1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofitting OEM A3/S3 TPMS sensors on RS3

Discussion in 'RS3 Forum' started by wickedstef, May 1, 2013.

  1. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 1, 2013]
    To anyone who may know or sell this,

    - Would you know why this car was sold without TPMS?
    - Could the OEM system for A3/S3 be retrofitted and the On-Board computer reconfigured to deal with them?

    Cheers

    Stephane
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    198
    [May 1, 2013]
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #2
    wickedstef likes this.
  4. dbm
    Offline

    dbm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    116
    [May 1, 2013]
    Is there a way to find out which ABS module a car has? VagCom again perhaps?
    #3
  5. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [May 1, 2013]
    Bingo!

    Or you could remove the battery and find the ABS module behind it.
    #4
  6. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 1, 2013]
    Thank you Cruiser89, I'll watch the video. I'd think dbm and I won't be the only one interested.

    I'm really curious to know if they didn't do it because of something going badly wrong...
    #5
  7. dbm
    Offline

    dbm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    116
    [May 1, 2013]
    I guess the question is - if your TPM activates how do you then reset it? Retrofit the button?

    ETA: answered my own question be following the link to thread above - handled through the DIS.
    #6
  8. P_G
    Offline

    P_G Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    65
    [May 1, 2013]
    Having had TPMS on the RS4 for 5 years I have to say I never used it. It was more a PITA when you had tyres changed or wheels refurbed in having to reset it when it thought either the sensor wasn't working or it was registering a flat because yhe wheels and sensors had been taken out of sensor range.
    #7
  9. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 1, 2013]
    I get your point P_G. I come from a Megane RS 225 and the Renault's system is excellent. It will do the check each time you start the car and will tell you when a tyre requires a pressure adjustment. It will also clearly differentiate between a puncture/faulty valve and just a tyre needing readjustment. The VAG version is quite odd...

    Watched the video, now the question is, are we running the right ABS module. If they have fitted a different one, then this must be the explanation.

    Cheers guys
    #8
  10. P_G
    Offline

    P_G Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    65
    [May 1, 2013]
    If it were the Megane on or one where you could see actually pressures then I agree it is worth having but the Audi system is IMO naff and for the price of the valves plus sensors (£85 per wheel)if you have the right ABS module just to let you know if it needs inflating or is flat, money better spent elsewhere.
    #9
  11. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 2, 2013]
    The 8P A3/S3/RS3(?) version of TPMS is completely different to the B7 A4/S4/RS4 version.

    The 8P version is based purely on difference in rotational speed of the wheels (which is why it needs the right ABS module), there are no pressure sensors in the wheels - so it cannot display wheel pressures.

    The B7 version is totally separate from the ABS and uses pressure sensors in each wheel. The reason that doesn't display pressures for each wheel is purely down to sloppy programming of the DIS by Audi - the information IS available in the TPMS control module and can be seen using VCDS.
    #10
  12. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 2, 2013]
    £85 per wheel is quite pricey indeed. The issue is that I've had a quick look at the aftermarket ones and they are huge and cover the original valves. Then you have to add some wireless monitor in the car, but at least you get actual readings...

    I had a few puncture on the Megane and although it was frustrating, it was good to know immediately as most of the time, I could save the tyre by not driving on it more than necessary.
    #11
  13. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 3, 2013]
    Take a look at the TyrePal, I've had one of them in my daily drive (a Citroen C1!) for nearly 18 months and it's been 100% reliable so far - comes in really handy when I've got the Summer wheels on as they have 40 profile tyres.

    See TyrePal TD1000 – car & light van TPMS | www.tyrepal.co.uk for a 4 wheel 60psi max system for £165.
    #12
  14. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 3, 2013]
    Thank you PetrolDave. These are very similar to the ones I was referring to.

    Does it look big/out of place when fitted?
    #13
  15. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 4, 2013]
    I don't think so, I've got it mounted on a Brodit phone mount, and it's certainly not as big as e.g. a Galaxy S4!
    #14
  16. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 4, 2013]
    Sorry I wasn't clear enough, I was talking about the sensors themselves :)
    #15
  17. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 5, 2013]
    OK, sorry.

