1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofitted xenons help needed

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by chrisa4quat, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just wired in my xenons (which have been fitted weeks) I have changed the coding etc but I'm having a problem with bulb warning light on one setting or no flash on the other setting. Can anyone assist me please?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    Anyone? Bulb warning light is doing my head in
     
  4. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter TeamMisano quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19,230
    Likes Received:
    3,636
    Maybe you could pm nigel, user (NHN) he is very knowledgeable on these thngs. He may be able to advise you.
     
  5. 50k

    50k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    10
    Did you manage to sort it??
     
  6. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    Not yet. My high beam works on halogen coding but only with dip be on not sidelights or no lights. Bulb warning on. Or I can get no bulb warning light on no beam on dip lights and dip lights flashing as beam with no lights
     
  7. DTM-Edition

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you wire them up? I know they have different pin counts kufatec.de do a direct fit loom if that helps
     
  8. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    I wired them up with a supplied loom. Maybe it's naff. Maybe I need a control unit. I don't really know
     
  9. lenti

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    id id retro fit mine from halogen to bixenon,
    so what youre saying is. When you have the High beam does not work and you get a warning?
    if it is that then you have connected them wrong, or coded them wrong. the 2 small yeallow pins must be connected rigth for the highbeam to work. and also the code must be right.
    use this code and dont change the thre first codes in VAG

    Euro Headlights & DRL
    Module 09 (Central Electrical), recode to ###21


    i think the origininal code for the halogen is 01012

    If u have the code 21 then the lights work but if not the hight beam then you have connected the small yeallow pins wrong. i did it to after changing it it worked like a charm :D
     
    #8 lenti, Feb 17, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  10. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    My high beam works with dip beam on but not with side lights or
    Lights off. You can hear the lids opening but no light output
     
  11. lenti

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wich code did you use on VAG Rosstech?
    maybe it is something wrong with the kufatec cable?
     
  12. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    I don't know If the cable is Kufatec? I have tried all sorts of coding. It is actually coded with halogens at present cos works best that way - confused
     
  13. lenti

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    i wouldnt use halogen code wioth xenon you can brick ure headlights. beacuse xenons need more power than halogen and i think it is dangerous to use the halogen code on xenon but im not sure.
    Try the code i told you in the end with ###21, if that does not work then its something wrong with the lights or the kufatec cable
     
  14. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    The lights seem to work fine. Maybe the wiring. I tried the right coding and high beam does not work on dip beam. And dip beam flashed as high beam when lights off
     
  15. lenti

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
  16. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    It came with the lights
     
  17. lenti

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    if ure using the code ###21 and that does not fix this, then something is wrong with the connections, or you did connect the 2 small cables that needs to be connected under the steering wheel wrong.
     
  18. chrisa4quat

    chrisa4quat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    11
    The coding doesn't work. I connected them to pins 16 & 18 from memory
     
  19. lenti

    lenti Sixth Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    You need to code them so that the car uses them as Xenons and not halogen, you can destroy the lights and also the electrical system in ure car if you do not change the codes.
     
  20. SinghB7

    SinghB7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    39
    i'm having problems with my coding, when I come to change the code from halogens to xenon it dosn't save. I am using the write code, changing from halogen to ***21 xenon code.
     

Share This Page