1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofit Cruise Control and DIS?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by TDIQ, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. TDIQ

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is it possible to retrofit the DIS system. I have a screen that says 'OK' when I turn the car on, but doesn't have MPG or anything like that.

    Also, can I retrofit cruise control, even if retrofitting the DIS isn't possible?

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Nilz

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)
    Audi Sport Owner Group Team Silver Audi S3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,858
    Likes Received:
    650
    You can retrofit Cruise Control, costs about £100, if you do a search on here or even on google, you can get all the info there....

    The DIS, can be done, but will cost you an arm and a leg and will probably have to change your whole cluster.
     
  4. TDIQ

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ah ok, I'll do the cruise control, not too bothered by DIS. So I can definitely fit it, if all I have is a drive by wire throttle?
     
  5. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    171
    You can retrofit cruise for a few quid if you have DBW (electronic) throttle control. You buy the stalk/electrical connections and then code it in with VCDS (VAG-COM). If you don't have drive-by-wire, and you have a pre-facelift cable-throttle (analogue, old-skool mechanical (string tied to the pedal litterally pulling at the throttle valve)); you can retrofit cruise, but it's a bit more of an investment both in pound notes and sweat. Your 02 plate will by DBW, so it's the 'easy' way... A search will probably yield loads of useful information (in this forum, and the VCDS/VAG-COM section too I'd guess) - there might even be stuff in the FAQs...

    One thing you can do, which is completely free, though... Change/remove that sig .gif - I'm not going to sit here measuring it to see if it fits exactly within spec of the rules or not, as we both know it's a bit OTT...

    Cheers,

    Rob.
     
    #4 FactionOne, Aug 11, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010

Share This Page