1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofit Rear Parking Sensors?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ryanstewart9, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. dramirez
    Offline

    dramirez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    here you go!
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Ground, positive & a signal wire, obviously shared pins which overall if you looked inside a pre shared pin module the internal pcb circuits are probably linked, so no difference whatsoever IMHO, its all about the pdc module version & most likely other related modules/parts eg. gateway & sensor types
  3. Navisace
    Offline

    Navisace Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi guys
    been following this thread for a while now
    i have bought a a3 s line rear bumper with sensors
    i have wired up the sensors using a loom from an a6 sensor loom 4fo 971 085
    i have also used a module from A6 4fo 910 283 f

    the connect is up and working but i get a fault on vag com saying no signal communication from module could this be because i am using a6 module

    any help would be most helpful

    all items work as i have tried them on the a6

    cheers nav
  4. Navisace
    Offline

    Navisace Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Address 76: Park Assist Labels: 4Fx-910-283.lbl
    Control Module Part Number: 4F0 910 283 F HW: 4F0 919 283 F
    Component and/or Version: Parkhilfe 4-Kan H09 0060
    Software Coding: 0001106
    Work Shop Code: WSC 12345 123 12345
    2 Faults Found:

    00456 - Control Module for Access and Start Control (J518)
    004 - No Signal/Communication
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01100100
    Fault Priority: 4
    Fault Frequency: 7
    Reset counter: 29
    Mileage: 122311 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2010.03.28
    Time: 11:50:02

    00576 - Terminal 15
    008 - Implausible Signal
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101000
    Fault Priority: 3
    Fault Frequency: 7
    Reset counter: 29
    Mileage: 122311 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2010.03.28
    Time: 11:50:02

    this is vag com faults
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yes, why would you use a module from an A6 on an A3, unless etka specifically shows it as used across a number of chassis then certainly I wouldnt of done this.

    Its looking for a possible module on the car that related to access & starting of the car, this may have some link to KESSY, but without checking further, which considering you're trying to fit A6 parts to an A3, then I wouldnt advise any further forward with this module, gte an A3/TT/R8 module, these share platforms, but do your research.
  6. Navisace
    Offline

    Navisace Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks for the quick reply

    so basically i need to find a module with 8p0 coding?

    anyone know of one

    would a golf mk5 work i wonder..............?
  7. crunchie
    Offline

    crunchie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    63
    you guys can have the ones off mine, they are as annoying as anything!
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Sorry, but no disrespect & I'm not being condescending, but I just kindly advised to use of a A3/TT/R8 & then you start asking if a MK5 would be good, after putting on an A6 version that now is faulty, can you see how that could be read as a little silly.

    MK5 does share some parts, but given your already wasted time & money, maybe using 8P parts is your best bet.
  9. Navisace
    Offline

    Navisace Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    i was just thinking out aloud with the golf mk5 comment. shame why they make them all so different when one module could have done the job across the range

    most defo looking for a audi a3 module now

    if anyone knows of one for a good price give us a shout please.

    crunchie................ why are they annoying and if you really want to get rid then i won't say no :salute:
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    So was I, lmfao
  11. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    i found this one with the part number 8p0 919 475 D, but it also has the part number 8p0 919 475 A below it, it must mean that its been replaced by D, but what got me wondering before i buy it, when i look at others on the ebay it only comes with the 1 part number, so why has this unit got 2 numbers? also the price is 44 euros plus 20 euros p&p, worth it or too expensive?
    [​IMG]
  12. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    also how on earth do you resize the images to fit nicely on the screen, photos seems to be too big?
  13. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    IIRC it will be REV D hardware & REV A software.
  14. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    sorry little confussed , so is this the latest one? or should i buy one with just the 8p0 919 475 D ONLY on it?
  15. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    looking at ETKA, a REV D supports front and Rear sensors up to 2009 (PR -7X2). Are you planning to do the front too?
  16. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    na mate just the rears, i got the sensors in (wel it came with the bumper i upgraded) but the wire plug was cutted off, so made the loom/plug using ELASWIN, i knew i need the control unit 8p0 919 475 D according to EKTA, but what got me little confussed was that some unit just had 1 part number on ebay and this one was little cheaper in price but it had 2 part numbers
  17. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh just realised that i need 8p0 919 283 d, not 8p0 919 475 D
  18. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    mine is 8P0 919 283 A and works fine. I guess if you stick to a 283 and try to get the latest rev which is a D you will be fine.
  19. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks buddy
  20. Navisace
    Offline

