Retrofit: Auto-dimming rear view mirror & CH/LH (picture heavy)

Reaction score
Writeup for retrofitting auto-dimming rear view mirror and coming home/leaving home function to any A4 B6 with highline equipment.

This retrofit requires some knowledge of car electrics, and a registered version of VCDS lite.

How do I know if my car is highline?
If you have bulb out warning - you have highline
If your CECM part# is 8E0 907 279 E or F - you have highline

NB! You need CECM 8E0 907 279 F, which is the only CECM supporting AUTO lights and CH/LH function.

I did not do the auto dimming wing mirrors, hence it's not a part of this DIY.

Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic, and will not take responsibility for anything that may be damaged or broken while using this DIY on your own vehicle. This DIY is intended as a guide only.

Prerequisites

Parts
  • CECM (Central electrics control module) - paid $37
    8E0 907 279 F (always installed in S4)
  • Auto-dimming rear view mirror w/ light sensor - paid $50
    8E0 857 511 (Gentex 015621)
  • Headlight switch w/ AUTO position - paid $16
    8E0 941 531 B
  • CH/LH switch - paid $25
    8E1 919 094 B (LHD, for cars with xenon)
parts.jpg

Wiring
  • Plug for CH/LH switch (8 pin) - paid $10
    8Z0 972 883
  • Plug for auto-dimming mirror (6 pin) - paid $10
    4B0 971 833
  • Wires 20-22 AWG, 3 metres - paid $15
    White, black, grey, green
  • Cloth tape for OEM appearance - paid $3
    For OEM appearance of harness
  • Audi repair pins - paid $10 for 10 pcs
    000 979 018 E
wiring.jpg

DSC_0603.jpg

Let's get started

DISCONNECT YOUR NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL.

DSC_0605.jpg

Remove interior dome light cover (just pulls out)

DSC_0607.jpg

The second plastic cover also just pulls out (has 4 plastic clips on it)

DSC_0608.jpg

Remove two philips screws to remove the base of the panel

DSC_0609.jpg

Then you can pull the base downwards to remove it

DSC_0610.jpg

Locate this plug, and remove it (two wires to be inserted here later)