1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro Fitting of A3 RNS?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by podiopie, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. podiopie
    Offline

    podiopie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Hello,

    First post so go easy, have read plenty but not posted any…

    I have just bought an Audi S3 2007 having sold my 2004 Audi A3 S-line, I though it wouldn’t matter that the particular model I bought which was 6 months old didn’t have the RNS in. But having had it in my previous I know wish I’d got one with it in.

    So I am am wanting to get it retro fitted and have looked to see how easy it is to fit but don’t want to make a mess of the new motor trying to do it.

    Not sure whether its will be easy to try to fit myself or whether to get someone to do it for me?

    • I have BOSE and Cruise control fitted so will this make it more difficult to fit myself?
    • Also does anyone know of anywhere that does this? But does a good job of it?
    Can’t weigh up whether to give it a try or not, please help J

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    :thumbsup:
    #2
  4. podiopie
    Offline

    podiopie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Cheers for that, I've had a good trawl through the forums over the weekend but not really found a guide for an Audi S3 2007 to change to RNS.

    I have emailed S8Craig and hopefully he will reply. I found one guide which looked unbelievably difficult, I think as I have BOSE and Cruise control this makes it slightly more difficult?! (not sure)

    If anyone can let me know of others which may be able to retrofit that would be helpful, many Thanks mitch78
    #3
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    You just have to move the Bose wire in the quadlock plug. The cruise makes no difference at all. The RNSe and the car will then require coding with VAGCOM.

    HTH.
    #4
  6. podiopie
    Offline

    podiopie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Thats good, glad the cruise control makes no difference. In an ideal world I would just take the S3 stereo out (the one with mp3 compatability which was dissapointing to say the least as bought it with ipod dock, but not paid as bought it 6 month old) with the Audi keys and plug the rns in.
    Its just daunting as don't want to wreck it as only had it a week, I will keep looking round for a guide/decent installer.
    Cheers
    #5
  7. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Installers? - s8craig in Manchester, TDiAvant in Newcastle and me in Southampton.
    #6
  8. rcourtney
    Offline

    rcourtney New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    I got a 2007 S3 from Audi Wimbledon, they took delivery of the car and then retro fitted the RNS before I took delivery. To buy the unit this way and have it fitted cost me £800 instead of the 3k list price. Nice little saving.

    There is no difference between the retro fit and the factory fit. Its works with phone prep etc just the same

    Just get a friendly dealer to fit it for you.
    #7
  9. podiopie
    Offline

    podiopie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Hi Dave,

    Thought I would PM you, I'm in Leeds so Southampton is a fair way away, how much would you charge as will weigh up getting down there petrol, hotel etc.

    Cant find TDiAvant on here, have emailed S8Craig

    Regards

    Chris


    #8
  10. podiopie
    Offline

    podiopie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]

    Cheers, I bought mine from a Nissan dealer as the previous owner traded it in for something else, so cant really go back to any audi dealer, but good idea cheers
    #9
  11. rcourtney
    Offline

    rcourtney New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Should be fine .. go to any Audi dealer and ask them to do it - they will be more than happy to do it. Wimbledon audi didnt do it themselves, they got someone to come in and do it.

    They are not going to do it for free .. but wont cost much
    #10
  12. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    It's so easy to fit yourself, Its just the coding that you'll need specialist help with. I did mine and that was from a single din dash which is much harder. I would say get the radio and have a go, there'll be plenty of helpers local to Leeds if you get stuck.
    #11
  13. podiopie
    Offline

    podiopie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2008]
    Providing I get the fitting kit witht the one to two plug adapter for the back is it pretty much a straight swap?

    I have BOSE and I think that just needs plugging in, it doesn't seem to bad now I've really dug deep in the depths of the forum.

    Just not sure what this vag.com is? When I looked it seems as though its a couple of hundred quid for the diagnostics Audi use (very handy but not at that price)

    Any ideas where I could get one as I know they are thin on the ground, on ebay but its an advert but when you ask they are awaiting stock?

    Am after one pretty quick but think I'm gonna have to be a bit patient as S8Craig will probably kindly do it for me as £150 price diff from those on flea bay

    mmm....??? shall see
    #12

Share This Page