1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-D Hidden Options

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Olly_K, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    This section describes some of the hidden abilities of the Nav Plus system. Care should be taken with these menus as they are designed for service personal. You can cause your Nav Plus to not work with incorrect use.

    Tuner Functions:

    Tuner Menu One:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] Press and hold the "Tone" button until it beeps. (about 10 seconds). This will display test parameters for the tuner. The field strength can be used to verify your antennas are working correctly. A setting of about 200 to 250 seems normal for FM, and about 80-100 for AM.

    Tuner Menu Two:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    After tuner menu one is displayed, press and hold the "Tone" button again until the next menu is displayed.


    Communication and Software Functions:

    Communication Display:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Display the Navigation screen. Press and hold the "AS" key and the down arrow at the same time.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    This menu displays how the Nav Plus system is communicating with the other parts of the car. The functions are described below...

    Logbook: An optional piece of hardware which allows you to program routes and upload tracks on a personal computer.
    TV Tuner: If you have the newer "B" version of the tuner, it should show up here.

    CAN Gateway: The TMC (traffic message channel) box. The TMC doesn't do much in North America. If you have one, it should say OK.
    Telematics: Not used in North America. This is affected by adaption channel 6.

    Multi Function Steering Wheel: Not used in North America, at least on A4's. Some of you with A6's and A8's will be able to make this work. (see "programming your car" elsewhere on the site.)

    Voice Control: An optional module that allows you to speak commands to the Nav Plus unit. Great for dialing the optional phone that nobody has.

    Dash Panel: Should say OK. The picture has a warning "Switch on term.15!" because I didn't have my ignition turned on when I took this shot.

    If any of the settings look wrong, check adaption channel 7 to recode your unit correctly.

    Software Display:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    With the above communication menu displayed, press the right hand knob

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    This menu displays the software revisions of your Nav Plus. It's useful for checking to see if the firmware can accept a software update.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Press the right hand knob one more time.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    The "Stamp" menu item here is interesting. If you don't have the "Nov 15, 2001" software, you can update your unit. This version adds the 50 meter display, the compass and more.

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Press the "Flag" key. (note this only works if you entered the above menus from the Navigation screen.)

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    This allows you to see parameters used for the speed sensor (GALA) for the Nav plus.
    The tyre (sic) circumference is the diameter of your tire in mm.
    Some common tire sizes...
    185/65 R15: 1895
    195/65 R15: 1935
    205/60 R15: 1910
    205/55 R16: 1930
    225/45 R17: 1930
    225/40 R18: 1943

    The "Pulses per Revolution" is set depending if your car is using the Gala signal or the ABS signal. For the Gala signal, the correct number is 8, and for older cars using the ABS the correct number is 45.


    Software Updates:

    Updating the firmware:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    With the unit powered off, press and hold the Navigation button and the flag button. Continue to hold these as you power the unit on.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    This menu allows you to update the firmware on your Nav Plus. Currently the Nov 15, 2001 firmware is the latest available. See instructions elsewhere on this site on how to update your software.


    Antenna Control:

    This is only available if you have the optional TV tuner:
    Press and hold the "AM" button and the "TONE" button at the same time.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    This menu allows you to test the television diversity antenna system in your car. You can turn on one antenna at a time to verify each amplifier is working correctly.


    Other Tricks:

    There are a few other tricks hiding in the Nav plus, such as holding the display button for 5 seconds taking you to the contrast menu. You can even change the startup screen with your own picture with a bit of work.
    #1
  2. marmite
    Offline

    marmite Counting the Tesco Club points

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that would be cool to have your own picture on the start up screen!
    How do they do that??
    #2
  3. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to download a copy of the firmware for your unit and also a copy of Kolumbia from http://www.navi-projekt.de which then allows you to edit the startup screen, you save the modified firmware and flash your unit. That software also allows you to edit the CD menus for phatbox users or there is an alternative program on there for altering the voice prompts although ive not tried that.
    As with all firmware flashing if it goes wrong then your unit usually isnt going to work afterwards.
    #3
  4. marmite
    Offline

