1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

REVO vs AMD stage 1 what ya reckon?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Joeeey, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. Joeeey
    Offline

    Joeeey S3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    Stage 1 is on the cards very soon, just wondering... REVO or AMD. What peoples opinions are and if anyone has dealt with both?

    also I heard that when you do the remap you need to be upgrading the diverter valve?

    Cheers guys! :icon_thumright:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. Tay
    Offline

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    What about APR or Shark?
    #2
  4. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    Firstly the DV.

    If your car has a Rev D valve,then you don't need an uprated DV.

    As for remaps,all of the current favourites such as AMD,Revo,Shark and APR,will provide roughly the same power at each stage,but may feel different in use.

    I have Revo on mine,but I can also say that the backup and service from AMD is second to none.....they will set it up on your car,get it working to your liking,and look after you once it's running.
    #3
  5. Ben S3 8P3
    Offline

    Ben S3 8P3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    Could you give me a lesson in upgrading DV's with mapping please S3 Alex or anyone else. Is this something you have to do with Stage 1? I hadn't heard about having to do this for this for stage 1, cheers
    #4
  6. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    The original DV on the S3 8P was prone to splitting and losing boost on remapped cars.

    The later Rev D valve is similar in design to aftermarket valves such as the forge and is much better in that respect.

    This has a picture of a Rev D valve.

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...-did-they-make-revision-g-diverter-valve.html
    #5
    Ben S3 8P3 likes this.
  7. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    Alex - did AmD do your REVO mapping?
    #6
  8. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
  9. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    So do they still do REVO along with their own maps? (Sorry its a bit off topic)
    #8
  10. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    The last time I was there yes.
    #9
  11. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Apr 1, 2013]
    We're not too far from Rotherham if you want something a little above what the others offer :)

    Rick
    #10
  12. jimojameso
    Offline

    jimojameso Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 1, 2013]
    I had revo done at AMD. Very impressed with it.

    My mate has an S3 also. He started off with the AMD map and didn't like it so got them to put revo on it for him. He said the revo map was much better hence why i got AMD to do Revo for me. :)
    #11
  13. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 4, 2013]
    Did he say what he didn't like about AmD map? Just found out the car I'm buying - and was due to have REVO'd - already has AmD map on it.

    Seems a waste of money to re-remap! Am planning a stage 2+ ultimately, so would be the difference in AmD 2+ and REVO 2+
    #12
  14. jimojameso
    Offline

    jimojameso Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 4, 2013]
    My friend didn't get the figures he was expecting at a dyno day. He then got revo put on. Got better figures and said the car pulled much, much better.
    #13
  15. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 4, 2013]
    Assume AmD dyno'd it at the time (their rollers are generous...), do you know if it was massively down from what they originally said?

    Am hoping AmD will have a record of the rolling road print out for my new car
    #14
  16. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    [Apr 4, 2013]
    Not really that generous.

    When my car was first mapped(a while ago at Stg1),it initially barely made the claimed 260bhp before being done,and every time since it's been pretty much where it should be,with no wild figures being found.

    It also fits in pretty well with previous cars I've owned so my own opinion was that they're pretty close to being correct.
    #15
  17. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    I now have the option of whether to stick with AmD or switch to REVO for 'free'...... I made the deal on the car to include the REVO map, then they found out it had an AmD one on it already and asked me if I wanted it done still. Sales manager is saying that was the deal and they will honour it, but seems a bit of a waste. All they could offer me instead was a discount on the cambelt change (£200 inc) that the car needs in ~8m (Car is 4y 4m old with 65k miles so hasn't hit Audi recommended interval yet, but I;d get this done immediately if I took them up on this offer.)
    #16
  18. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    I'd see what the dyno figures from AMD were,and if they're in the ballpark of what the Revo map would offer,then you have a bit of a choice on your hands re the cambelt!
    #17
  19. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    Have asked Ben to see if they have a record of it. Nothing based on the registration on the computer, but Fontain have given him the previous owners details and they found a record of doing the map back in 2009. Hoping they'll have a record of the dyno. The other consideration is what is best at stage 2+. If I stick with AmD then I should qualify for £100 off a DSG remap (if I go for it) or get the AmD stage 2+ map at 50% off if I get a full Milltek from them. On the other hand REVO gives me the option of an SPS and also has a wider dealer network.
    #18
  20. Autograph Cars
    Offline

    Autograph Cars Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 6, 2013]
    I can't really comment on REVO as we don't do it, but as far as I know it generally does what it says on the tin! The main difference between the AmD maps and REVO are that REVO run more midrange boost giving more of a kick in the back when it starts pulling. I always think of the AmD stuff as a bit more 'grown up' if that makes sense? Much smoother power delivery and drives more like the factory setup.

    We are an AmD dealer but also have the facility to custom tune any of the AmD maps to suit the car, so if you want more midrange torque like the REVO maps, then we can give it to you. As far as Stage 2+ goes, all our Stage 2+ maps are custom done for each car because it's the only way to make sure each individual car is as it should be.

    If the car is an S-Tronic then we can also custom write a gearbox map to suit any shift requirements... Have a look at this for more info: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/volkswagen-other-vag/179361-autograph-cars-credit-where-%E2%80%99s-due.html
    #19
  21. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 7, 2013]
    Thanks, have looked at gearbox maps. What you did for that Golf sounds like what I'd want - there are a couple of things in the stock DSG gearbox remap that I didn't like the sound of.

    However you are a bit far away, as I'm in Essex - about 10 miles from AmD
    #20
  22. S3 syc
    Offline

    S3 syc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Apr 7, 2013]
    all this amd,s rollers are generous really is a myth mine has stage2 from amd and I've been to numerous rolling road days since and it always put out same power give or take 1 or 2 bhp.
    #21
  23. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 7, 2013]
    Have had a couple of my cars go on and all have come out with a higher max than on other rollers, so speaking purely from my own experience there.

    Also went to an R32OC RR day and almost everyone got higher numbers than expected, even the stock cars! Maybe they've been re calibrated since then?
    #22
  24. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    [Apr 7, 2013]
    I can only quote my own experiences and results which were right on the money so to speak.

    So much depends on things like air temp and so on that it can vary but if you get consistent results then you know which way you're going.
    #23
  25. ben@amdessex
    Offline

    ben@amdessex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Just to confirm, so there is no confusion. Autograph cars are not a dealer of ours "AmD Tuning/AmD Essex" and are not associated with us. We only have two dealers, one in Harrow and the other in Northampton.

    As for our dyno, we ran 5 standard cars just yesterday and they all made within a couple of horse power of the standard claimed outputs.
    #24
  26. elrao
    Online

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Wasn't meant to go off-topic, its all relative - if you dyno before and after a modification then the relative gain is real!

    Also not meant to be a dig at AmD as I've used them for a number of cars in the past and wouldn't be planning a 2+ upgrade there if I wasn't happy.

    Could also be that the other RR days I've been too have all been on the low side. To be fair the R32OC day was f***ing freezing!

    Interesting what you say about Autograph, as their website says "AmD Manchester" - official distributor for AmD Technik tuning products.

    Didn't realise that AmD Technik and AmD Essex were different entities, they have you down as one of their UK distributors like Autograph. So I assume its the same underlying map?
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
    #25
  27. ben@amdessex
    Offline

    ben@amdessex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Apr 9, 2013]
    Morning,

    Hopefully this will help clear up any confusion

    This dealer and any others mentioned on the Technik website are not associated with us (AmD Tuning/AmD Essex) in any way.
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
    #26

Share This Page