1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofit automatic height adjustment for Bi-xenons

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Chielvb, May 30, 2009.

  1. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2009]
    Hi,

    Soon I'm going to try to install the sensors for auto height adjustment for my Bi-xenons (which I also need to install) on my Sportback.
    I don't think the wiring will be a problem, but I need to know where the two sensors (1 at the front axle and 1 at the back) are mounted.
    Someone who did this before, any help is welcome.
    Thanks,

    Chiel
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 30, 2009]
    The front axle sensor is on the left side, there is a hole locator on the lower arm & the rear also is on that side IIRC, the metal bracket that fixes to the lower arm has a locating lug & also this bolts on with a nut as does the rear, I'm in italy at mo so cant get precise info of mine but when you remove the wheels you should be able to see the locating holes on the arms etc.

    Maybe some kind person can help with images as I'm out of country until thurs.
    #2
  4. fizz
    Offline

    fizz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 30, 2009]
    I've got a spare auto leveling module if ur interested mate. Got it off NHN but didnt do the upgrade in the end.
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 30, 2009]
    lazy arse, lol.
    #4
  6. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2009]
    Thanks so far.
    I've already got the complete kit to retrofit them.
    Going to take a look tomorrow, but some pics would be great.
    #5
  7. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2009]
    I've had a look and I think I found the holes, anybody can confirm this?
    [​IMG]

    And for the rear, not a very good photo

    [​IMG]
    #6
  8. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Jun 1, 2009]
    Wow, never realised that they worked from a system like that. TBH, never really thought much about how they might work, but seems a reasonable concept.

    Does anyone else get people flashing you a lot with these as I do. If I pass someone at night on a motorway, they often flash me when I get passed as if they think I have been flashing at them (when all it is is the lights adjusting themselves over quite bumpy surfaces - I guess the stiff suspension of the S3 gives the suspension a fair bit of corrective movement). If I am alone in this I'll get Audi to check them. I'm on OE set up so assume it should be OK.
    #7
  9. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 1, 2009]
    #8
  10. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2009]
    I hope to install the kit this month, I will try to make some pictures.
    To retrofit, you'll need the complete kit, not only the wiring harness, but also the sensors and control unit. There are different kits for vehicles with or w/o AFS, quatro, etc.
    #9
  11. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 1, 2009]
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 1, 2009]
    Yeah but also you must check if your modules in 09 supports the headlight changes in byte 21, kufatec arent 100% accurate with info & there kits so beware

    Also you cant retrofit fit washers, needs new bumper with holes already moulded in with fixings for the washer jets
    #11
  13. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    Thanks Nigel,

    I'm not gonna do this for a while (need to save!) but I was considering something like this for the washers

    [​IMG]


    or something like it, just so its legal! If I had to change the whole bumper as well it would better buying a new car.

    They should suffice, particularly if they were colour coded.
    #12
  14. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    AFAIK all they specify is that the lights have washers & while the OEM route may look better I'm sure they would do the job just fine. The OEM ones also have their own motor on the water bottle. I'm guessing thats for the higher pressure required to push the jets out & spray the water.
    #13
  15. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    #14
  16. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    On my car the washer bottle has the indent & markings of where the hole should be but there is no actual hole for the pump. I wouldnt be impossible to cut out yourself but would you LOL
    #15
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    You're not serious?

    Feck yeah, why not as its got the marked out location & save a bundle.
    #16
  18. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    Not sure! I'm on a fact finding mission at the momement and will look into it closer at the time. Waiting for a decent set of lights to come up first.

    Added the postings to build a sort of database for myself and others to share should it be possible. Then I'll be ready after all the help given and also aware of all the pitfalls

    :beerchug:

    Edit

    Well er yes (sort of) :redface:
    #17
  19. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    Your handy with a dremmel, I'd need to be also handy with mastic too LOL
    #18
  20. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 2, 2009]

    Better consider saving up more (or blast the credit card) if you think it would look pants lol

    or perhaps a new car in a couple of years
    #19
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 2, 2009]
    Do yourself a favour, dont bother it will look pants, save up do the proper system, you wont regret it where as that above you'll always regret & holes in bumper = **** resale value for old bumper.

    lmfao mastic, lol
    #20
  22. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    Ok, installed the kit and the lights, only can't get them to work ( I mean the AFS and height adjustment) I recoded Cangateway, I can acces 55 Xenon level now, but I can't adjust anything. Do I need an 30 byte Centr electronic unit or will the 21 byte do just fine?

    I get this fault code":

    Adres 55: Xenon Niveau
    Regelapparaat Onderdeelnummer: 4F0 910 357 F
    Component en/of Versie: AFS 1 H01 0020
    Software Codering: 0000020
    Dealer Code: WSC 98765
    Additionele Info: NOSUBSYSTEM AFS-Modul links AFS-Modul rechtsH02 0020
    1 Fout Gevonden:
    02233 - Vermogensmodule voor linkerkoplamp (J667)
    004 - Geen Signaal/Communicatie - MIL AAN
    Bevries Frame:
    Fout Status: 11100100
    Fout Prioriteit: 2
    Fout Frekwentie: 2
    Reset teller: 207
    #21
  23. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    #22
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    AFS would suggest left/right aswell as up/down, you have said earlier you were doing up/down & now you mention AFS, so its strange cause maybe reason why its not working is cause you've got wrong parts installed, but please advise as below so can be sure.

    What is your setting in 09 byte 21 for headlight type? This is if you have a 23 byte or above

    Have you checked the wiring pin to pin?

