1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Revo Select switch & prep for Stage 2+

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by S3RYE, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys,

    basically im planning to go stage 2+ very soon. Unfortunately i have one of the cars with the dreaded misfire! After seeing Warrens mention of the TSB where Audi were building the engine with the wrong valve springs it got me worried.. I didnt want to get the car to Stage 2+ and it still happened..

    so i took the car to Audi and explained i knew about the TSB and that id like the problem sorted at which they responded "is your car mapped" :sos:

    So anyway i told them and straight away they were tryin to get out of it.. cut a long story short i gave them a full day of **** and then some friendly persuasion and they agreed they would sort the car out if i went back to stock... :( (including the "massive intake" as he put it)

    so now im trying to get a Revo Select switch so i can take the map off the car..

    can anyone clarify exactly how it works.. ive been on Revo website and i cant see anywhere to order a SPS unit and AmD tell me they dont sell them???:think:

    also... once i recieve the switch how does it work? do i plug it in and it just D/L's stage 1??

    sorry if im being a knob but i been trying to sort this out all day with no luck (amongst working) sort of... i just need this sorted cause the thought of driving round stock makes me :puke: + i cant wait any longer for any more Horses :drool:

    any help much appreciated as always! :thumbsup:
    #1
  2. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,061
    Likes Received:
    6
    For a quick fix get your local REVO agent to adjust the settings back to Zero so the car feels stock. Will do the job until you get a Select switch and can re-tweak the settings.


    good luck
    Paul
    #2
  3. IanS3
    Offline

    IanS3 Interweb creep

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's dead easy. It has a few pre set maps, one being stock. You simply plug it into the OBD2 port and it will put it back to stock. To put the performance map back on it's a case of setting the dial on the sps to your performance map position and plug it back in.
    #3
  4. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so where do I get it??
    #4
  5. IanS3
    Offline

    IanS3 Interweb creep

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any revo dealer should either have one or be able to get one for you.
    #5
  6. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting Amd said they can't get hold of one! Do awesome now do Revo? May ask them to mail to me! :huh:
    #6
  7. IanS3
    Offline

    IanS3 Interweb creep

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, Awesome are now revo dealers. I just got mine off my revo guy on Saturday!
    #7
  8. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers ian!! will let you know how i get on!
    #8
  9. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    cant beleive how hard they are to get... like rocking horse ****!
    #9
  10. IanS3
    Offline

    IanS3 Interweb creep

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you contacted Revo direct to see if they will sell you one?
    #10
  11. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, need to go to a direct delaer... AmD dont have any, Awesome dont have any and i called another dealer who also dont have any.. Awesome are getting back to me..

    i would have thought they would stock these.. although they have recently changed the unit.. there is no select plus anymore! £149+vat delivered ive been quoted.. whos your revo guy Ian??
    #11
  12. IanS3
    Offline

    IanS3 Interweb creep

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    My revo man is Steve at TripleH Motorsport......I got his last one! Give him a shout and he might be able to help you. He is on 0191 2669878 or 07711120884, and tell him I sent you!
    #12
  13. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,547
    Likes Received:
    23
  14. Brett Butler
    Offline

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phone around a few dealers, I just got one off Tutts of dorking, they only had one switch, (I had that one) but had a select Plus (all singing dancing one), that is the one that you have have it set to different maps settings, and just change the setting on the switch.

    It is easy to use, just turn on ignition, select the number on the switch, IE turn knob to 1 for stock, plug it in to the connector where you plug in lead for vagcom, wait for a change of tone cannot remember which way around, then just pull it out, you do not have to leave it in.
    #14
  15. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried that one... no longer do it.. has to be from dealer... :banghead:

    only thing is revo stopped selling these units now.. dont want support issues or anything..

    i just want a basic revo selct swicth and i need it asap! :blink:
    #15
  16. DeckedS3
    Online

    DeckedS3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm in Kent if that helps? I could meet you and set your map up to stock?
    #16
  17. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    decked that could be a real help! im gonna try once more today if i dont get no luck might have to come meet you.. maybe even get a feel of stage 2+ :eyebrows:
    #17
  18. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    right im gettin knowhere with this, suppliers basocally dont want to know unless you have your car tuned there? not naming anyone but FFS a sale is a sale..

    ok so Decked, if i was to come meet ya and go back to stock.. how would i get back to stage 1 once Audi have finished?? or is it a case of meet u again? which obv wouldnt be a problem!!

