1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Revo Select Switch

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by julians, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. julians
    Offline

    julians Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if I had my car remapped with Revo, could I then go and buy any second hand revo select switch off ebay to enable me to turn it on/off, or does it need to be programmed specifically for my car?
    #1
  2. Stevie C
    Offline

    Stevie C Stevie C

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure! speak you carl - i got mine from ebay but have never used it!
    #2
  3. julians
    Offline

    julians Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought about asking revo, but I figured it could be considered a bit cheeky. A bit like finding a shop that sells something, but then asking if they know where I can get the same thing cheaper.

    You couldnt just go and try yours out could you?
    #3
  4. Stevie C
    Offline

    Stevie C Stevie C

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need to check it has the correct software on first otherwise i will be up shxt creak without a paddle and the guy in the A4???? who tried to give me a good push thru the lanes near chipping sodbury would surely get away!!!
    #4
  5. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    They're only £99 from Revo themselves - brand new. How much do they go on eBay for ? I suppose if you can get one for £20 or so its worth it. I'm pretty sure they are interchangeable so an eBay one would work. Why not ask around for a Revo member on here to try theirs on your car. You're welcome to try mine if you're near me.
    #5
  6. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes you can use one. The only limitation I am aware of is that the older ones had firmware which isn't compatible with some newer cars.

    I think I've lost mine so I'm gonna be having to buy another - Pah :banghead:
    #6
  7. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    REVO had an offer on Select switches a few weeks back.

    Select= £50
    Select Plus=£100
    Still havnt got around to ordering mine yet:think:
    Just wanted one for dealer visits.

    Paul
    #7
  8. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes I think it applies to purchases made within 28 days of the flash and is plus VAT as well IIRC.
    #8
  9. julians
    Offline

    julians Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know if that deal/offer is still available?
    #9
  10. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Should be but like I say I think you only have 28 days

    #10
  11. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    Pretty sure there is some `flexibility` on this offer.
    Other wise just buy one from e-bay.
    The full RRP from REVO is a bit of a piss take anyway IMO.

    cheers
    Paul
    #11
  12. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Speak to Peter at Prosport mate

    p
    #12
  13. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think that was in conjunction with a remap. As a standalone purchase they cost a lot more.
    #13
  14. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't buy an SPS, it won't work, has to be a select or select plus to work on an 8P A3.
    #14
  15. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's the ones with the rounded end.
    #15
  16. julians
    Offline

    julians Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    Yeah, but I think some one on here bought a select at the 28day discounted rate, beyond 28 days after date of remap. Im assuming a certain level of discretion is allowed. Besides, theres always ebay....if REVO dont want a sale!

    I was supposed to get a form sent in the post from my REVO dealer but it never arrived.:think:

    Assuming I dont need any more warranty work I would only use the select once every 12months or so.

    Would the same select swicth work for a MK5 Gti and my S3?

    Cheers
    Paul
    #17
  18. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    That doesn't look the same as mine ....
    #18
  19. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's a Select and not a Select Plus.

    But yes should work on an 8p as long as it has the correct firmware.
    #19

Share This Page