1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofit Rear Parking Sensors?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ryanstewart9, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Or someone else with bigger balls, lmfao
    #41
  2. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30

    Sounds like your auditioning for Blue Peter...
    #42
  3. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    So the factory kit's buzzer comes through the stereo speakers then?
    #43
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    I dont think so, OEM doesn't. It has a buzzer mounted at the rear suspension mount turret.
    #44
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Ew is spot on, seperate little speaker
    #45
  6. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ah, now I understand why people complain about the weak sounding warning.

    I'm surprised they dont use a similar system to BMW where the stereo speakers are used, so you dont have to turn the stereo down to hear it.

    I would have thought this would have been easy for Audi to do with canbus.
    #46
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Its not a weak warning at all, you can set the loudness & different tone with the DIS dependent on cluster version or with vagcom.

    Its fairly loud overall but with my tunes on it is quiet, lol.

    & yes canbus, but we're talking audi & it is the bottom of the range car if you think about it, thats why proper mmi cars have it built into the car systems better.

    I wanna electronic brake in my A3, but I am not gonna get it, lol.
    #47
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Have you seen how it works? Its just an electric motor on the rear calipers (well on a passat that was in). No probs to you Mr N..
    #48
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Stop it, you know how I am with new tech, that would be a cool mod though on the 8P huh, lmao.................... Goes to hunt down a passat on ebay
    #49
  10. Brian566
    Offline

    Brian566 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi New Boy needs help
    Just joined I have a A3 2006 Sport back do you no before I remove the bumper are the hole for parking sensors marked at the rear

    I have read that they maybe
    #50
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Welcome to the site.

    They wernt marked when I did my oem install, also is it a sport or an sline?

    You need to measure or ask someone to measure the positions then use a 20-21mm holecutter, worked perfectly for me.
    #51
  12. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just removed mine yesterday, I saw 4 crosses ( + ) at the inside of the bumper, all at the same height (+/- 50 cm from the floor) I think these are the marks, just look for them
    #52
  13. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    Nige,

    I've been looking on ebay.de at the control units for the parking sensors. Now according to ETKA I need part number: 8P0 919 283 D, but will 8P0 919 283 work ok? Is the D just an updated version?
    #53
  14. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
  15. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    #55
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Put into etka the part number without the D on end & it should show if it supersede's to the D or not, it may go A, B, C & then D or even newer, but if it goes to D along the way then you know its compatible, but need to get the correct sensors for that module aswell as they have changed a little over the years in size & technicalities as in some are now park steering assist aswell which you dont want as relies on other expensive parts aswell, the version that steers for you.

    Nah thats the £30 cheap jobby with an audi badge on it afaik, works of reverse wire not the canbus.
    #56
  17. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    guessing the one HAZZYDAYS are selling/fitting are the same cheap version ones?
    #57
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Quite possibly cause unless they run looms into the front & also you can adjust the sounds in the DIS then its the cheapo kit which are a total ripoff, they're same as the ones on ebay for what now £9.99, I know whats involved with the oem fitment & trust me its not a 5 minute job.
    #58
  19. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30

    Hey, I cant do that yet either LOL. I need to keep my eyes open for new network controller LOL
    #59
  20. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    I typed in 8P0 919 283 and it was dropped on 01/11/2005, use replacement part 8P0 919 283 A. A dropped on 01/11/2006, use C. C dropped on 01/01/2007 use D. No update for D.

    I guess this means I should be looking for an A,C or D?

    The dual zone sensors (front/back) I think use part number 8P0 919 475 F, D or E depending on model.

    Also will I need a holder for the unit or do you know if the car already has this in place?
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
    #60
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    If its been superseded then you can use any one of those 5 units mate as even old cars use the newer D modules & they're originals were the non letter version & the bracket should already be in your car hidden behind the drivers rear quarter boot cover thats sprung clipped in place, funnily enough I have to go into there tomorrow to fit an updated cnvenience module, so might grab some pics.
    #61
  22. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    care to share why? LOL
    #62
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    If you mean reason for upgrade, main reason is to get rid of this fault vcds has with my original module which has no letter, seems to loose the long coding everytime I access it & RT cant track fault down, its not my module at fault but I'm fecked of waiting a year now for them to fix it in VCDS, so thought lets update anyway at a small cost & see if it fixes this & maybe something gets added along the way, fix mostly
    #63
  24. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    What would be a fair price for a used control unit?