    i cannot beleive how hard they are to get hold of.. bit **** really.
    #18
  19. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    2
    RYE, have you tried REVO direct? Thats normally how you get them, as places like AMD and the like don't sell them. When I had my car mapped, I was given a card with my map details on, and had to send away to REVO to get my select switch.
    #19
  20. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is a REVO select plus switch on the classifieds. Is that any use?
    #20
  21. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh they told me to go to a revo dealer!
    #21
  22. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    havent seen it and cant find it! if its the one Boydie was selling i think its gone!!
    #22
  23. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    2
    #23
  24. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers james! it werent the right one for my car unfortunately! not to worry though.. just ordered one from JKM performance.. £185 inc Vat & delivery.. should be with me friday!!

    can finally get back to stock sort these valve springs out then get my Milli and off to AmD for Stage 2+ :yum::eyebrows:
    #24
  25. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am in Southminster if its not too late! I have SPS3.

    What is the issue with the engine and valve?
    #25
  26. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    typical!! too late now! all paid for.. :drag:

    i guess i would have prob needed my own one in the future anyway... cheers anyway pal!!
    #26
  27. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so got my switch.. in 24 hours from JKM Performance.. (thanks)

    just to clarify.. i need to get my car back to stock.. so am i right in saying i set the switch to stock mode (dial 1), plug it in and it will save my revo map on to performance A* (dial2), then obviously when im ready i just plug it in set on Dial2 and it will loap my map back on? i might be being really stupid here but i dont want to loose my map totally! :sadlike:
    #27
  28. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently your map is on, switch the unit to 1, plug it in, wait for the beeps = stock/standard
    #28
  29. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rye - The SPS/Select doesn't save your map onto it mate. The map stays on the car the whole time, but the switch adjusts the B/F/Tsettings.

    So select 'stock' (which is effectively B0/F0/T0 IIRC) on the switch and plug into the OBD.
    Then switch the ignition on (dont start engine).
    You will here it beep a tone and when (after anything between straight away and 40 secs) you hear the tone change you will know the settings have been adjusted.
    Then you just switch ignition off and remove the switch.

    Then when you want to put the settings back on you just do the same having selected A/B/C as you wish. This works the same for the anti-theft feature.

    I have Select + and you can preset what the settings are using a laptop, but if you didnt get the adjustable one, the settings for A B C should be in the instructions - but I would imagine A is the correct one for Stage 1 performance.
    #29
  30. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers guys.. im a bit of a simpleton sometimes haha!
    #30
  31. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a quick point mate, I was under the impression the incorrect valves were fitted to early S3 engines such as Warren's, are you sure it's the same fault?
    #31
  32. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I thought! But Audi technician said my car may well be affected! I feckin hope not! What shall I do? Don't really wanna start takin bits off for no reason:ermm:
    #32
  33. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd have a check with Warren mate, I wouldn't want them to start ripping my engine to bits without being sure. Plus if it's not that they may not be so willing to carry out further diagnostic work.
    #33
  34. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi,

    I've searched high and low for the technical service bulletin on t'internet and cannot find it anywhere. Seems to have mysteriously vanished.

    During the search the only similar document I was able to find was this (PDF download): LINK.

    Supposedly there are a batch of cars with the wrong colour springs in them, mine NOT being one of them. My hesitation is supposedly caused by modifications (according to Audi), so after ignoring them I'm having the fuelling system checked when it goes in for a clutch.

    Apologies, memory is too poor to remember the in's and out's but I hope this gives you something more useful than fresh air.
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
    #34
  35. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers warren! I don't know what to do now... Any recommendations? I don't fancy audi taking the car apart finding the right valve springs then saying it's down to mods you have to pay for rebuild :crying:
    #35
  36. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're always more useful than fresh air Warren :yes:

    Well it only says MY09 but who knows!
    #36
  37. S3RYE
    Offline

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna leave it then. Maybe the milli will sort it out, hopefully!
    #37
  38. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    11
    Unless your stuck in a lift with a fart :yum:

    Staz I've put a link to this in the read this first sticky at the op of the A3(8P) section.
    #38
  39. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's a tough one mate but this may be your only opportunity to get them to do any diagnostic work for you gratis. I'm still trying to decide whether to take my Evoms out so they can have a look at my idling problem :shrug:

    :fart:

    I saw mate :icon_thumright:
    #39

Share This Page