1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofitting rnse

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Mav190sline, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. Mav190sline
    Offline

    Mav190sline Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 31, 2012]
    As above, I will be doing this at the weekend. I have all the parts required but have read that it will need coding using vcds. Would I be able to do it myself using vcds lite or will I have to get it done elsewhere. I will be changing from single to double din. Any tips or feedback would be much appreciated. Car is a4 avant b6 sline

    Many thanks

    Mark
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Nov 1, 2012]
    You won't be able to code via VCDS Lite. The unit only really needs coding to activate certain features such as Bluetooth, CD Changer, AUX etc and depending on what car the RNS-E was previously installed into will determine the coding that already exists.

    You should be able to fit the RNS-E and to actually use the unit as your normally would, but say if you find your Bluetooth or CD-Changer isn't working, its because of the coding of the RNS-E.

    The Single to Double Din conversion isn't too bad, just don't be too rough when taking out the old cage, and focus more on the positioning of the cage rather than brute force to remove it.. generally twisting whilst pulling is the best way to remove the cage.

    Good luck.
    #2
  4. Mav190sline
    Offline

    Mav190sline Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 1, 2012]
    Thanks jb. All advice taken onboard. Will let you know how I get on
    #3
  5. deek19790
    Offline

    deek19790 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2012]
    HI mate,

    if you anywhere near london i know someone who has a vcd module who would be happy to help.

    d
    #4
  6. Mav190sline
    Offline

    Mav190sline Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 1, 2012]
    Thanks d. Am in Surrey so not to far. Will install at the weekend and see what happens. Don't have Bluetooth or 6 disc changer so may be ok. Will let u know. Thanks for your input

    Mark
    #5
  7. deek19790
    Offline

    deek19790 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2012]
    Hi mate,

    No problems mate, I'm gonna change my unit to rns-e soon, this weekend im changing speakers to Jl audio as recommended by andmac.

    D
    #6

Share This Page