1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rewiring Bluetooth Mic for RNS-E and SDS hack

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Nickl, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. Nickl
    Offline

    Nickl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    Does anyone have a guide for rewiring the mic, have found a few threads that tell me where the wires need to go (from back of RNS-E to the bottom of the A pillar behind the glovebox i think?), but nothing telling how to remove the glovebox etc. Also does anyone have a link to the ISO needed for burning the CD for the SDS hack?

    Cheers,

    Nick
    #1
  2. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    When i wired in my mic i first took the courtesy light off so i could get access to the mic holder, put the mic in place and pushed the wire through the passenger side of the roof liner. then opened the passenger door and reached into the side of the roof liner and got the end of the wire.
    the glove box is really easy to remove, just get an 8mm bolt remover with a ratchet and take out the 3 bolts inside the glove box at the top and 2 under the passenger footwell. there is one more on the side of the glove box which you need to remove the side panel to get to it. once all 6 have been removed it will come off.
    the A pillar just prises off with a little pull, i just took one edge off and pulled the wire down the side of the pillar to the opening of where the glove box is, and finally took the wire to the back of the unit. its easy to do! only takes about 15 minutes including the removal of the glove box.
    #2
  3. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    remember not to unplug the glovebox cable when you remove it, or you will need vcds to reset the airbag light
    #3
  4. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    yes good point, i didn't disconnect any wires and just left the glove box hanging in the passenger footwell... you could always put something underneath it to keep it up and not pull on the wire.
    #4
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    #5
  6. Nickl
    Offline

    Nickl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    wow thanks, pretty sure that's everything I need to know cheers :)

    Am I right in thinking if I already have a mic I need to somehow connect the new wires from the back of the RNS-E to the middle of the existing mic wire at the bottom of the A pillar? And that there's two wires there one for + one for -?
    #6
  7. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    In my car i already had the smaller round mic in the light console on the right side (mic for BOSE?), but there is a space for the square type mic on the left of the round mic (middle of light unit)
    i installed the mic into the middle space and ran the wires up to the left of it where there is a small space that the wire can run through.
    bit hard to explain but makes sense when you are looking at it.
    #7
  8. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried a search? This has been covered many many times.
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?49656-SDS-mic-cable
    #8
  9. Nickl
    Offline

    Nickl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did yea, typed in SDS and nothing showed up... seems the search isn't too great :( found a few threads on google to, but seems to be quite a few different ways of achieving it!

    Have just installed the SDS hack, everything seems to have worked was originally speaking in german but have managed to change to english :) Am I correct in thinking that I won't be able to use phone commands now until i've wired the RNS-e to the mic? As the GSM bluetooth doesn't appear to hear me anymore, i'm hoping this is right :)
    #9
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    You'll need to do some coding changes, for SDS to work properly. But you are correct, you can no longer talk to the bluetooth module. All commands go to the RNSe. If you have voice tags on your phonebook, these will no longer work. You have to manually recreate each entry in the RNSe (under names I think) and add a voice tag. A royal pain in the ....
    #10

Share This Page