1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reverse Camera

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by 1wheelonly, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    It is an LED type light but not very intense white - actually closer in colour to the original number plate lights but marginally whiter.
    You can't change the camera number plate light as it's a sealed unit and the LED's are soldered onto a circuit board.
    Also note that the light is about half the size of the original and the camera does shed a shadow on part of the number plate - you can see the the diiference in light colours in the daylight pictures above.
    #81
  2. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    Thanks for that woorlord, might have to look at the reverse camera that fits in a parking sensor hole now, i like my led number plate lights. Cheers
    #82
  3. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    I have seen this Audi A6 number plate camera which maintains the full light which looks like it takes a standard bulb - or your own LED solution.
    Downside is the expense - £102 for the unit!
    The other problem is comaptibility - looks like the OEM lights are different from A4 to A6. I think the later "new" A6/2005 may be compatible with later A4's - i.e. A4 "8E-3-385 001 >>" are same as A6 "4F-5-000 001 >>".
    #83
    Mike.M likes this.
  4. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    #84
  5. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    i meant interface not adaptor
    #85
  6. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Feb 2, 2011]

    A bumper mounted camera is going to spoil those nice lines at the back and give you a straight out view - more like a rear view mirror view. The number plate light camera's point down giving a better view to assist you in parking. Nuimber plate light cameras are nice and discreet - see from the pictures previously posted.

    Multimedia interfaces, (as already mentioned in thread #27) are readily available from Ebay or Kufatec. Mine is from Poland off Ebay like this one. I made my own "Auto Video switch box" as documented above.
    #86
  7. null
    Offline

    null New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    I installed my camera - which looks identical to the one in pictures.

    Basicly there is a loom that is going into tail light. I cut the red/blue wire and spliced it with red wire that came pre cut from the power connector. then I cut the brown thicker wire and spliced it with black from from cam power cable connector.

    I connected the video to Navi - but its not turning on.

    Also - I noticed that led is very dimly on when key is turned to II and it doesn't matter if I'm in reverse or even if cable is attached to red cam cable, led stays on with Key II but it is pretty dimly lit.

    Then when I turn on the lights - license plate light lights up and cam Led lights up very brightly.

    Can anyone help? It's a b7 US. Also I suspect my navi is PAL and cam in NTSC..

    Happy Holidays! Please advice if any clues?
    #87
  8. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    Test the connections and camera......
    1. Test the power feed to the camera - use a DVM (Digital Volt meter) - should read 12v when reverse selected.
    2. Hook up the camera to a monitor (TV with AV input) - could use a very long video cable to do this. Do you get a picture when reverse selected? (Alternatively take camera out of car and test in house with TV AV input to check camera working 100%)
    3. PAL/NTSC is handled by your Audio/Video Multimedia interface between your camera and RNS-E, nothing to do with the RNS-E. The RNS-E simply takes a component RGB signal. Your Home TV may be able to confirm the signal source type if it can handle NTSC/PAL etc. and displays the decoded video signal. My Pioneer plasma is multi standard and shows this when the signal is first selected or fed to the panel.
    #88
  9. A4 TC
    Offline

    A4 TC 1.8T quattro sline

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 25, 2011]
    I've had this done to my motor ! But I don't have RNSE ! instead I've gone for the TFT rear view mirror !

    [​IMG]

    Worked out at about £80 for parts and labour !
    #89
  10. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    I have just ordered the bits and pieces to do this myself to my B7. I have an RNS-E from the factory (had the car since new) with bluetooth, nav, 6-stacker in the glovebox, but no ipod or TV.

    I have coming;

    1) a multimedia interface
    2) iphone/ipad video/audio/usb adapter cable
    3) iphone dock extension cable
    4) will order the camera, about to confirm correct size

    Woorlord, I plan to implement your auto-switcher for reverse camera (nice work btw). from your wiring diagram it looks like you are using the 12v from reverse (lights?) to switch the relay, that is all good, but are you jumping that same 12v feed into the RNS-E to have it auto-display the camera ("TV"), because this is not shown on the diagram. If you are, which connector on the RNS-E is this, and is it labelled? (I've not had my RNS-E out of the car yet)


    cheers
    Ben
    #90
  11. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    My Reverse camera is fed off the reverse light power feed in the boot.

    With regards to a Reverse Signal for the RNS-E, this I already had at the front near the Engine ECU/Tiptronic Gearbox ECU as this fed the Auto-Dimming Rear View Mirror - so just extended this from the right a-pillar to the back of the RNS-E into the RVSL (C2) pin.
    #91
  12. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    So is the reverse signal that needs to feed to the RNS-E the output from the gearbox, and is this something different to the 12v from the reverse lights? I understnad in your case you had the mirror setup so you used that, I'm just trying to understand if there is a difference between the 12v that feeds to reverse lights and the reverse signal from the gearbox?

    I have the auto-dimming mirror also (factory)
    #92
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,348
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    Afaik you dont need reverse wire to switch to the tv input, there's a coding you can enable to do this on the rns-e:

    A004,0,Rear View CameraA
    004,5,Rear View Camera
    A004,6,0 = Rear View Camera not installed
    A004,7,1 = Rear View Camera (Lamborghini) installed
    A004,8,2 = Rear View Camera (DDP/RNS-E HIGH) installed
    A004,9,3 = Rear View Camera (BAP/RNS-E PU) installed
    #93
  14. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    The RVSL signal is a switched 12 Volt signal, so same as that which goes to the reversing light bulbs.

