1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro fitting cruise control part question

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by stapo69, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. stapo69

    stapo69 All hail the mighty quattro!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone know what parts, with numbers, I'd need to fit cruise control on my 1998 Audi S4? Looking on ebay and the audi b5 kits are around £150-£200, however the b5 Passat kits are easily £100 cheaper, I know these share a lot of parts with ours, but what about the cruise control? All look very similar from the pictures, same stalk and loom, but I don't know if it's that simple.

    Any help appreciated as always!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. SiGainey

    SiGainey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you have to have a Drive by wire car to fit cruise control?
     
  4. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    5
    ^^^ All S4's are DBW.
     
  5. Mr K

    Mr K Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    do you need a loom to retro fit it? i had always assumed it was just a cash of plugging it into what was there and then enableing it in vag com.

    the stalks are available from american ebay for around £50. if you order some, let me know, we might be able to save on postage as i need some for mine as mine dont work propperly (only the 'set' button works, and it wont resume.)
     
  6. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    on my facelift im sure it was plug and program on vagcom.

    i think it may be a common problem whenever i used to use resume the cruise would stop working if i pressed set again, i try not to use resume now just set it again.
     
  7. stapo69

    stapo69 All hail the mighty quattro!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1
    A lot of vag motors only need the stalk and a couple of wires, then vagcom, like my mates golf 4, but the earlier ones, like my 98 S4 need a loom as well and thats what ends up costing, so doesn't look like i can get away with a passat set up for some reason, can't find a cheap way to do mine, around £200 is the best so far, so looks like my 900 mile round trip to germany will be done with an achey leg!
     
  8. SiGainey

    SiGainey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    4
    My bad, I read it as A4
     
  9. audinary

    audinary Complete And Utter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    A well set-up crook-lok will do the job, and allow you to drive hands free on the straights...

    Redneck autopilot.
     
  10. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    My 99 2.8Q needed the Loom and indicator switch. Worked out at £150, which was the loom from kufatec and the switch direct from York Audi. It's a mare to fit though as you have to run the loom from the ECU through the bulkhead and up the steering column. Not a hard job... just fiddly and if your not one for working with wiring... a bit daunting.
     
  11. stapo69

    stapo69 All hail the mighty quattro!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1
    A shall be taking a brick then!
     
  12. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    I've been buying the parts to retro fit it to our '96.

    As ours is DBC its a kinda standalone system that just yanks on the throttle spindle using vacuum thingy.

    I've managed to get the ecu, stalk, pump, actuator, some pipes and the clutch and brake shutoff valves from an A8 breakers on ebay (the parts are all the same). All i need to get now is the bracketry to attach the actuator to the throttle body, and some time buried in the wiring diagrams to pull it all together.

    I shall post an update when i get onto it.
     

Share This Page