    marmite Counting the Tesco Club points

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers
    Have you changed your start up logo??
    Was it easy?
    I got phat noise in my car, would be nice to see track name, album name but I don't think you can do that on these systems??
    #4
  5. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didnt change the startup screen as I couldnt actually find anything I liked to use as a startup, would have been a case of finding a bmp and importing it into the program which is very easy.
    The only thing I changed is the CD1-CD6 menus to track, genre, album, feature, playlist etc to suit the phatbox menus. As you know the navi+ doesnt support CD-text so wont display track names etc, you have to make do with the audio prompts.
    The hardest part to be honest is the flashing, not so much in that its difficult to do but I was pretty paranoid that I was going to end up with a useless unit.
    #5
  6. cliveh
    Offline

    cliveh quattro in the bones

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linky doesnt work - anyone got a current link please?
    #6
  7. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you find a copy?
    #7
  8. ikbenben
    Offline

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you tell me where to find it? I've already used the search function but I can't find it anywhere.
    #8
  9. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    The filename for RNS-D update is AUDIFW2003.zip at least thats the file that I downloaded. Should then just a matter of burning it to CD and then inserting it into the car for the update.
    #9
  10. jamjam
    Offline

    jamjam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you now how to update the firmware of the rns-d. im ready burn versie 2003 on un 700mb cd sony.

    iam do note now how toe need up to date the navigation plus.


    do you can help m e?

    #10
  11. qbert
    Offline

    qbert New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello. i need somme help too.. i can't acces the menu for upgrade. i press and hold "flag " button + navigation button, then i press short on power button. the unit start, show me the screen where i need to put the code (and i don't have that code, this is the reason for i neet the update ).
    What button should i press?
    thx
    #11
  12. DamianS4
    Offline

    DamianS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there any possibility more light can be shed on the 'antenna control' because the details are fuzzy and i am really trying to get the last out of my analogue signal. Is there anyone out there who has a really good grasp on these units?
    #12
  13. mavada
    Offline

    mavada New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why are some pics missing?
    #13
  14. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    246
    Original post was back in 2006 I'm surprised any of the images are still showing.
    #14
  15. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    The missing images are just copies of the ones that's displayed.
    You're not missing any thing.

    The images was stored on ASN's servers not a 3rd party server.
    #15
  16. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    246
    Still surprised the forum has seen a few upgrades.
    #16
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    I was but its great that they are back :)
    #17
  18. AviatorRichards3
    Offline

    AviatorRichards3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Olly

    I know this thread is extremely old now but I wonder if you could shed some light into this ongoing problem I am having with this unit.

    Not wanting to repeat on lots of different threads ill give you a brief explanation and if you still dont understand, ill PM you the whole shubang so you get the idea.

    Here is my other thread: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...rns-d-rare-satnav-installed-2002-audi-s3.html

    Basically I hand the Concert II stereo in my 2002 audi S3, and I wanted to change to the Symphony II RND-D Nav unit.

    I had some help through members on here, and fitted the thing, to the book..left nothing unattached...

    On powering the unit up, I realised I had no radio. Thinking I had left it unplugged, I checked but everything is is, and I get hardly any reception at all (everything worked perfectly with the old concert setup)

    Now I went through trying different things, as I thought the radio part of my new unit may be duff, but when I put a screw driver into the back part, the signal becomes a lot better and I can get some local station in perfect quality. In talking to various people, I get the impression that my unit is fine, and that either their is a break in the line somewhere or that perhaps my FM boosters which are connected to the rear heated screen in the back window were broken/ or the lines that go across the window have a bit missing....

    So I took the trim off the back and exposed what should be two FM boosters but I only seem to have one soldered to the windscreen. The odd thing: there is no sign of another one ever being connected as there is no excess wiring for the Arial to plug into two FM boosters, just the one booster.

    Now someone messaged me saying their could be some settings to enable high power antenna in the RNSD as clearly mine is not picking up enough...could you perhaps shed some light on my situation?

    Anton
    #18
  19. Kyle.
    Offline

    Kyle. Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blast from the past!


    How do you update the rnsd?
    #19
  20. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
  21. AviatorRichards3
    Offline

    AviatorRichards3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does anyone know of any high power aerial settings in this unit?
    #21

Share This Page