1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RETROFIT OEM XENON HEADLIGHTS

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by fericsson, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. fericsson
    Offline

    fericsson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    Hi just wondered would a set of oem xenon headlights need coding to work?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Dilligaf-UK
    Offline

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    I would have thought so
    #2
  4. C17LJR
    Offline

    C17LJR Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    They do on the A3, they were flickering wthout being coded.
    #4
  6. HerefordQuattro
    Offline

    HerefordQuattro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    and they need VCDS to adjust levels
    #5
  7. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    No they do not need coding if they are going into an A4 which previously had Halogen headlights.
    Coding is only required with respect to the "Auto-Levelling" function part of HID Xenons - which you all know is an European Legal requirement - but we will not go there as it has been discussed many times. Also note you need Headlight washers to be 100% legal with HID's - this only requires coding in the Power Control Module on the B7 not the B6.

    Xenon Headlight units will have the 4-wire stepper motors which are linked into front/rear suspension sensors and a control unit behind the glovebox - this is the part relating to coding.
    Halogen units have a 3-wire servo motor where headlight level control is controlled via a 0/1/2/3 level adjuster switch next to the light switch.
    You could rewire the motor connector of a Xenon unit to take the signals for a 3-wire servo motor. There is an extra wire used in the headlight connector on HID Xenons.

    Have recently put the OEM Valeo ballasts in a H7 enclosure linked here using a D2S HID bulb and not the OEM D1S bulb.

    Have headlight wiring diagram if anybody needs it - just PM me your email address.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
    #6
    SmoothAssault likes this.
  8. fericsson
    Offline

    fericsson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2011]
    Thanks guys fitted lights now they look great no problems at all so far!
    #7
  9. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Thought I'd drag this thread into 2014. I recently fitted OEM S4 Xenon headlights, and as already stated here they worked with no coding required.

    However, 'working' seems to be limited to just the fact they turn on and off when they're supposed to. I just discovered the level adjuster doesn't work at all. Which looking at the info Woorlord has provided seems to make sense, given that the Xenon units are supposed to be auto-levelled, not manually adjusted.

    I've got a feeling I already know the answer to this, but does anyone have an idea how much of a pain in the arse retrofitting the auto-level sensors would be?

    If it's a unanimous, "MASSIVE" pain in the arse, then I guess the way to go will be to try rigging the servos to work with the manual level control? Something that hopefully won't involve irreversibly ruining them if they ever need to go back into an auto-levelled car? :/

    Thanks
    #8
  10. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Reading the above diagram, it looks like it would be fun to do! Not impossible though. Albeit, that diagram only shows some of the system.

    There is 2 sensors (one on the front and one on the rear suspension) then a control unit. Some wiring goes to the instrument cluster, all wiring to the sensors etc.

    Be good if someone (ahem) goes ahead and does a write up?! ;-)

    Someone may come along say they have done it and it's easy. I'm only going off from what I know and the diagram above.

    Dan
    #9
  11. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Thanks Dan, I think fitting the sensors should be relatively easy providing they bolt onto my existing suspension components, it would be running the cabling that I wouldn't enjoy.

    I've just seen Kufatec do an adapter: Bi-Xenon Headlights - Adapter - Audi A4 B6/8E-36191

    I imagine this just gets the servos working via the level-adjuster, so that's a decent fall-back plan if auto-levelling turns out to be a no-go.
    #10
  12. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    #11

Share This Page