    Navisace Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    does anyone know how much it is for a new module from the stealership.
    i have been loking for ages with no luck

    nav
  21. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    not sure but there always a few on german ebay ie www.ebay.de

    try a search for Audi a3 PDC
  22. Navisace
    Offline

    Navisace Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    just ordered one from ebay.fe

    hopefully it will arrive soon plus it did stste that it was a D
  23. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    i have just bought an S line rear bumper with the holes and brackets in it for the PDC, if i was to get the correct parts could someone fit it in for me as i dont have VCDS or Elsawin?
    Thanks

    Ash
  24. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
  25. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've specced front and rear PDC on mine. Will post part numbers and codings when the car arrives in June.
  26. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    And some pics of the rnse screen showing the parking graphics
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Depends where you are & why not buy vcds & get elsawin anyway with all these things you wnaned fitting mate, those 2 things would be almost small change lol

    Thats not oem kit, its the reverse wire kit that audi sell, doenst integrate with car as much.
  28. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    i am looking to get a VCDS next month, but since i am still new to this i am still a little unsure of all the wiring described in this thread. I would love to have parking sensors as i have had it on all my previous cars and i dont want to damage my lovely A3 :)

    I am near to Dartford in Kent but would not mind travelling to someone who can do a good job for me.

    I am going to try to install the Cruise and MFSW myself so once this is out of the way i will be a bit more confident, but i got lost reading through this thread on the wiring up of the PDC onto control modules... still not sure where they are or how they work so would want to learn while someone experienced (like nigel) can install it and i can see how it all works:ninja:
  29. machomanrandysavage
    Offline

    machomanrandysavage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    Docklands Audi are quoting £399 to fit rear parking sensors to my A3 Black Edition, painted, all done, inc VAT

    For a lazy, non-expert, does this sound like a decent deal?

    cheers
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    No, cause thats the cheapo reverse wire kit, you can buy those kits from ebay for £20.
  31. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Cheers. Is a shame the old version of RNS-E doesn't support it also. TBH, I reckon is more of a software than hardware issue.
  32. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    wiring into the convienence module was just temp for purpose of testing. I've got my finger out & laid out the correct wires LOL
  33. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    little advise guys got my module today i did order the 8p0 919 283 d module but got 8p0 919 283 module without the "D" in the end,
    so what differnce does it make if i got the one with the "D" in the end,

    going to see if the seller does swap it for me but his in germany and wondering if its worth the trouble
  34. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    D was the latest revision of the original module before they started changing it. If your just using it for standard rear parking sensors then it will be fine.
  35. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    one last question before i start insatlling it, is the 2 power cables,
    the loom i got from "kufatec" has wording on it, one says "sc 18" and the other says "sc 8"
    now looking at elawin its says for my 2004 year car that
    sc 18 goes to fuse 18 on the side of the drivers fuse box and
    sc 8 goes to fuse 8
    is that how you wired it too?
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Just follow what elsa says for your car mate, not ours & you'll be fine.
  37. dramirez
    Offline

    dramirez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you please elaborate a little more NHN? 8P0054630A shows in ETKA as being replaced by 8P7054630 which includes the 8E0054635D controller... is your comment related to the older controller? Does the 8P0054630A kit have communications over the CAN bus with the Data Bus on Board Diagnostic Interface (J533)? Thanks for your help!
  38. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Dealers dont generally fit the factory fit pdc systems, they fit the £20 kits you can buy of ebay that are activated of the reverse light wire when engaged, so it doesnt have any canbus connections or integration with the car systems in any shape or form, purely when in reverse which signals the kit to work & has a buzzer that beeps based on the sensors detection area.

    The factory fit kits have canbus/kline etc connections with integration into the dis on some newer cars that also enable control of the volume & tone pitch, latest actually work inconjunction with the nav monitor if other systems/modules are installed/coded for aswell.
  39. dramirez
    Offline

    dramirez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks NHN!, so what you are saying is basically this one is the "basic" version, even tough is listed as 8P0054630A?

    What about this one? Is this the real factory kit thing? Is also listed as 8P0054630A

    Or should I just order 8P7054630 from the dealer? (To have CAN bus interaction), I mean, clearly item number 6 is the cable between the controller (J446) and the CAN bus controller (J533)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks again for your help!
  40. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    Advise needed please regrading the power wires,

    managed to install the module / buzzer and fed the loom to the front of the car,

    now before i starting to take off the fuse box so that i could wire the 2 power cables, i thought let me check with a voltage checker if there is actully any power coming to empty fuse 8 and fuse 18(which elsawin states should go to) BUT there is no power to those 2 fuses slots,
    but checking the other spare slots there are some where there is power,

    so would it be ok to use another fuse slot instead of 8 and 18?

    cheers guys for all your help so far especilly the 2 geniuses NHN and KHUFA

Share This Page