    They're about 2cm round and a bit less deep - even on the tiny (14") OE wheels on the C1 they don't look massive (and they're held on with a grub screw to make them less likely to fall target to the "light fingered" mob, I've had them on for 18 months now with no problems).
    #16
  18. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 5, 2013]
    Ok, thank you :)
    #17
  19. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 6, 2013]
    Well I knew I need this... Got a slow puncture fixed today. Glad they weren't enjoying the bank holiday. It must have been going on for some time. Had between 20 and 30psi in the rear right tyre. Pumped it yesterday to 40, went down to 38 overnight. They found a long nice nail.

    With sensors I would have know from the very moment this happened.
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
    #18
  20. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [May 6, 2013]
    Get it retrofitted, will cost you less than any other after-market option.
    #19
  21. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 6, 2013]
    I'll probably do this jb0o as soon as I find out if the ABS module is compatible. My fear is that they didn't fit the RS3 with sensors because they changed the module...
    #20
  22. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 7, 2013]
    See my earlier post - the TPMS on the 8P does NOT use wheel pressure sensors, it simply uses the existing ABS wheel speed sensors to measure the wheel speeds, and if one wheel is spinning faster than the others (due to reduced radius) it assumes that reduced radius is due to loss of pressure in the tyre and reports that as a low pressure fault.

    Hence why you need to have a TPMS compatible ABS module...

    See the Ross-Tech wiki page for the 8P Audi A3/S3 & A3 Cabriolet (8P) - Ross-Tech Wiki where under ABS modules it says:
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
    #21
  23. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 8, 2013]
    Hi PetrolDave,

    I got that. I misused the word sensor, but I did mention the ABS module being compatible as a requirement. :)
    #22
  24. Veneeringman
    Online

    Veneeringman Bazinga VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    550
    [May 20, 2013]
    It does work if you've the right ABS module, see my contribution on the above thread I've even posted pictures of it working on my 61 plate S3 if you follow the instructions and have VCDS you can't go wrong.
    #23
  25. wickedstef
    Offline

    wickedstef Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 21, 2013]
    Hi Veneeringman,

    Thank you. I still need to find the info about the ABS module. I'll see that when i get the brakes fixed.
    #24
  26. jmcnamee98
    Offline

    jmcnamee98 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Hi I have enabled TPMS and the reset via the DIS I have the 1AT ABS controller that is supposed to be able to support TPMS but I cannot code the module even via long coding helper on a 61 plate RS3 is anyone able to help with coding for the brake electronics please?

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg
    #25
  27. Veneeringman
    Online

    Veneeringman Bazinga VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    550
    [Mar 28, 2014]
    Cannot be done on the RS3 with Vag-com I'm afraid (I've tried several different things and nothing worked)
    #26
  28. jmcnamee98
    Offline

    jmcnamee98 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 6, 2014]
    Seems it cannot be done by Audi either a friendly dealer requested an SVM code for me and factory came back saying module was not compatible. Seems strange given you could have TPMS on an A3 S3 TT & TTRS have you got anywhere with the TTRS ABS module?
    #27
  29. Veneeringman
    Online

    Veneeringman Bazinga VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    550
    [Aug 6, 2014]
    Erm nope. Nothing doing I'm afraid. I use the visual and weekly check of tyre pressures.
    #28
  30. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Aug 6, 2014]
    I enabled it on my 2011 S3 inc HHA

    I get the same SVM results as you on my 2012 RS3. My Abs Module and Coding are identical to yours.
    #29
  31. Veneeringman
    Online

    Veneeringman Bazinga VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    550
    [Aug 7, 2014]
    The more Audi do this the less useful Vag-Com will become.

    A shame really as since I've owned the RS 3 I've suffered 2 flat tyres and once you drive on them in that state they are rendered useless.

    It's sometimes difficult with the fronts, especially at 8.5j 255/30 to visually spot any problems as a loss of 10-15 psi can ruin the sidewall.
    #30

Share This Page