module may not be 100% compatible with an iPhone 3GS.
     
  24. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    thanks nigel & dave

    nigel yes you where correct i think i,ve coded it correctly this time

    as i now have phonebook and missed and recieved call ect

    my codes are telephone is 0011822

    and the rns-e is 0301715

    but for some reason it will not let me store numbers

    and the mode button will not work

    so i seem to be getting closer the good thing is i,m learning about using vag-com i think!
     
  25. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,116
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Where I never usually disagree with PD :) I've never seen a contact list take 30 mins, then again if you sync your facebook friends with contacts list, you never know lol.

    Anyway, make sure the bus is coded in adaptation channel under instruments for telephone & steering wheel is coded for telephone aswell.
     
  26. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    well guys i think i got there its all up and running i think!

    i just got to learn how to use the thing now

    only thing thats not working is the mode button, but i,m not sure that was working before i started this mod

    i would like to say thank you to the guys who help me get this sorted

    it would of gone in the bin if not for nigel, petrolDave, and B5NUT and anybody else who chipped in

    so cheers guys i even learned a bit about vagcom also (bonus)
     
  27. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    I watched the contact list syncing with my new iPhone 5 last month (sad I know!!!) and it took 25 minutes from pairing to the final contact appearing in the RNS-E.

    OK, so I rounded up 25 minutes to 30 minutes :o.k:
     
  28. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    What are you expecting the mode button to do?

    All it will do when working correctly is switch to/from phone mode from whatever other mode the RNS-E was in - that's all.
     
  29. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    i,m not sure bud, i have read it just takes from cd/sd to radio from but its not doing anything at the moment
     
  30. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    Whoever wrote that got it wrong because it doesn't do that.

    As I said all it does is switch back and forth between phone and whatever other mode the radio/RNS-E is in.
     
  31. gas-man

    gas-man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    11
    thanks mate
    won,t worry about that then and thanks again for your help
     

Share This Page