1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-d Firmware Update

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by ScottD3, Oct 16, 2012.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Oct 16, 2012]
    Thought i'd do a brief thread on how to update your firmware on your RNS-d unit.

    1, Download the firmware here (I will try and keep a copy of this program on my harddrive, just in case that link breaks.)

    2, Burn the files to a CD, close session and slowish. I burnt mine at 16x and it worked.

    3, Make sure the unit is off. Press and hold the 'Navigation' Button and the 'Flag' Button while turning the unit on. Keep these pressed until you see the below screen.
    [​IMG]

    4, Eject the Navigation CD and insert the firmware update CD.

    5, Move the selection to 'Start Control Unit' and you should see 'Current Software' and 'CD Software'. Like in the pic.
    [​IMG]

    6, If the CD software is newer than the current software, press the right knob in to start. You should see the below image.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    7, The will complete the installation and restart. It will then start updating the graphics.
    [​IMG]

    8, It will complete, restart and say it was successful. Take the firmware CD out and insert your Navigation CD.

    9, wait a couple of minutes for it to update and do the final stages. My languide went to german or something. If you go to Navigation, press mode, you will be able to change it.
    [​IMG]

    Hopefully that works for everyone else the same way it did with me.
    I started the update and then went for a long drive, to make sure it never ran the battery flat mid update.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. hugo.
    Offline

    hugo. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2013]
    I have a problem, when installing the update my daughter pressed something and it stopped and now it says timeout error...
    is there anything i can do?
    #2
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    Try again and make sure no one touches a button? :)
    #3
  5. hugo.
    Offline

    hugo. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    The problem is that when i turn the rns on it shows a. Blue screen saying timeout error, how do i restart the process?
    #4
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    If the CD is still in the unit.
    Turn it off and hold the 'Navigation' Button and the 'Flag' Button again and see if you get the menu at the start.

    I think you can reset the RNS unit via VCDS.
    #5
  7. hugo.
    Offline

    hugo. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    I tried the keys, but with the radio off when i press the navigation the display says it will download from the cd and then "timeout Error"
    #6
  8. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    Is that instant?

    Power off, hold the keys, power on and then time out error?

    What happens when you just turn it on?
    #7
  9. hugo.
    Offline

    hugo. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    The same :(
    #8
  10. andrewwightuk
    Offline

    andrewwightuk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 29, 2014]
    What are the benefits of doing this?
    #9
  11. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Oct 29, 2014]
    Quicker and the maps can zoom in to 0.5 of mile.
    #10
  12. andrewwightuk
    Offline

    andrewwightuk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 29, 2014]
    Nice! I think I'll give it a go. Cheers :)
    #11

Share This Page