1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-d Compass

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by ScottD3, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    I'm getting a bit bored of the odd issue with my RNS-d setup even though I am correcting them slowly.

    I was sat in the car park playing with the RNS unit the other and went to the compass view and noticed it was just spinning around.
    Not very fast but fat enough to watch it go from 0 degree all the way round and back to 0 again while I was at in the car park not moving.

    I've been trying to think what would cause it to do this and I can't think of any thing I have in the car, OEM and None OEM that would cause it to just spin.

    Any one seen this on a RNS unit of any sort or have any idea?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    Question is, what drives the compass, GPS? so I would check this & the location its fitted.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
    #2
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    The GPS signal does the compass?
    For some reason I always thought it had something built in.

    I'm getting good GPS signal.

    Attached Files:

    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    Oops, edited the comma, it was question tbh, I would unplug the antenna & see if compass is affected, what else can drive the compass on the car, my 1st thought would be gps & its the easiest thing to check & replace, where did you position it, I'm no gps specialist so don't know if surrounding electrics can affect only a subset of gps features, who knows, but hey no harm in testing/checking.
    #4
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    The aerial is placed under dash, behind the clocks on the metal bar there. Aerial has a magnetic base and secures this really nicely.
    I just moved the aerial out there and on dash. I'll try it out there for a couple of days. Everyone recommends it behind the dash so don't suspect it's but worth a go.

    I got two spare RNS-d units, so I'll strip the nav units out of them and try them over several days just on case this unit is a bit dodgy. I'm not convinced it's the unit as the last unit did the same thing but you never know.
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    For the record, I never fit it up behind the clocks.
    #6
  8. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    Where would you recommend?
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    Damn that's left open for pickings lol.

    If the B5 allows it, passenger vent, just to the right, its far enough away from most electronic systems, seems to be best there anyway from my tests.
    #8
  10. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 18, 2013]
    I was wondering which way you would have taken that question.

    That's where the air bag it. don't think that will work.

    I've had it on the dash and it made no difference apart from gaining 1 signal bar.
    I've got the original B5 aerial in the house. I'm going to try and wire that up and see what happens.
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 18, 2013]
    Well next would be change antenna, then if no good I would consider rns swap.

    So even when standing still the compass goes all funny? If so then stick it on a bench & see if it acts the same, incase a car system is causing some obscure reaction, remote I know but you have to take all these things out of the equation.
    #10
  12. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 18, 2013]
    Yup.

    I'll do a bench set up with one of my spare units and aerial and see what happens.
    I'll also try and get the standard aerial out of the loft and make sure I got all the cables and test that.
    #11
  13. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 19, 2013]
    Bout 0100 this morning I was awake and led there thinking about my compass and navigation.
    It dawned on me, the RNS-d has a cable in the back for reversing signal on the 26pin plug.
    I use this plug for the TMC and TV tuner and since this set up was fully removed from a A3 with all plugs and cables, maybe, somehow pin 17 on the 26pin plug (the reversing signal) is connected or intermittent and causing the unit to think I'm going backwards, hence the issue I'm having.

    By about 0200 I wanted to get up and take a look but thought better of it, so now I'm sat in work itching to get out and take a look but sadly I left my radio keys at home or I would be.

    To make sure I'm not completely mad, I double checked the cable pinout and came across the old Navi site which led me to this post.
    My navi plus thinks I'm driving in reverse all the time? | Audi Forum

    It would appear its the reversing cable.

    Thats my thinking and my task for this evening.
    #12
  14. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    Checked the cable and it was unplugged.

    With the unit out I thought i'd update the firmware and fit the standard GPS aerial.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For some reason this has fixed my TMC source issue.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The compass appears to be facing the correct way.

    I really should have checked on my GALA cable while it was all out.
    #13
  15. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    NHN, bit of information that I forgot about.
    I bench tested one of my other units and if you rotate the RNS it rotates the compass. Its nothing to do with the aerial.
    #14
  16. INNERGROOVE
    Offline

    INNERGROOVE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    Hi i read this thread i have a similar issue in that my compass is about 90 degrees out, the maps show where i have been (about 4 mins ago) not where i am going. I have checked the antenna and the signal is ok it says out of 31 satellites it can find 7 etc but for some reason it doesnt update itself quick enough. I have updated the software but can't seem to get any joy just got this off Ebay and am getting fed up with it as i have basically paid to get radio stations which i already had!! any help would be gratefully appreciated.


    Cheers
    #15
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    There is a 26 pin socket on the back of the RNS-d unit.
    Do you have a plug with any cables in there?

    You need to make sure you got a speed signal going in to Pin 5 on that socket.
    #16
  18. INNERGROOVE
    Offline

    INNERGROOVE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 2, 2014]

    Cheers Scott, i am not sure as a guy hooked it up for me however i shall check-if it hasn't already got a connection what signal should be going to pin 5-would this be one off the loom or from the antenna?

    Cheers
    #17
  19. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    It should be coming from the gala speed signal that should already be in the black plug on the unit.
    #18
  20. INNERGROOVE
    Offline

    INNERGROOVE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    great stuff- sorry to sound thick but does that mean a connection needs to be made from the black gala plug to pin 5 on the 26 pin?
    #19
  21. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    Pin 4 from the black plug to pin 5 on the 26 pin plug.
    #20
  22. INNERGROOVE
    Offline

    INNERGROOVE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 3, 2014]
    Thanks Scott will give that a try hopefully it will solve it! appreciate your help, don't suppose you know where i can buy another 26 pin loom do you?

    Cheers

    Wayne
    #21

Share This Page