    Looking at some on ebay.de and the price seems to fluctuate quite a bit.
    #64
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Ask audi what prices are then ask the question again mate, lol, anything less than them is a winner no
    #65
  26. a3_dan
    Offline

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can anyone provide all the parts I require if I want to do this install? With part numbers if possible...

    Thanks,
    Dan
    #66
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You can easily goto audi mate & ask them to list them for you, 4 sensors, control module, 2 looms, now you cant buy the main controllerto car loom, but sensor to controller loom you can, repair wires yes but cant get loom from audi on its own without the rest of that area wiring, question is now mate do you want the proper system that integrates with the cars CAN system & possibly shows in your DIS to change sound settings or do you just want the cheapest going that works of reverse wire?

    Be warned either way you'd need to drill the bumper out as you cant buy brackets for the bumper sensors, its new bumper totally that comes with the brackets (stuck on with double sided tape, yes double sided tape, wtf) so I got some A6 brackets & superglued/epoxied them in place with sensors, I preferred oem style & love it, now gonna look at fitting the fronts aswell.
    #67
  28. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    fronts? mmmmmmm...........
    #68
  29. a3_dan
    Offline

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think i will want to do a proper job, so would want to integrate with the cars CAN system. I will pop by to my local Audi and see what they can do for me. Thanks for the tip with regards to the brackets. I think if or when I do this mod, I will have to also use these brackets. Thanks for the info!

    How many hours work is this? For a half savvy person? lol

    Dan
    #69
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Goto audi, hope your not wearing any pants cause they will butt feck you on the cost, sensors are £70+ each let alone rest & you will need the wiring diagrams, hours well I did over a longer period as was doing many things at same time like removable towbar & others, so couldnt say, but maybe half a day if you're feeling perky lol
    #70
  31. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    I got the loom & sensors from ebay.de for £90+del + IIRC £35 for module, as N say, they are dear to buy new.

    N, what are the fronts wired into?
    #71
  32. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    A control module K.
    #72
  33. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    87
    I just called Audi and they wanted £750 supply and fit for the rears for OEM......I nearly fell off my chair.

    Amersham Audi want £250 supply and fit for authorised after-market.
    #73
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I did say dont wear any pants :asskicking:
    #74
  35. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Kinda guessed as much LOL. I think your up to something....
    #75
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Meeeee, never..........................
    #76
  37. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok bought a control unit from ebay.de

    So if I read correctly Nig the control unit just slots into place & it's not held in by any kind of nut/bolt? (pics would be great if possible)

    Also I'm guessing I need to purchase a buzzer otherwise I wont be hearing anything :tocktock:
    #77
  38. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Whose Nig btw??? lol

    Yes mate it just pushes/clips into position on the existing bracket, you dont need pics dude, its obvious once bracket unbolted from car, cant go anywhere else & get buzzer from audi for minimal costs & make a short loom from 2 repair wires & a small connector for the buzzer, it sits just on the shelf by the rear driver side seat belt roller part thats also hidden behind that side trim you removed, it has 2 plastic locator lugs also bought from audi & you can see 2 holes there ready for the buzzer to be located into.
    #78
  39. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry Nigel....

    Just been out playing with my new cable :jump:

    I noticed on ETKA that the buzzer is held in place with a couple of rivets, is this right?

    I've also purchased the cable for the front of the car to the control unit from Kufatec, would you know if this have the buzzer lead built in to it?

    Thanks
    #79
  40. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Its two plastic rivit type pins IIRC. The kind the centre pushes through to release.

    Looking at the picture of the wiring loom I believe it does. Im sure the small black plastic connector at the top of the picture is it.
    #80

Share This Page