    You have a B7 so the Auto Dimming Mirror does not use the reverse signal fed to it - you have a manual switch to turn dimming function on/off but additionally your mirror feeds a light sensor signal to the power control unit for Auto lights and Coming home lights. My mirror does not have a switch, but when the car goes in reverse it will switch off the auto-dimming function automatically.

    Try what NHN says first - I'm sure I tried it on mine and had to add the RVSL wire - mine is a B6 so B7 may not need it?
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2012
    #94
  15. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    Thanks for that, will post back after install.
    #95
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,348
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    I guess if it didnt work on a B6 I dont hold out for B7 that much as same basic car tbh, as they're base network is kline, maybe it needs a can car to work on, as can on these cars is a subsystem for only certain modules, but I dont know if enabling this option auto monitors other systems for a reverse signal, guess anyone with rns & B6/7 can do this with vcds & advise.
    #96
  17. ASHIHARA
    Offline

    ASHIHARA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    You need to add RVSL wire and to code it,i have done the same for me;didn`t work only with the coding.
    #97
  18. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 8, 2012]
    Well I got all the parts I need, just waiting for the iphone video adapter.

    The multimedia interface I got is an "ERA" one , and to my surprise it has a second input for the reverse camera, and REV12V+ IN (from reverse lights) and 12V+OUT (to RNS-E) so I don't have to build an automatic reverse-camera switcher - score!

    I connected it all up including a video in source (a STB outside the car) and the reverse camera, and after going into the on-screen menu of the ERA unit with its "mode" button and telling it that there was a reverse camera connected, everything works - it shows the TV input on the RNS-E when I select TV, and if I feed the ERA REV12V+ "IN" wire a 12v signal then the video out from the ERA switches to the reverse camera and hence of course changes on the RNS-E, awesome. Essentially this ERA unit has Woorlord's switching box built-in.

    I have two issues though;

    1) the REV12V+ "in" on the RNS-E (pin C-2) has no pin installed of course, is this an Audi part that I can get or should I just use a generic terminal that fits? The plastic connector is there as some other pins are in use, its just missing the crimp terminal for C-2. Is this a really really small male repair wire?

    2) I tested by powering the ERA and camera with a stand-alone battery. I cannot for the life of me find a 12v feed which is accessory switched. The usual suspects like cigarette lighter fuse, radio fuse etc, are all on permanently (yes I locked the car, and waited, they are permanent on). I could find some that are ignition "ON" switched (like wipers/washers), but I really want it to be wired properly and be "on" when "accessory" is on. This is to power the ERA multimedia interface and also provision for iPhone charging (USB adapter). I have the factory glove-box 6-stack CD player, and I thought I had naled the pinout on that for 12v and GND, but using those to power the ERA made the CD player behave weirdly.... Anyone have any tips for a 12v accessory-switched circuit? This the last of the B7's (built Nov 2007).

    I have not connected anything to RNS-E C-2 yet - dont know yet if the RNS-E will auto-switch to TV when reverse is selected.
    #98
  19. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    I could not find switched accessory circuit on the fuse panel. Now I have installed a fused relay, tapped into permanent live for the relay, and switched the relay with D13 from the RNS-E, seems to be working fine. Just need to to sort out the C-2 pin issue now....
    #99
  20. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2012]
    This weekend I installed the reverse camera, after much stuffing around getting the boot release plastic thigo out, I finally figured it out, a bit of dremel to make room for the connectors and the camera went in fairly fine, but now the DIS is whinging that the number plate light is out......can I fix this somehow, or program it with a VAG? otherwise I'm thinking I need to wire in the bulb that I removed to make the current draw sufficient to stop the DIS from complaining. Thoughts?
  21. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Sep 23, 2012]
    Sounds like the new light is an LED, to stop the bulb failure warning complaining you need to add a resistor in parallel with the LED that draws enough current to make the DIS think that a normal bulb is fitted.
  22. SL11CKK
    Offline

    SL11CKK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 6, 2012]
    Thats strange because on mines it complains about numberplate bulb when both are toasted however when one is toasted it doesn't complain.
  23. Modena
    Offline

    Modena New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 14, 2012]
    I have it all done now, have the camera auto-switching when in reverse, DIS error is gone (resistor), and videos are playing nicely. VIM hack is next I suppose! Thanks all for your assistance.
  24. Grant Farrow
    Offline

    Grant Farrow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2012]
    Hi Has anyone done this mod on an a3/s3? I have a 2012 S3 with the standard sat nav head unit with ipod adaptor in the glove box. Does anyone know what parts I would need? Is it just the camera?
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,348
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    [Oct 24, 2012]
    Yes, you'd need a media adapter, wiring, cam & coding.
  26. Grant Farrow
    Offline

    Grant Farrow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2012]
  27. Grant Farrow
    Offline

    Grant Farrow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2012]
    thanks NHN do you have any part numbers for them? I have found the cameras everyone talks about on ebay but they say they are only for A3 upto 2009. Is there different ones for the newer models or would they still work?
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,348
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    [Oct 24, 2012]
    Do some research mate on the forum, as all the info is readily available, just spend some time reading & learning please.
  29. MATP1
    Offline

    MATP1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2012]
    Hi

    Is there anyone that can fit a reverse camera set up for me?... I have a standard RNS-E unit already, but need all the other gubbins, adaptors, software etc..... It would be going in a 2000 Allroad 2.7T AUTO TIP :)
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,348
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    [Nov 21, 2012]
    Yeah wing me a PM with your location, should be ok mate.
  31. Rick_RS4
    Offline

    Rick_RS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    what coding did you use? i cant get mint to auto switch to cam

Share This Page