1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reverse Camera

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Oddie, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 24, 2012]
    Afternoon all.

    I was bored last week and decided to buy myself a reverse camera. Fitted it over the weekend and I have to say I am massively impressed ! It was a bit of a pain to route the cables from the trunk to the nav but apart from that it was straight forward.

    I opted for a Sony CCD 520 TVL camera, the quality of the image is brilliant !

    Just thought i would let you all know :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 25, 2014]

  3. D2NY G
    Offline

    D2NY G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Sep 24, 2012]
    get some pics n that on lad :)
    #2
  4. Macdoon
    Online

    Macdoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    311
    [Sep 24, 2012]
    Ditto on the pics.... camera fitted and also an image, cheers
    #3
  5. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    Sorry fellas, didn't get chance to take any pictures with this miserable weather ! Once i get chance i will get the pictures uploaded. The quality of the camera has been superb even with this horrible rain, the camera doesn't seem to get any water on it at all. Probably because of the shape of the bootlid just covering the camera.
    #4
  6. D2NY G
    Offline

    D2NY G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    sweet, wat headunit are u using to have a reverse cam? been looking at ones on ebay oem look so i can watch dvds n that
    #5
  7. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    #6
  8. D2NY G
    Offline

    D2NY G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    yehman, thats a funky unit :)
    #7
  9. matthew999
    Offline

    matthew999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    That stereo looks pretty decent. Does it work with mfsw? You got any issues? Thanks in advance, matt
    #8
  10. RAW Audi
    Offline

    RAW Audi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    Hi mate
    I'm gonna do this mod in the near future, which route did you use for the cables to the head unit?
    cheers....Rik.
    #9
  11. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    528
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    have you got details of your somebody
    i may try 1 before i fit a RNS-E
    #10
  12. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    Matthew, the unit works really well with the MFSW. Only slight issue is that for some reason my clocks do not display any track information anymore but that doesn't bother me at all. Really happy with it. Bluetooth quality is really good as well.

    Raw Audi, the camera i purchased is one that goes into one of the number plate light holders. I just run the wires to the bottom of the bootlid, through the grommet into the body of the car inside the boot, and then from there i ran them underneath the rear bench and then hidden it underneath the passenger side trim. Behind the glovebox and then into the headunit. Quite straight forward really, few little niggly bits.

    Bez, google iceboxauto. They are based in Liverpool and supplied my unit miles cheaper than the one i linked earlier on, nice guys to deal with as well
    #11
  13. RAW Audi
    Offline

    RAW Audi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 25, 2012]
    Hi Oddie
    thanks for the reply.
    Cheers.....Rik
    #12
  14. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    369
    [Sep 26, 2012]
    Thanks. I've just ordered a similar camera from e-bay, if it works it'll be a nice addition to the new HU I'm getting this week, if not ..it didn't cost the earth. :)
    #13
  15. lenti
    Offline

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 26, 2012]
    Wich price can you fix it for us, when you say much cheaper? i got an Dynavin unit but maybe i change to this one :D
    #14
  16. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Sep 26, 2012]
    That's because, AFAIK, there is no third party radio that generates the messages on the Infotainment CAN bus to make the information appear on the DIS - which is how it gets there from the Audi OEM radios and RNS-E.
    #15
  17. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    528
  18. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 26, 2012]
    Bez, thats a completely different unit, this is the unit i got from iceboxauto

    2 Din DVD/GPS Player For Audi A4 (DVB-T Optional) | eBay

    I got it from them even cheaper than that. I went and picked it up. If you are interested i am sure they will do you a deal.

    Petrol Dave, that is what i was told RE the information on the DIS. I fitted this exact unit for a friend on his 2004 A3 and his displays the information on the MFD ! Only difference was that his car used a different wiring loom to mine, his was the older ISO style plugs.
    #17
  19. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    528
    [Sep 26, 2012]
    right i thought yours had the dvb-t aswell
    ill give them a call
    #18
  20. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 26, 2012]
    No mate, that is an optional extra on the units. It wasn't dear at all for the extra DVB-T antenna, i just wasn't sure how much i would use it. For an overall cost of around £350 I have got a double din unit that does sat nav (which is fantastic by the way), bluetooth phone, iPod connectivity, DVD player, USB input, Auxiliary input, SD Card input, Radio, CD player, Rear camera..

