1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofitting coming home lights uptodate information

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by imy2k, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. imy2k

    imy2k New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [HR][/HR]Alittle late yes but i tried the coming light mod by earthing pin 12 from block E . Set everything up on VCDs and no luck just a fault coming concerning the light sensor . Am i out dated and does my car this sensor in order too make the function work? My car is a 2004 A3 thanks all :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hmm weird I have this function installed, did the same no problem. I don't even have a light sensor. Have you done a search for the guide? There is a lad who put a guide up and was spot on with the instructions.
     
    mozza1202 likes this.
  4. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    37
    What I also found was, before screwing down the earthing wire, tap it on the earthed point, when it's activated it was light up your headlights. Tap it again and switch off the function. That should be a good test for you.

    Here is the link btw
    http://audiretrofit.quinlivan.net/cominghomelights
     
  5. JS3

    JS3 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can you code this without installing the repair wire first?

    This should tell you if the code is accepted.
     
  6. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    55
    No need to ground the wire. As Andy has said, tap the end of wire to activate and deactivate. When not in use, use some electrical tape to wrap around the exposed wire to ensure it does not accidentally swith it off.
     
  7. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,266
    Likes Received:
    604
    I always just code the car first then put in the wire and tap on a grounding point to activate, once done I remove the wire
     
  8. JS3

    JS3 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ah so are you saying the wire only needs grounding once to turn it 'on'. And then you tap it on ground again to turn it off?

    So in theory, if I coded, tapped ground, I could then leave it turned on forever more?
     
  9. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,266
    Likes Received:
    604
    yep!
     

Share This Page