1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reversing Sensors - Graphic Display?

Discussion in 'A5/S5/RS5 Forum' started by mpc, May 26, 2013.

  1. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 26, 2013]
    Hello,
    My friends Audi A5 does not have the graphic display like I have seen on some other Audi's - is this something that I could get on mine with a software update or something or is it a completely different system?
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 26, 2013]
    tell us the year of the car and as long as its factory fitted (ie MOST & canbus) then providing your module supports graphic display then it can be enabled with vcds.

    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 26, 2013]
    Welcome to the forum.

    As denoted, all comes down to the systems fitted already, if it can be made to work, only one way to find out tbh & that's login with vcds & see if module 10 will allow this facility.
    #3
  5. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 27, 2013]
    It's a 2009 A5 quattro with loads of extras and has the MMI system.
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 27, 2013]
    As advised, login with vcds to see what options you have.
    #5
  7. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 27, 2013]
    Please excuse my ignorance but what exactly do you mean by "login with vcds"? Is that something I can do myself or do I need professional help?
    #6
  8. SL11CKK
    Offline

    SL11CKK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 27, 2013]
    You need to buy VCDS diagnostic cable to allow you to do a bit of tinkering. You could buy one or find somebody who has the lead.
    #7
  9. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 27, 2013]
    Ah ok, like the following?


    I'm presuming that the 11-11-3 is a newer version of the cable/software than the 10-6-4? Is this correct? What is the latest version available, what is a reasonable price to pay?

    Thanks
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2013
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 27, 2013]
    Those are fake, counterfeit illegal cables & are not allowed on the site, your post will be edited.
    #9
  11. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 27, 2013]
    OK, so help me out here!! - i'm a newbie - please point me in the right direction....
    #10
  12. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [May 27, 2013]
    Also the cheap copy cables allow you to see some fault codes etc not everything and they don't allow you to make changes to any settings. Correct ?
    #11
  13. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 27, 2013]
    As you don't state your location we can't suggest a user.
    #12
  14. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 27, 2013]
    Sorry, I'm north east England - Nr Middlesbrough
    #13
  15. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 27, 2013]
    Send a PM to jb0o.
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 27, 2013]
    You can ask an owner of vcds to look for you or consider purchasing a genuine version of which I sell :)
    #15
  17. mpc
    Offline

    mpc Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 27, 2013]
    How much are you selling them for? Do you also supply the software?
    #16
  18. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,182
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    [May 27, 2013]
    Please pm NHN directly for prices. :) x
    #17
  19. sheebs
    Offline

    sheebs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2013]
    Hey i have a 2008 audi a5 with the audi symphony system, it has the full colour screen but doesnt show a display either any idea if it can be activated. dont know anyone with the cables and software and cant afford to buy them at the moment
    #18
  20. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 28, 2013]
    I'm pretty sure Concert/Symph can't have them enabled, but I'm guessing theres no harm in trying with VCDS.
    #19
  21. FinnMc1
    Offline

    FinnMc1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2013]
    What exactly am I looking for when trying to activate this with VCDS, just going to have a look now, is it in long coding?
    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 29, 2013]
    Optical Illustrative tick boxes, normally the pdc module is enabled & maybe in your head unit.
    #21
  23. FinnMc1
    Offline

    FinnMc1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2013]
    I found something with that name in the long coding but when I tried to enable it the standard codes entered by VCDS didn't enable the change. Any additional access codes I can try on that??
    #22
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 29, 2013]
    If it wouldn't accept or allow the coding change then its more than likely not possible with current setup.
    #23
  25. FinnMc1
    Offline

    FinnMc1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2013]
    It let me check the box to select it and close the helper it just seemed that the access codes down the bottom when I tried to save it weren't accepted for some reason. Ill have another look in awhile, but ye likely its just not possible I guess, thanks
    #24
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 29, 2013]
    Its possible, just maybe not with your current setup.
    #25

Share This Page