1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-D to RNS-E, now glovebox cd changer doesn't work......

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Az, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 11, 2011]
    Hi there,

    I wasn't sure what forum to post this in but hopefully someone can help me out.

    I've recently retro fitted an RNS-E unit to my car which had an RNS-D unit in it originally. All works brilliant apart from the glovebox cd changer which powers up fine but it's running on a permanent live and doesn't switch off with the ignition or headunit.

    The RNS-E can see there is a cd changer connected but it doesn't allow me to select Amy cd from 1-6 and therefore I can't play any cd's.

    Initially I thought the unit needed coding to the cd changer, but after an email to hazzy dayz they informed me that it shouldn't have anything to do with coding but more likely to be wiring, either connectors in the wrong pins or the harness itself isn't compatible. But I'm sure it's just a case of relocating a couple of pins in the blue multiplug which plugs into the conversion harness from the cd changer.

    Can anyone confirm this or if I am right and you have swapped pins around to make it work fully could you please share what wires you swapped around please?

    I'm thinking it could be down to the 'data out' wire for possibly sending the music signal to the headunit, and maybe the 'switched power' wire for the ignition on and off?? I don't know, that's why I need help! :)

    Cheers,
    Azl
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 11, 2011]
    No need to open 3 threads on the same thing, just remember its home time for many, so people will respond this evening probably mate.

    Coding is always advised aswell as checking your wiring, you should of done a pin to pin check as adapter leads are often wired wrong from suppliers anyway, so check this & with vcds, its really that simple tbh.
    #2
  4. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 11, 2011]
    There are compatibility issues between the RNS-D and E CD changers, your really should have the model D changer to work with the RNS-E, but there is a work around but you may not be able to do it.

    Whilst powered on
    Remove all CD's from the changer
    Disconnect the changer
    Plug in an Ipod interface or a model D changer ( I use an old Ipod interface)
    Disconnect the Ipod interface
    Plug in your old CD changer, it should work
    Install disks 1 at a time, more than 1 confuses it.
    The RNS-E should show "Audio CD" if all is well on each inserted disk.

    As for the powering off issue, I think you will find that it powers off after a while, but until you actually lock the car with the remote then everything is kept alive. Even keeping the glovebox door open keeps the car awake. So it's hard to tell when the CD changer has been shut down. trust me it will shut down.
    #3
  5. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 11, 2011]
    Thanks for the replies.

    The reason I started 3 threads is as I mentioned in the OP I was unsure as to what forum to post it in. I didn't know if it would be classed as a satnav issue or an ice issue, and the reason for posting it in the b6 section is because its b6 related in my case so someone may of experienced the same problem but doesn't normally visit this ice / nav section.

    Anyway, it is the 'C' cd changer I have, I have read though that any glovebox changer should work (u.s forum tested) but if I can get an iPod interface from somewhere I will definately give that a go.

    As for the power off issue, I left the cd changer plugged in but left on the passenger foot well over night, it was powered when I switched the car off, still powered when I locked the car, and still powered when I came to open the car the next morning, so it was on all night.
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 11, 2011]
    I very much doubt that, as soon as you press the keyfob to unlock the car it will power up

    And it does take some time to switch off when car is locked.


    #5
  7. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 12, 2011]
    Yep your right mate, my mistake. I double checked it today and it powers off once the fan has stopped running on the RNS-E.

    So I spent ages today searching the net for pin out diagrams on both the RNS-E and the cd changer wiring, eventually I found what I was after and traced all the appropriate wires which were all in the right places on both units (when it comes to connecting the multiplugs) bar 2 pins on the conversion harness which were in the wrong places, they were the 'line output' right and left, they were the wrong way round, so I swapped them over to the right pins but I'm still not getting any play from the changer, surely this is down to coding?
    #6
  8. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    Coding has no affect on the CD changer, it will work regardless on the RNS-E, same as Ipod or TV.
    #7
  9. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    Hmmm, ok, I seem to be getting told different things here, someone on the b6 forum told me the RNS-E needs to be told what devises it has connected to it with the following coding.....


    So if it's not the wiring or the coding could it be the fact that my cd changer is an 8E0 035 111 C and I need the D version?

    Thanks for you help by the way mate.
    #8
  10. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    I've been installing into Audi's for 7 years and I can assure you that coding isn't needed for the CD/IPOD for it to function, but the RNS-E will show an error code until it is coded for CD and that's all.

    I have already posted what is required to fix this issue, either a D model CD changer or the workaround.

    It's not rocket science, but you also have to understand that everything written on a forum is not gospel, I had advised someone about CD changer/Ipod configs for an RNS-E and then some guy that had an A8 with a totally different MMI system chirped in with misinformation about keeping his CD and Ipod together was possible because he had just had it done. I had to then explain why the cars were different.

    And I also make mistakes due to lack of knowledge/experience too.
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
    #9
  11. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    I appreciate your help mate and I wasn't knocking your knowledge as I have seen your name crop up on several audi forums when it comes to retro fits etc, but, I haven't taken 1 forum users word as gospel when I did a search on the subject, I lost count of how many forums I searched and read from UK sites to US ones, I also read several purpose built retro fit websites, and like I said have read mixed reports when it comes to connecting a cd changer.

    Anyway, thanks again for your help, I'll now search for a D changer.
    #10

Share This Page