1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reverse camera into B7 A4 - Done!

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Issac Hunt, May 18, 2008.

  1. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2008]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. andyccr
    Offline

    andyccr 2003 1.8T Sport Ebony Black A4 Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2008]
    I hope the handle on my cabriolet is the same........... Have got a Kenwood camera that will fit that handle nicely unless the Audi one is cheap ???

    Nice write up and I agree that getting the cables through the original grommets is a pain in the arse
    #2
  4. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2008]
    I just went for the Audi camera to keep things simple and OEM. I think it was about £100.
    #3
  5. Rajiya_ne_Oudi
    Offline

    Rajiya_ne_Oudi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2008]
    Fantastic mod well done and great write up just wondered will this work on my 2006 RNSE
    #4
  6. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2008]
    Yes as long as your running the latest software version. 0550 should be OK, 0650 will defintely work as thats what I have installed.
    #5
  7. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    477
    [May 18, 2008]
    Top job, good write up too :hi:
    #6
  8. chasdrury
    Offline

    chasdrury Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 19, 2008]
    Great Mod... Will the new handle work on a B6 saloon, do we think?

    Also, with the IMA plus, can I have 2x AV inputs and the reversing camera, or one and reversing camera?

    Chas
    #7
  9. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    I imagine it will fit a B6, could defintley be modded to fit if it didnt.

    The IMA+ can run 2x AV devices in addition to the camera.
    #8
  10. chasdrury
    Offline

    chasdrury Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 19, 2008]
    Cool - at the moment I have a Dietz 1417 with a PS2 connected. The video goes through a Dietz splitter to the rear screens. What I would want to end up with is the IMA+ for the reversing camera and PS2 and eventually the homedock deluxe for ipod integration - the RNSe can control the homedock, can't it??

    Oh, and finally does it come up as AV1 & 2 therefore on the source selection?
    #9
  11. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    Yes the IMA+ gives full control of the homedock through the RNS-E buttons.

    Not sure how it comes as AV1 AV2 etc as I only have the homedock and the reverse camera. I imagine that would be the case though.
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 19, 2008]
    Man thats cool, nice write up Isaac, have to check my parts guy about if thats a generic camera for audi's as want that on my 8p a3 but also thinking about an a4 now aswell.
    #11
  13. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    Its the camera from the A6/Q7. I changed from an A3 to my current A4 - havent regretted the change for a single moment!
    #12
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 19, 2008]
    Really, so the a4 is nice on the 2ltr without 4wd then, hows the corners/roundabouts?

    I had the S4 B6 avant & miss that, but I certainly dont miss the damn mpg thats for sure, lol, really thinking about the A4 3ltr quattro tdi to buy which is a B7 with everything I want & also I can retro the others it hasnt got which is almost nothing.

    Camera sounds good for her even if it has got front/rear pdc, lol, lol, anything to help her parking is a bonus, maybe fat metal bumpers would help.
    #13
  15. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    It handles nicely enough for me. I didnt want the extra expense/complication of Quattro. I dont drive anywhere near the cars limits on the road so its perfect for me. I had it Bluefinned for a little more overtaking/motorway power.

    Its certainly not 'fast' by any means, but I have my bike and track days for speed so its not a problem for me.
    #14
  16. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    Do you know if that handle will fit an 8P A3?
    #15
  17. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    Well after sitting in my mates 08 S3 and sitting in my 05 a4 I can defo say the A4 feels nicer to be in.
    #16
  18. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    I 'think' it might as I recall seeing the A6 camera fitted to an A3.
    #17
  19. selecta11
    Offline

    selecta11 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2009]
    Hi, I don't know if anyone can help, but I've just installed a reverse camera on my A4, which is connected via my TV Tuner AV input 1 which all links to the RNS-e.

    The picture from the camera is great when you manually select AV1 on the head unit, but if I connect the reverse signal wire to the RSFL connection at the back of the RNS'e, select reverse the camera picture appears, but the picture is all stretched and distorted.

    It's a real pain as the picture stays like that until you reboot the the RNS-e even if you select the standard TV Tuner channel.

    The firmware is 0600, all settings are PAL, tried looking through VAG-COM but couldn't find anything obvious.

    Can anybody help please!!!
    #18
  20. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    I thought you had to use the Kufatec IMA+ to get it all working properly. Could be wrong though.
    #19
  21. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    just did a dry run on mine and it was ok, im just using a mini camera ive got hanging around, doesnt the firmware have to be 650.
    #20
  22. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    You dont say what camera your trying to use?

    Could be confusion between PAL signals (tuner) and NTSC signals (camera)?

    Might not be a simple fix as this was never a factory option.

    Going to 0650 software is certainly worth a try though, but I thought you only needed to be above 0550 for the auto-switch to work.
    #21
  23. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    SW600, just checked on navplus
    #22
  24. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    johns3
    i have another problem as i have only one av input to the rns-e, im running a seperate dvd player and have a splitter, one to the rns-e and two to the headrests, disconnected the ps2 ( kids dont really use it much ) which was running through the dvd player on the line in, therefore i just selected on the dvd player what i wanted to veiw. nicked the ps2 feed for the camera which is fine but obviously connecting to the RSFL for auto switching causes me a problem, it is showing the dvd screen unless i select line in to get cam pic.
    do you think i could split the signal going into the ima which would display the cam providing the dvd was off.
    does this make sense mate.
    #23
  25. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 18, 2009]

    Quality Job mate !! Lovin your work !


    :arco: :salute: :thumbsup: :respekt:


    How much for everything then ? I have the RNS-E and think it would be a perfect mod for the wife to have in the car so it doesn't get pranged ! LOL

    Obviously, all the Audi bits are purchased from Audi or another VAG specialist

    Kufatech ones purchased from their website ??

    Do you know if it would be possible to activate the screen to default onto the camera when reverse gear is selected, using the same signal switch that the rear parking sensors use ??
    #24

Share This Page