    Really happy with mine.
    #19
  21. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Sep 27, 2012]
    Would that be an 8L A3, not an 8P A3?
    #20
  22. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 28, 2012]
    Not entirely sure Dave to be honest, it is a 2004 vehicle.
    #21
  23. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    369
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Had mine fitted & it certainly comes in handy when parking in tight spots! A word of warning for anybody buying the type that's powered by the reverse light bulb ...be prepared to fit a suppressor to the +\- feeds to neutralise any striping caused by interference.

    View attachment 7499
    #22
  24. Rastamouse
    Offline

    Rastamouse Welsh Audi Nut

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    What type of suppressor did you use? I fitted a camera in mine ,image is fine if engine isnt running, but as soon as i start the engine the image becomes all strippy and wavvy!
    #23
  25. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    369
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    Mine displayed the same thing, perfect with the engine off, stripey & jumping when started up.

    As much as I dislike Halfrauds, they came through on this one! I tried Maplins first, but they just looked at me like I was E.T.

    It's quite big for its purpose, so you'll probably need to cable tie it down! fit it between the cam & its power\earth connections. Good Luck.
    #24
  26. Oddie
    Offline

    Oddie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    I didn't need to wire mine into the reverse lights at all. I think that is down to the head unit though because on the back of the HU I have two wires which are for rear connectivity, i had to connect these together which essentially tells the car that i have a rear cam or parking sensors installed. The unit then automatically switches to the cam/parking sensors when reverse is engaged. I just needed a live, ground and the video jack for my camera.
    #25
  27. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    369
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    :thumbsup:

    Mine also has a second video input, but on the '09 A3 at least, the reverse light is the only place to guarantee a live feed to power the cam when needed ...and it turns out it's "dirty".
    #26
  28. Rastamouse
    Offline

    Rastamouse Welsh Audi Nut

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    Artimus, got a suppressor from halfrauds today.did you just wire it in to the cam live and earth before it connect to the reverse light feed? And did it matter which way round it was wired?
    #27
  29. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    369
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    Pretty much, yes... Positive between the cam + & reverse light, Negative between cam - & boot lid (which is earthed).

    The 4 leads on mine were labeled - read HU\Radio\Audio (can't remember exactly) as Camera & Input as Reverse Light\Boot Lid. I'm not sure if it will work backwards, but if it doesn't you probably have it wrong.
    #28
  30. Rastamouse
    Offline

    Rastamouse Welsh Audi Nut

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Oct 14, 2012]
    Suppressor fitted, works a treat, only issue now is to sort out the camera to come on when i select reverse, ran a feed from the reverse light to connect up to the back of the stereo only to find out that the wire for the rear cam sensor is missing! Never straight forward is it😠
    #29
  31. nicktoone
    Offline

    nicktoone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2013]
    Hi Oddie - I have the same unit on my car but the sound always has a muted symbol when reverse parking. Is it supposed to 'beep' when getting too close. (I bought with it already fitted)

    Thanks pal
    #30
  32. yorkster001
    Offline

    yorkster001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Sorry to re-hash an old thread but just doing this mod myself and need some clarification. Is there a reverse light power feed accessible in the dash area or do you need to run power from the reverse light back to the head unit to allow it to detect reverse?
    #31
  33. Rastamouse
    Offline

    Rastamouse Welsh Audi Nut

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    I took the power for my camera from the reverse light feed so it will only power up when reverse is selected,then ran the aux cable and reverse sensor cable through from the back along the sill and up to behind the head unit, my head unit is a kenwood dnx 7220 which has rear camera output in it, so it was just a case of plugging it in and changing a few settings in the head unit menu.
    Hope this helps
    #32

Share This Page