1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Revo remap on 2.0Tdi DSG

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by mikep, Nov 23, 2005.

  1. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK heres' the griff after yesterday's session at Revo.

    I tested first production map for the 2.0Tdi DSG with Mitchell from Revo yesterday, he then made a couple of adjustments which removed the hole in the midrange and really smoothed out the lower end. This has the effect of removing the 'driveline shunt' effect from the gearbox. Basically its very smooth and much more tractable. It felt like my old manual PD150 Golf with the stage 2 remap.

    We took the car to Stealth Racing for 3 RR runs, apart from problems with the gearbox not wanting to shift if the handbrake was on everything went smoothly. The car made 187.7bhp @ 3843 rpm and 293.9lb ft @ 3010 rpm, the three runs were virtually identical and the curves are very smooth. (I'll post them once they're scanned).

    Revo have a PD140 Gof which makes 203 bhp and 317lb ft, but the curves look like the North Face of the Eiger, so the next piece of work is to take the settings from my car apply them to the Golf and then adjust the fuelling up by 2mg/sec and see if the curves come out as smooth. If so that will become the Stage 2 map, which should give 200bhp and 300lb ft.

    I now have a car which is very smooth, the DSG work beautifully and still does 50+mpg even when given some stick. Yup I'm happy!
    #1
  2. SideShowBob
    Offline

    SideShowBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice results, must be a whole bunch quicker!!
    Good news about the fuel consumption too, best of all worlds then really.

    Edited to remove last question, already answered in the 0-100 thread.
    #2
  3. beaker
    Offline

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any info on pricing?

    How long does the remap take?

    And is yours a quattro? If not, how do the front wheels take to the increase in torque?
    #3
  4. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    The remap is £499 + vat and with the new SPP units it takes 203 seconds!

    The new SPP programming units should be going out to the dealers early next week.
    #4
  5. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3

    Mike,

    What was your car making stock? I hear most are making mid 150's?

    J.
    #5
  6. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    We didn't test the car in std tune, lack of time I'm afraid. But as you say most PD140s make at least 150bhp.
    #6
  7. d3fy
    Offline

    d3fy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1
    And the 2.0T petrol Mike...?
    #7
  8. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    The 2.0T makes 260bhp and 300lb ft in Stage 1 tune.
    #8
  9. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have they finally released it then...?
    #9
  10. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    They will be out with the dealers next week. Ther new SPP programming boxes are being packaged for shipping now. The new SPSs have been programmed to switch old and new stuff, there's been a huge amount of work done to prepare for this. But the Revo new hardware works in both CAN-Bus and serial modes.

    There are about a dozen new codes for the 2.0T and TDi, manual and DSG, covering the A3, Golf, Altea and Octavia. The Leon stuff will follow on shortly.

    It's taken a while, but its certainly been worth the wait. The new dealer software is much better and quicker to upload to the ecu. And it's all switchable, as its Revo! (Quick plug there!)
    #10
  11. imported_Skywalker
    Online

    imported_Skywalker Guest

    [ QUOTE ]
    The 2.0T makes 260bhp and 300lb ft in Stage 1 tune.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Bloody hell! Might have to get me some of that!!!
    #11
  12. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already have and its bloody good (not Revo though)

    MikeP had to laugh as you said the same thing (about it being released next week) last week... and its still not. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bang.gif

    I dont doubt Revo's ability having used their code before but they really have fannied around getting this finished. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush2.gif
    #12
  13. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cupramax, totally agree about the 'ready soon' release date, but hey I've seen the new stuff and got the new code on the car, so I'm confident. The lack of an offering has cost a lot in lost business but no-one else offers switchable code on these engines.
    #13
  14. LUGGY
    Offline

    LUGGY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    mike p tell me more whats it like out on the road?? i have a dragon tuning box on mine and find the torque impressive however the top end flattens off very quickly,is it worth me going for this??
    #14
  15. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    The car feels much more lively and flexible with the DSG, pickup is better than the Steinbauer box I tested earlier this year, even though that gave a slightly higher torque figure.

    I also find that the shift pattern is easier to predict and less likely to catch you out going into corners.

    If you can get a good price for the Dragon box on ebay, then go for it. But I would say that wouldn't I?
    #15
  16. LUGGY
    Offline

    LUGGY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks mate,think im gonna go for it let me know when you get it in stock and ill come up there
    #16
  17. beaker
    Offline

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about the traction on the front wheels? Is the warning light going mental on the dash when you pull away?
    #17
  18. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Luggs, I'll pm you when I've got the kit here.

    beaker, its much smoother than my old PD150 Golf with the Revo stage 2 remap. Not much evidence of the TCS light.