    No subsystem would suggest a wiring issue tbh with maybe a comms issue with the canbus, but I do ask what headlight part numbers have you installed & whats your 09 control module version part number?
    #23
  25. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    It's Dutch not german :)

    I've installed the leveling kit for AFS from Kufatec.
    Byte 21 = Bi-xenon with separate DRL
    Haven't checked the wiring yet, will do that tomorrow, will look for the numbers at the same time.

    Beside this, I've got another problem with them, when I put on my main beam, they light for a few seconds and then just turn off again.?????
    #24
  26. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    Sorry! :blush:

    I'll have to leave your problem to a professional. NHN will be along shortly.

    Keep us posted on how its going. As I said earlier it's something I'd like to do soon

    :beerchug:
    #25
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    Kufatec looms are **** for this mod if you intend to do the proper AFS system, the AFS/Cornering/With Kurve etc work differently to standard bixenons, they have control modules built into the lights & require canbus wiring from the module 55, the wiring is not the same at all, bixenon & bixenon AFS are different, canbus goes to the module 55 then from there canbus goes to each headlight, this is maybe why you have NO SUBSYSYSTEM errors as the headlights are not connected via can to the module 55.

    I manually redid all the wiring pin to pin without the looms, moved pins about also the newer headlights have a 14pin plug so I removed my 10 pin & soldered etc all in place with new repair wires & they look 100% oem now.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #26
  28. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 5, 2009]
    The wiring from the AFS unit is like this now:

    3 wires to +
    1 to ground
    Can low
    Can high
    2x3 to sensors
    2x3 to headlight (pin1,2 and 4) (1 and 2 are Bus-system according to Kufatec)

    You say, there need to be another wire from the unit to the left and right headlight. Do you know from and to what pin at the connector?
    #27
  29. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    I'll check my wiring diags as I do so much wiring on the car I dont remember it all, but as I've already stated it isnt seeing the headlight modules IIRC from my fitment as I also had this but thats cause I hadnt done all the wiring not from incorrect wiring, yours I believe are incorrect wiring or wrong headlights, when you list part no.s then can ascertain if this is issue.
    #28
  30. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    That would be great!

    My numbers:
    -Right headlight : 8P 941 004 S
    -Left headlight : 8P 941 003 S
    -09 centr electr : 8P 907 279 F (21 byte)

    When I read the kufatec "manual", they say something about long coding the "diagnose interface for ALWR" But my German is not good enought to understand it.
    I've recoded Canbus interface (19) so that it would see Xenon leveling (55), is this enough or should I recode something else also?
    #29
  31. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Headlights are correct for cornering, 09 module is 23 byte so has options for bixenons

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showpost.php?p=639404&postcount=3

    I reckon your wirings wrong but kufatec loom is **** anyway.

    I assume you have also told the 09 that you have bixenon installed in the lower bytes aswell as byte 21?
    #30
  32. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Byte 21 is the last I can change, I can see byte 22, but I can't change it. But that ain't nessecary.

    I had normal xenons (retrofitted) before, they worked fine
    Byte 00 Bit 1 ON
    Byte 03 Bit 4 OFF
    Byte 17 Bit 1 OFF

    #31
  33. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Remember 23 byte means it goes from 00 to 22 thus 23 bytes in total, people forget it doesnt start from 01.

    Were the original retro's single vision xenons & were they audi or aftermarkets.

    Single vision xenons had the same wiring as halogens tbh so they would have worked fine from stock wiring, but bixenons etc are different, pin your wiring through or dont you have a wiring schemtaic at all, just reliant on kufatecs **** loom?
    #32
  34. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Yes I know it starts at 00 :)
    They were original audi and were plug and play indeed (except the leveling of course)

    I don't have a schematic no, I thought the kufatec looms would do the job :mad:
    But when you did this, did you just located the wires at the same pin numbers as Kufatec did, or did you completly relocated them in the 14 pins ?

    And I assume you have changed your xenon range unit (55) for an AFS one?
    #33
  35. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Yeah dont get me started about kufatec looms, I relocated all the wires & soldered etc new repair wires to match the new 14 pin connector, I joined earths & tbh I used the original 10 wires I had from my single vision xenons & in the car joined & rewired to where ever the schematics advised from ELSAWIN & yes I updated my levelling module for AFS, which is denoted by a blue colour base.
    #34
  36. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Yes got the blue module with AFS at it.

    Do you still have any of these schematics? They would be a great help.

    Is it right that there are three pins not used in the 14 pin connector?
    #35
  37. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 6, 2009]
    Yes its correct there are 3 pins not used
    #36
  38. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    Played around with the coding of 09 centr electr, but didn't made any difference.
    Seems to be the sensors are found by the xenon range unit, but I can't adjust them.
    I can't change the coding neither, I fill in the security code and then when coding I get an unknown fault.
    Have bought Etka, waiting for it now.

    I read somewhere that you (NHN) have pulled a wire between the light switch and the central electr unit so that you can operate the DRL by switching to auto, you said "wire from pin 4 of the headlight switch 7 pin long connector down to the connector E pin 10 on the main network board" .
    Which one do you mean by 7 pin long connector? It seems to be the one for manual leveling control, when I look at my lightswitch.
    #37
  39. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    What do you mean you cant adjust them, they are auto so there is no adjustment done by yourself.

    What coding are you inputting?

    If you look on the back of the light switch there are 3 connectors, one long thin 7 pin connector is what this refers to for the drl on/off switch.

    What version of vagcom are you using just out of curiosity?

    There is an adaptation channel in there to set the lights to showroom mode, this when you turn the steering wheel left/right makes the lights turn in that direction, this would test if that works.
    #38
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    ETKA is the parts catalogue, you sure you dont mean ELSA?
    #39
  41. Chielvb
    Offline

    Chielvb Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    Sorry I mean Elsa indeed.
    #40

Share This Page