1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro fit the RNS-E system into the A4

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by beerglass, Jan 8, 2007.

  1. beerglass
    Offline

    beerglass Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    Looking on ebay for a RNS-E system for my new A4 2006.

    Is it pretty much a rip the old double din system out and put the new RNS-E system in?

    I take it I should buy the DVD based system.
    Like this

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/sat-nav-AUDI-...6QQihZ010QQcategoryZ75327QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    Whats the difference between the D and K version. Can I get a copy of the 2007 and update the system so that it runs TMC?

    How does this work, does it use RDS or GPRS for updates?

    I have a GSM phone prep and IPOD cable currently in the car. Does it work on the RNS-E systems


    Thanks for all the help
    #1
  2. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    as long as you have double din then it should be a simple removal of the original head unit, disconnecting and plugging standard connectors into rns-e harness BUT you will need to install a gps receiver, best location behind and on top of glovebox so the glovebox will need to come out, you will also need a fakra connector for the aerial connection

    go here for more info: http://www.navplus.us

    copys of the 2007 dvd are available and if you search this site you should find suppliers but also on the site above

    all software updates are contained on the dvd's as and when they are released, at the moment the software is up to version SW550

    iPod system will work with rns-e not sure about the phone prep

    if you are looking for an installation service contact s8craig on this site, he will supply and fit everything and his rates are very good.
    #2
  3. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    Many people on www.navplus.us have the iPod system (both Audi and Dension) working fine with their RNS-E.

    The Bluetooth phone system works great with the RNS-E - I got mine from s8craig.

    s8craig is a MUCH better bet than eBay, I know several people who have bought RNS-E's from eBay only to find them faulty or not as described so they wouldn't fit their model of Audi. You might luck out and save some money, but be aware of the risks.
    #3
  4. beerglass
    Offline

    beerglass Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    Whats the difference between a E or K version
    #4
  5. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    8E0 035 192 C Audi A4 Europe, MY 2004, 8E B6
    8E0 035 192 D Audi A4 Europe, MY 2005, 8E B7
    8E0 035 192 E Audi A4 North America, MY 2005.5, 8E B6
    8E0 035 192 F Audi A4 North America, MY 2006, 8E B7
    8E0 035 192 G Audi A4 BNS 5.0
    8E0 035 192 H Audi A4 Europe, MY 2006, 8E B7, with SDS
    8E0 035 192 J Audi A4 North America, MY 2006, 8E B7
    8E0 035 192 K Audi A4 Europe, MY 2007, 8E B7, sw 0500
    8E0 035 192 M Audi A4 BNS 5.0
    8E0 035 192 N Audi A4 Europe, MY 2007, 8E B7, with SDS

    8H0 035 192 Audi A4 Cabrio Europe Basic, MY 2004, 8H B6
    8H0 035 192 A Audi A4 Cabrio Europe, MY 2006, 8H B6
    8H0 035 192 B Audi A4 Cabrio North America, MY 2005.5, 8H B6
    8H0 035 192 D Audi A4 Cabrio, region/MY/SDS unknown
    8H0 035 192 E Audi A4 Cabrio, region/MY/SDS unknown
    8H0 035 192 F Audi A4 Cabrio, region/MY/SDS unknown
    #5
  6. beerglass
    Offline

    beerglass Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    2
    So if I have found a RNS-E part number AUDI A4 / S4 PART NUMBER : 8E0 035 192 C is that not the same or as good as a K ?
    #6
  7. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    K version is 3 years younger, so likely to have a better a drive I suppose? Plus it comes with the latest software, but putting the lastest disc in will upgrade to that anyway.
    But apart from that the same unit.
    #7

Share This Page