    The 2 stage remaps will be available to anyone with an SPS1.
    #18
  19. johnmv55
    Offline

    johnmv55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    I already have and its bloody good (not Revo though)

    MikeP had to laugh as you said the same thing (about it being released next week) last week... and its still not. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bang.gif

    I dont doubt Revo's ability having used their code before but they really have fannied around getting this finished. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush2.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep, agree, "next week" I was told this last week, will they tell me next week again next week or will it be the week after next week???
    I'm going to give up and go AMD, there must be something wrong for it to be held up week after week afterzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/sleep.gif
    #19
  20. d3fy
    Offline

    d3fy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1
    2 hunderd and 60 little ponys trotting along, I think I might go for it next July when the insurance comes up for renewal.
    #20
  21. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here's the link to the RR graphs from the session on Tuesday.

    www.pragmatik-ict.co.uk/audi.cms

    Sorry they're hard to read but I've already published the figures, we're just showing how the torque and power is delivered across the range.

    We felt good smooth curves would be better than headline figures, the guys at Revo are still working to increase the bhp and torque figures, whilst keeping the curves smooth.
    #21
  22. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking good, am tempted to pop into Stealth at some point so I can compare what my LCR did with the new A3. On second thoughts they haven't got 4wd RR have they...
    #22
  23. Eeef
    Offline

    Eeef Lord of War

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    phwoar!!!! Smooth as a babies ass!!!

    VagPower has just quoted me £586.33..... Ouch
    #23
  24. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    Looking good, am tempted to pop into Stealth at some point so I can compare what my LCR did with the new A3. On second thoughts they haven't got 4wd RR have they...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Not a problem, they just take the Haldex fuse out and run it 2WD, they were testing an S3 there just before they tested my car.
    #24
  25. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    phwoar!!!! Smooth as a babies ass!!!

    VagPower has just quoted me £586.33..... Ouch

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's the price!
    #25
  26. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Not a problem, they just take the Haldex fuse out and run it 2WD, they were testing an S3 there just before they tested my car.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Aha, forgot about that little trick. Hope it works with the Haldex2 on the new A3's.... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/devil.gif
    #26
  27. Eeef
    Offline

    Eeef Lord of War

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Not a problem, they just take the Haldex fuse out and run it 2WD, they were testing an S3 there just before they tested my car.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Aha, forgot about that little trick. Hope it works with the Haldex2 on the new A3's.... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/devil.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You'll soon find out /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    Vroom
    Crash
    Bugger

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cry.gif
    #27
  28. little_wing
    Offline

    little_wing Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes - let us know how that goes /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #28
  29. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    I quickly took Mikes tdi out today, as some of you know I had a tdi S-Line and did 12k miles in it over 6 odd months, and it turns an already nice car into a really, really nice car.

    Main things to note, I always had the impression that Revo was a little peaky in their remaps, but this really is not the case, it is very smooth, in fact I will go as far to say that Mikes car felt smoother than my stock car but also alot quicker. Now some of that may be newer DSG software, but it felt great, didn't get as much lag at the start and it just keeps pulling, ran out of road at around 90 I think it was but it was still going strong.

    Anyway it has made my mind up to have my A6 tdi revo'd, very, very impressive.
    I had my ML270cdi and BMW 320d remapped by superchips and done a few miles in a 130bhp A4 done by AMD so I know what to expect from the other guys.
    #29
  30. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Guy, I'm glad you liked it!
    #30
  31. beaker
    Offline

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens when you sell it if you've had a remap? I know its switchable but would most people here revert back to stock settings, or advertise the fact that its been remapped?

    What would a dealer think when trading in?

    I remember a dealer at Glasgow Audi trying to sell me a TDI that had been superchipped when I was looking. He mentioned it as an added 'feature'. I didn't know that Audi endorsed this sort of thing.
    #31
  32. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    It depends where I advertised it.

    This is what I put in my add for our ML....

    [ QUOTE ]
    Superchiped - If the buyer would like the car to have its ECU re-mappped by Superchips I will pay for this, this would give the ML 36bhp more, and an increase in excess of 120 nm at 1700rpm.
    The cost of this upgrade is £511+ depending on dealer location, so it would be worth taking me up on this offer.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Obviously I had already had it done, but has added benifits putting the above.
    #32
  33. cosmicblue
    Offline

    cosmicblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the REVO upgrade for the TDi DSG comes on one of those stick like devices that enables you to swap back to stock code for dealer visits then?
    #33
  34. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    No the map has to be uploaded by a dealer, its not on the SPS unit. The SPS unit just alows you to switch between stock and performance...
    #34
  35. cosmicblue
    Offline

    cosmicblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    No the map has to be uploaded by a dealer, its not on the SPS unit. The SPS unit just alows you to switch between stock and performance...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I understand now...thanks
    #35

Share This Page